We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice home, great layout, fabulous location right...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Edisto Island, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jboynstep...
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice home, great layout, fabulous location right on ocean!”
Reviewed 15 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Came in for a wedding, stayed with family and friends. Decor is very nice - light, airy, and tasteful, nothing funky at all. Nice kitchen, plantation style shutters throughout, very nice. Layout is superb - all 4 bedrooms and the living room all face the ocean and have a deck. 2 king rooms on each corner, beside one has a queen, and beside the other has 2 bunk beds (so 4 beds total in that room). House is as close to the ocean as you could possibly put a house - sweet! Hearing the ocean waves our entire stay was awesome - kept the bedroom door to the deck slightly cracked all night just so we could hear it.

Be careful, though - with Edisto Realty, your rate does not include cleaning. For our 3-day stay, it would have added $170 - yikes! They really should at least supply the house with a broom and vacuum, but alas, no such luck. Also important to note that there are no sheets, pillow cases, towels, toilet paper, etc - another yikes! The realty company doesn't offer, but Edisto Essentials on the island apparently does, but not sure I want to know the price. Good thing we live in SC and drive a Tahoe just for the linens and cleaning stuff, much less our clothes and food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, prodimity to ocean, layout, cleanliness, ambience
Liked least: Cleaning and linens policy/pricing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. It is so wonderful to hear the waves - lulls you right to sleep. If a home is lacking in any cleaning equipment (brooms, mops, vacuums, etc) all you need to do is let us know and we will promptly add them to the homes inventory. The cleaning fee is an option - so many guests like to save money and do the cleaning themselves - then we have a cleaning company "sanitize" after a guest departs - then there are the guests who just want to go home and they purchase the cleaning service. There really is no difference between a weeks stay and a few night stay as far as cleaning goes. Linens have never been provided in any Edisto Realty rental home, but we provide them in the rental villas. We hope that you will visit Edisto Beach again. Again Thank you Edisto Realty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce V
Martinsville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bread and breakfast without the breakfast”
Reviewed 25 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

A unique rental house on Edisto. All the little extras one would find in a bread and breakfast. Well equipped kitchen. Neat, clean, upgraded and well maintained. Bright, colorful and airy. Walking distance to restaurants, shops and grocery. Good location between groins and no public access nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenience
Liked least: Nothing not to like.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2012
You are so right, the homeowner is a former B&B owner who retired to Edisto Beach. The home is very popular for the views, that it allows pets and don't forget all the owners touches. Plan to come back soon for another visit to "Breathe Deep"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madams716
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“High end comfort, great value, beach front, pet friendly!”
Reviewed 18 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

This was our second trip to Edisto, but our first visit to Breathe Deep. After renting this house, we are definitely spoiled and intend to rent this house for return visits. From high end amenities to just like home comforts, this house felt just like home from the minute we walked in.

The location is directly on the ocean, at high tide, the water was literally less than 20 feet from the screened in back porch. The beach location is one of the best shelling locations we found, but the wave action that makes this a perfect shelling spot could make it a bit rough at times for very small children. The wave action further down the beach toward the point is definitely milder and flatter.

The floor plan of this house is ideal for large groups or extended family. There are 2 sleeping areas, 1 at each end of the house divided by the large living/dining area. Each end has 2 bedrooms and 1 bath. Each bedroom faces the ocean and has glass doors leading to the deck. The bathrooms are not large, but are definitely clean and the water pressure in the shower is great.

This was the first beach house we have seen which included a "Handy Andy", which is like a dumb waiter for luggage. You don't need to haul your luggage and supplies up and down the stairs, you simply put them in this mini elevator, press the button and they magically travel from the ground to the house and back.

The house is definitely pet friendly and the owner even provides a dog bed, dog dishes and a treat.

Additionally, the kitchen is fully stocked and had absolutely everything we needed including crab crackers, shrimp de-veiners, pots, pans, dishwasher, and even Crate and Barrel plates.

Full cable and high speed wireless internet, washer and dryer, water softener system and dishwasher, full house furnace and air, and an electric fireplace in the living room all made this house perfect for our needs.

The location of the house on Edisto Island is approximately 1 block from the main business district where the Piggly Wiggly and the few commercial shops that Edisto boasts are located. You exit the back door of the house and are on the beach just a few steps from the ocean, compared to houses further down the beach where you have to treck 50+ yards across the dunes to reach the beach.

Edisto is a family friendly, non-commercial vacation destination. If you are looking for some hopping night-life you are definitely not going to find it here. What you will find is miles of pet friendly, freely accessible beaches, a laid back atmosphere and plenty of sun and sand. Less than 1 hour from the shopping to be found in Charleston, this spot is perfect for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, amenities, pet friendly
Liked least: Absolutely nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2012
Thank you for your thoughts about "Breathe Deep" and your time on Edisto Beach. The owner is a retired B&B owner and boy does it show. She wants to make sure you and your pet are comfortable and most importantly want to come back and stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazycatrn
North Augusta, South Carolina
1 review
“A great house with the feel of home.”
Reviewed 7 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

A great location. The house is well cared for and decorated very tastefully with "niceties" as an added feature. The house has an "at home feel." A wonderful screened porch for relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm feel and comfort of the house.
Liked least: Everything was great.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2012
Edisto Realty and the owner appreciate your kind comments and hope that you can plan a return trip to "Breathe Deep" soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann H
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
“Never have I experienced more pleasure on a vacation at the beach”
Reviewed 14 September 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Breathe Deep is a complete retreat! At first it takes your breath away with all the details of this delightful four bedroom beach house. I loved the layout! Everyone had their own door to the ocean! The decor was so fresh, light and relaxing as if they just put on a fresh coat of paint! the attention to detail was amazing, you can tell this owner really cares about their guests! The kitchen was the perfect space to make our lunches to eat on my favorite porch facing the most incredible view of the ocean. We even saw dolphins, gorgeous birds and the shell were abundant! You must get up early to watch the sunrise! It really did help me breathe deep. Never have I experienced more pleasure on a vacation at the beach. Booking in the winter and early spring months feels like we had our own beach and ocean! Well kept secret! The only bad thing is that I had to leave this fabulous getaway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: layout or the bedrooms with access to the ocean
Liked least: I had to leave
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing