We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on IOP”
Review of Long Island Cafe

Long Island Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We serve the freshest seafood 7 days a week. Opened in 1986, locally owned and operated. lunch and dinner, Sunday brunch
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Make a reservation because tables go fast between 6 and 8. Don’t read anything into their location. This is a great restaurant that just happens to be in a strip mall beside the grocery. Go hungry and take the time to enjoy a cocktail too. For dinner I went with the crab stuffed shrimp with mashed potatoes and cold slaw. It was perfectly prepared with just a touch of crunch. And the mashed potatoes were the real thing too. Just excellent.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 554dwaynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2018

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this restaurant. The service was excellent. The seafood was fresh and delicious. Definitely order the She Crab soup! We will be back!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

4 nights in Isle of Palms and we ate here every night. Fresh seafood was superb, service (Shannon) was excellent. Everything we tried was wonderful, cooked perfectly, and not hidden under rich sauces or gravies. The food and service were so exceptional we could not resist going back. Make reservations - it is very popular. The restaurant was recommended to us by locals.

Date of visit: October 2018
3  Thank towniekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Where do I start? Everything was great!! Love the ambiance of this restaurant. Comfortable lighting, lovely music, and DELICIOUS food. Try the Shea Crab soup (they give you extra sherry on the side) and the crab cakes. We also had scallops that were cooked perfectly and fried shrimp. Service was great, it was nice to see the ladies working well together and displaying effective teamwork.

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank Jerzy6546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

New to the area and this will forever be one of my favorite places in Charleston. Great food. Great service. All around 5 stars!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank natalietara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Long Island Cafe also viewed

Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Long Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing