We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$88
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites(Columbia)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$104
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$107
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
American Inn(Columbia)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
21
8
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
8
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjefferson daviscivil wartownship auditoriumone nighthostsgalesherwooddowntown
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2015

This is outstanding little historic bed and breakfast in the heart of Columbia. The owners are very friendly. I took of 1 star for two items. First the booking process was a bit difficult to get done correctly. There web site was not up on date on availability and it took a while for them to return calls. Two, this in the heart of the city and it's noisy with a very busy fire station just down the road. Other than those two it's outstanding. Rooms are outstanding and breakfast is great. Really cool place as well if you like history. Breakfast can be served in room or at the dining table. Choose the dinning room, to sit and enjoy a great chat with the owners or other guest.

Room Tip: The weeding room is the best for privacy. The others are in the main house.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

My son is a student at USC and this is a perfect location for access that all the city has to offer. My room was on the first floor and was absolutely perfect. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. They provide all the amenities needed, including lots of magazines and reading materials. Breakfast was stellar! There's parking on site--behind the building, so you don't have to worry about street parking.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julieradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My wife and I (and our two golden retrievers) found our first floor room in this two story house provided a very large comfortable bed, period furniture and a display cabinet showcasing Civil War era items.
The second room offered a trundle bed which would sleep two children and a Jacuzzi.
The third room was a full bathroom including a comfortable shower.
Fresh fruit and yogurt preceded a hot breakfast and excellent coffee.
Our hosts were congenial in the personal way seldom found when traveling.
Their thoughtfulness included “help yourself” beverages and wine, plus baked sweets on the dining room table from the time we arrived.
Additional points are ample off-street parking and a secluded outdoor shaded sitting area.

Room Tip: ask for the "2 room suite" on the first floor.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cakiernan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent location near downtown, USC, the football stadium, state house, and four historic houses. Spacious parking.

Our room was large, as were the other two that we could view. Room decor themed around the Civil War, however came across as a little eclectic. Nothing wrong with that.

The room was squeaky clean as the owner apparently does the cleaning. Nothing like direct owner care for more conscientious results.

Gale and Sherwood are very good at the concierge aspects of running a B&B. All of their advice was helpful and accurate.

Breakfast food quality was hearty and comfort food style. Some healthier options might be of interest to some guests.

Overall, a wonderful visit and an easy Excellent grade. Recommend.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank packcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed at the B&B while in town for a show at Township Auditorium. The Auditorium is a 5 minute walk from the inn. Gale and Sherwood Garrett, the owners and innkeepers, made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived until our post-breakfast departure. They went above and beyond the call of duty during our 1 night stay in the Jefferson Davis suite. They are both well versed in history of the town and inn. The location is great. If a walker, you can also reach the area around Liberty St. The room was large, with a king bed. The bath was huge (shower or bath). Breakfast was five star. We enjoyed conversation with the owners and the other guests. We love historic districts and old homes, so this was a really wonderful time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DowntownWilmington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews