We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites(Columbia)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$104
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$104
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
American Inn(Columbia)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
21
8
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
8
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjefferson daviscivil wartownship auditoriumone nighthostsgalesherwooddowntown
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This is an excellent B&B in a well restored historical cottage. Gale and Sherwood went out of their way to make us feel welcome and her breakfast is worthy of any 5 star restaurent. (too bad they do not do dinner). The room was very well appointed and comfortable. Only complaint is the the ghost of Mary Chestnut did not make an appearance but she was probably at the ball park cheering for the Gamecocks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The chestnut cottage was the first stop on our honeymoon and we were not dissapointed! Our room was charming and the breakfast in bed was delicious! We look forward to returning on our anniversary!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The innkeepers greeted us upon arrival at 9pm and served us a wonderful breakfast the next morning (strawberries and cream, eggs, sausage, tomatoes, cereal, milk, juice). We enjoyed touring the historic property after breakfast and learning about Mary Chestnut. See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mary_Boykin_Chesnut for a preview.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank Brandon508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

I personally love the history behind the Chesnut Cottage, and likewise me and my wife adore the hospitality of Gale and Sherwood. The rooms are quite nice, and breakfast is really, really good. We have taken at least two anniversary trips while staying at the Chesnut Cottage, and have stayed there on several other occasions. It is genuinely our home away from home, and when we go to Charleston we would rather stay in Columbia at the Chesnut and drive in for the day than to deal with anyone else.
Great breakfasts, great museums, and great hospitality from great people !

Plug: You simply MUST take the state house tour and the museum while you are there. It is FANTASTIC.
Just ignore Mark and Maria.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KennyLLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my short stay at Chestnut House. I never want to leave Columbia when I visit my son attending USC. Gail(sp?) and Sherman are intuitively attentive, allow privacy, and lived up to everything promised. They have an ability to feel your needs whether its alot of attention, need for conversation, or to be left alone---they can help conversation with other guests at breakfast or decide to leave us be if it's happening. Or if compelling conversation, ring in! Breakfast was a comforting highlite after an early morning walk through this historic district. Those of us (from the North) with a poor teaching or memories need to find out what happened in Columbia.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeah-oh-well
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews