We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chestnut Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Columbia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This 1820's cottage, the home of General and Mary Chestnut during the Civil War, is charming. The five bedrooms are themed and tastefully decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom appeared to have had some updating but was really in need of more renovation. There is a pleasant garden at the back of the cottage with garden furniture and garden swing. There is also ample parking behind the cottage. The owners are very friendly, recount tales of the Chestnuts and are happy to give you a tour of the cottage. Breakfast, orange juice and Greek yogurt with fresh fruit, followed by eggs, ham and French toast was delicious; coffee extremely good and apparently limitless. This little cottage is a very interesting place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jefferson Davis room which was very nice but the fan and air conditioning unit were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Premier_Cru_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

This is an excellent B&B in a well restored historical cottage. Gale and Sherwood went out of their way to make us feel welcome and her breakfast is worthy of any 5 star restaurent. (too bad they do not do dinner). The room was very well appointed and comfortable. Only complaint is the the ghost of Mary Chestnut did not make an appearance but she was probably at the ball park cheering for the Gamecocks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The chestnut cottage was the first stop on our honeymoon and we were not dissapointed! Our room was charming and the breakfast in bed was delicious! We look forward to returning on our anniversary!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The innkeepers greeted us upon arrival at 9pm and served us a wonderful breakfast the next morning (strawberries and cream, eggs, sausage, tomatoes, cereal, milk, juice). We enjoyed touring the historic property after breakfast and learning about Mary Chestnut. See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mary_Boykin_Chesnut for a preview.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank Brandon508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

I personally love the history behind the Chesnut Cottage, and likewise me and my wife adore the hospitality of Gale and Sherwood. The rooms are quite nice, and breakfast is really, really good. We have taken at least two anniversary trips while staying at the Chesnut Cottage, and have stayed there on several other occasions. It is genuinely our home away from home, and when we go to Charleston we would rather stay in Columbia at the Chesnut and drive in for the day than to deal with anyone else.
Great breakfasts, great museums, and great hospitality from great people !

Plug: You simply MUST take the state house tour and the museum while you are there. It is FANTASTIC.
Just ignore Mark and Maria.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KennyLLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
1.6 km away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
0.7 km away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.8 km away
The 1425 Inn
The 1425 Inn
#1 of 5 in Columbia
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#27 of 93 in Columbia
622 reviews
1.4 km away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 93 in Columbia
937 reviews
13 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chestnut Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnut Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1718 Hampton St, Columbia, SC 29201-3420
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing