We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Adventure”

Charleston SUP Safaris
Ranked #4 of 21 Tours in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Charleston SUP Safaris has been voted the Best Stand-Up Paddle company in Charleston for three years.  Learn how to paddleboard with the experts on the beautiful Folly River and let us guide you through the local ecosystem and wildlife. We offer Stand-Up Paddleboard eco-safari tours, river and surf lessons, rentals, SUP yoga, fitness, paddleboard sales, and summer camps. Charleston SUP Safaris specializes in large groups, family outings, bachelor or bachelorette parties, corporate team building events, and special occasions. Stop by our newly renovated shop conveniently located at 83 Center St. and our professionally certified guides will get you outfitted with Bounce paddleboards and carbon fiber paddles. So simple, no experience needed, and fun for the whole family. Locally owned with a combined 60 years experience on the water. Our passion and sole focus is paddleboarding. Before your trip, our professional guides conduct proper ground school instruction and in-water paddle training, ensuring safe, fun, and exciting trips. Visit our website to book your SUP Safari.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Did the 2 hour "dolphin" tour this past Thursday. Brian our guide was great. We were first timers (wife, myself and 13 year old daughter) but after a quick land lesson we were on our way. We all had no trouble standing and paddling away! Brain was very knowledgeable of the area and gave information about physics, science, biology, ecology and history. This is way more than just paddling - we actual learned a lot. Saw many dolphins. It was great fun and we recommend SUP Safaris for all. You will not be disappointed.

Thank chrisfigz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FollyStandUpGuy, Owner at Charleston SUP Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Aloha Chris,
Thank you so much for a great review! Brian loved taking y'all out on the water. We hope you come back to SUP with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We decided Togo last minute paddle boarding and went with SUP. It was our first time paddle boarding and we LOVED it. Eric and Brian were great teachers and guides. Thank you for a great experience.

Thank Jujubean78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FollyStandUpGuy, Owner at Charleston SUP Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Aloha! We are so glad you decided to SUP with us! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

My daughters and I enjoyed our first paddle board experience. Our guide Eric was an excellent teacher and guide. We saw dolphins, pelicans, and a turtle along the way. I highly recommend taking one of their excursions.

Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FollyStandUpGuy, Owner at Charleston SUP Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Aloha Cheryl!
We are so glad you had such a great time! We hope you will come back to SUP with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We went when the wind was pretty strong but the instructor was super patient and guided us through the tour! It was definitely one of the coolest experiences I've ever had and we also got to see the dolphins!! I would definitely recommend!

Thank mesiahope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FollyStandUpGuy, Owner at Charleston SUP Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Aloha! We are so glad y'all came out to SUP with us even with the strong wind. We love that you had a little adventure out there! Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Our Experience with SUP was wonderful from start to finish. Everyone associated with SUP was kind and professional. Our guides, Eric and Al were informative and provided simple, easy instruction. We had our 8 year old daughter with us and she had a blast. We are looking forward to our next visit with SUP. Edward D. from Dayton, Ohio

Thank edward264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FollyStandUpGuy, Owner at Charleston SUP Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Aloha Edward,
Thank you for such a great review! We are so glad y'all were able to come out SUPing with us and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charleston SUP Safaris also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston SUP Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing