We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chestnut Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Columbia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 February 2016

What a nice weekend we had while we stayed at The Chestnut Cottage for Valentine's Day weekend. VERY friendly host and hostess who greeted us warmly in the parking lot. Our room was the Jefferson Davis room and it was charming and historic. Bed was extremely comfortable, nice big bathtub, nicely decorated and had good heat despite the record low freezing temperatures outside (was pleasantly non-drafty!). Hot water with good water pressure (always a bit questionable in houses as old as this one) and very close to downtown Columbia and a block away from the Township Auditorium. Breakfast was DELICIOUS! We would stay again!

Room Tip: The rooms actually inside the house are more quaint and historic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dabonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2015

This is outstanding little historic bed and breakfast in the heart of Columbia. The owners are very friendly. I took of 1 star for two items. First the booking process was a bit difficult to get done correctly. There web site was not up on date on availability and it took a while for them to return calls. Two, this in the heart of the city and it's noisy with a very busy fire station just down the road. Other than those two it's outstanding. Rooms are outstanding and breakfast is great. Really cool place as well if you like history. Breakfast can be served in room or at the dining table. Choose the dinning room, to sit and enjoy a great chat with the owners or other guest.

Room Tip: The weeding room is the best for privacy. The others are in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

My son is a student at USC and this is a perfect location for access that all the city has to offer. My room was on the first floor and was absolutely perfect. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. They provide all the amenities needed, including lots of magazines and reading materials. Breakfast was stellar! There's parking on site--behind the building, so you don't have to worry about street parking.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julieradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My wife and I (and our two golden retrievers) found our first floor room in this two story house provided a very large comfortable bed, period furniture and a display cabinet showcasing Civil War era items.
The second room offered a trundle bed which would sleep two children and a Jacuzzi.
The third room was a full bathroom including a comfortable shower.
Fresh fruit and yogurt preceded a hot breakfast and excellent coffee.
Our hosts were congenial in the personal way seldom found when traveling.
Their thoughtfulness included “help yourself” beverages and wine, plus baked sweets on the dining room table from the time we arrived.
Additional points are ample off-street parking and a secluded outdoor shaded sitting area.

Room Tip: ask for the "2 room suite" on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cakiernan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent location near downtown, USC, the football stadium, state house, and four historic houses. Spacious parking.

Our room was large, as were the other two that we could view. Room decor themed around the Civil War, however came across as a little eclectic. Nothing wrong with that.

The room was squeaky clean as the owner apparently does the cleaning. Nothing like direct owner care for more conscientious results.

Gale and Sherwood are very good at the concierge aspects of running a B&B. All of their advice was helpful and accurate.

Breakfast food quality was hearty and comfort food style. Some healthier options might be of interest to some guests.

Overall, a wonderful visit and an easy Excellent grade. Recommend.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank packcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.7 km away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.8 km away
The 1425 Inn
The 1425 Inn
#1 of 5 in Columbia
90 reviews
7.4 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#27 of 93 in Columbia
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 93 in Columbia
937 reviews
13 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Northeast
8.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chestnut Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnut Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1718 Hampton St, Columbia, SC 29201-3420
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing