We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of great food for the money”
Review of Shulers Barbecue

Shulers Barbecue
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Latta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Description: Casual, self serve buffet in a log cabin located on a pondOperating hours are Thursday, Friday, and Saturday Lunch Buffet: 11:30-2:30Dinner Buffet: 4:30-9:00Cash or Checks only - No debit or credit cards please.
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Very good vinegar based BBQ. Everything was good and fresh. They kept the buffet stocked with fresh food. I am a trucker and have passed by the restaurant numinous times, it is always packed including the time I stopped. I can see way it is packed. They have a dessert bar that is included too. There is also a gift shop. I rate this a 5+.

1  Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton H, Owner at Shulers Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you. We are glad you stopped. Please keep it safe. We thank you for the job you do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

I tried a bite of everything from the buffet. Squash casserole, meatloaf, mashed potatoes, shredded pork BBQ. Each bite was on point with perfect flavor. The entire experience was perfection. We met owners, Lynn and Norton and felt like I had just had a visit with family. This place was a real treat!

1  Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton H, Owner at Shulers Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. Please come see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Stopped here on our way home to Baltimore from Disney. Food was fantastic! Pork BBQ was probably the best I've ever had. Sweet tea tasted just like my mom used to make it. Chicken and dumplings and banana pudding were so yummy! And was most impressed by the gigantic American Flag out front-love the patriotism!

1  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton H, Owner at Shulers Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you. Please come again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Buffet style BBQ place , if you prefer vinegar based BBQ then you will like this place . Chicken, ribs, BBQ, butter beans , green beans, corn , chicken bog, etc Dessert bar with several items. However the highlight is definitely the silver dollar biscuits but they kept running out, wait for them, worth it. After dinner go to the store and bakery next door. A lot of unique home made items. The deck runs along side the creek so save some cornbread to feed the over abundant turtles. We did watch a snake lazily crew the creek. I prefer the southern sweet BBQ but I will go back for the biscuits and bakery.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton H, Manager at Shulers Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

We are glad you enjoyed the biscuits. They are hand cut. Please ask the server for Mama's sauce. It is a sweet BBQ sauce. May be more to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Have been here in the past and have always been very pleased. If one wants the best of South Carolina barbecue, then this is certainly the place to eat. The buffet has all of the favorites of the area from pulled pork ( both mild and hot), great fried and barbecue chicken, sweet potato casserole, the best ribs I have ever had anywhere and a whole host of different vegetables. The fried chicken is certainly some of the best that the south has to offer. Nice selection of deserts and beverages. Service is superb with very friendly and attentive servers. convenient parking. very clean restrooms. new attached gift shop available.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton H, Owner at Shulers Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Thank you so much. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Shulers Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing