We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality at it's BEST!”
Review of The Abernathy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Abernathy
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Clemson
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We were going to be on Campus for a sporting event and originally that is why I chose this hotel. Not only is this a great location, the staff and hotel is exceptional! Beautiful rooms with the friendliest staff. They have a little cafe/bar down in the lobby and I really enjoyed talking to Jessica she was great! As I checked out, Isaac was also very friendly making sure my stay was satisfactory. It exceeded my expectations. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ValerieSer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, General Manager at The Abernathy, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for your kind review. I am very pleased you found our staff to be exceptional and that you enjoyed the rooms. The team is very happy that you had such a great experience. We appreciate you choosing The Abernathy and do look forward to your return.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 50 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at The Abernathy last night as we had traveled down from NC for today’s basketball game. What a wonderful hotel! Hardwood floors, great views of Clemson University, friendly staff, and a very spacious bathroom (ranked #4 on my husband’s list of hotel bathrooms, and we’ve been to many hotels as a family). We will definitely be making a return visit!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, General Manager at The Abernathy, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for posting such a kind review. I am very glad that you enjoyed the experience here at the hotel. Thank you for recognizing our staff and we are very flattered that you ranked our bathroom #4 on your all-time list of bathrooms! We appreciate you choosing The Abernathy, and hope when you are next in Clemson, you will give us the chance to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

Far above the other Clemson hotels. The Abernathy is a wonderful hotel that provides you with the amenities of larger entities but with the personal touch of a boutique. If you are visiting campus this is ideal for any sporting events and for downtown - a short walk to anywhere you want to go. It is a bit difficult to get reservations during football season unless you go ahead and make them for the entire season of home games, but if you can do it - I highly advise it - they offer fantastic grill offerings and music on game days. The bar inside is reasonable and the whole hotel is spotless.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blondie307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, General Manager at The Abernathy, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Thank you for posting your review. We are so very pleased that you consider The Abernathy to be far above the other hotels in Clemson. Our team of professionals sincerely care about our guests and do all they can to create a positive experience. Thank you for choosing The Abernathy and we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

I just spent a week at a gorgeous hotel just a few hundred feet from Death Valley and it was amazing! The staff is all the most friendly I have met in a long time and I travel every week. They greet you with a smile, make sure all is right and make you feel most welcome! The hotel is lovely outside, the entrance is grand and the room was top rate! Hard word floors, beautiful bathroom and a robe in you forgot yours! For all my future trips I know where I will stay. From Emma who checked on my room 5 minutes after I checked in to the general manager Gary who wrote me a thank you card the second day of my stay to the gift basket from Sam....Ashley who always smiles, Spring who made me a Clemson Tigers' waffle and E.J. the friendliest bartender around! Thanks team, no wonder this is a championship campus!

Room Tip: Just stay here, all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hughm826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, General Manager at The Abernathy, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Thank you for such a glowing review. We are extremely fortunate to have a team that truly cares about the property and our guests' experience. I know that Emma, Sam, Ashley, Spring and E.J. will be thrilled to know they have been recognized for their efforts. Most importantly, we are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing The Abernathy. We all look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Wonderful experience at The Abernathy. We received an awesome rate being that it wasn't a football weekend which was a bonus. The staff was extremely courteous. The accommodations were impeccable. Very clean, spacious and comfortable. The location is ideal for any activity on the Clemson campus. We cannot wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susiejob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, General Manager at The Abernathy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you for posting your review. We are so glad that you found the hotel to be impeccable and the staff courteous. We appreciate you choosing The Abernathy and look forward to the opportunity of serving you again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clemson hotels
1.7 km away
Hotel Tillman
Hotel Tillman
#6 of 11 in Clemson
153 reviews
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clemson - Univ Area
2.8 km away
Courtyard Clemson
Courtyard Clemson
#4 of 11 in Clemson
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn Clemson-University Area
2 km away
Clemson University's James F. Martin Inn
5.2 km away
The Inn at Patrick Square
The Inn at Patrick Square
#9 of 11 in Clemson
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abernathy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abernathy

Address: 157 Old Greenville Hwy, Clemson, SC 29631-1332
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Clemson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Clemson
Price Range: €117 - €154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Abernathy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one block from Memorial Stadium in downtown Clemson, South Carolina, The Abernathy is a new premier boutique hotel that pays homage to the rich history and cherished traditions of Clemson. Named after the late Larry Abernathy, the city’s longtime mayor and university professor, the 41-room hotel weaves surprises and delights unique to Clemson throughout the guest experience. From world-famous Clemson Blue Cheese to the $2 bills used as change during home games, special touches are proudly and authentically Clemson. The Abernathy creates a welcoming oasis for alumni, prospective students, parents, and visiting scholars. The hotel features oversized guest rooms with king beds, sitting areas and well-equipped wet-bar. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel, as well as stylish public spaces designed with Tiger fans and friends in mind. Whether socializing with friends in the VIP Lounge, relaxing over a speciality coffee or sipping a Clemson-inspired cocktail at TAPS Bar & Café; guests of The Abernathy are are surrounded by a familial sense of community and genuine Southern hospitality at the doorstep Clemson University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Abernathy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing