We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel, unless you have a bad room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Charleston Marriott
Ranked #36 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel, unless you have a bad room!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel is very nicely renovated, has good parking and the rooms are beautiful. There is a great view, although you are a ways from the historic district (not terribly far, but you would have to drive/cab, can't walk). The hotel is very clean, I've stayed here several times on business. The internet is terrible if you aren't near the elevator. If you're in a corner room, forget any connection. There are some weird noises in this hotel, I've been told it's the AC. If you're in a room with a bad AC, or that's making a lot of noise, ask to switch IMMEDIATELY. It will not get better and it will keep you up all night. As long as you're not in one of those rooms, it's a great hotel! Very nice executive lounge with a beautiful view of the city!

Room Tip: Speak up if you hear your AC making lots of noise! It will keep you up all night. If you want wirele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    397
    191
    80
    37
See reviews for
236
356
40
316
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We were desparate for a room having decided to go to the Southeast Wildlife Expo at the last minute. Booked this room thru Hotwire - would not book it again on purpose. No king bed available. Two double beds, plus a chair and a small table, plus a large armed desk chair that could not be slid under the two level desk, and the TV cabinet made for a very crowded room. It was kind of a puzzle to get enough furniture out of the way to be able to walk to the window. Not that the view of a series of horribly ugly parking lots was worth the trouble. The bath was adequate but with a strange configuration of double shower heads that didn't quite make sense. Oh, and the air conditioning didn't work. Didn't realize it was getting warmer until about midnight. By 1 a.m. it must have been 80 in the room, and who wants to dress and repack and move rooms at 1 a.m.?? The bed was very comfortable with a variety of pillow choices.

Had lunch in the hotel restaurant, Sapphire. Good service, good food, nicely presented. No complaints there at all.

Had breakfast buffet the next morning - BEFORE complaining about the air conditioning. My mistake. The front desk was willing to comp breakfast had I not already paid for it. $37 lesson learned. Checked my bank account this morning to discover that the waiter had run my debit card thru with a 20% tip added on. I've never had this happen to me before, ever, and it doesn't even seem legal to me. This was not a large group with the mandatory 20% gratuity - it was two people!

The patio at the hotel was being renovated in spots, and there was an area that was quite dangerous with some "moving" tiles that was not roped off. Accident waiting to happen.

All in all, wasn't horrible (except for the lack of AC and view) but will book earlier and better for next year's Expo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water - not the hideous parking lots and factories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OhioGoneSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I spent two nights at this hotel on business in mid-February. Average is about the best way to put it. There was remodeling being done on an outside patio and on a rooftop lounge. Which wouldn't be a problem - but sometimes it would be nice to know that things are closed or being remodeled instead of stepping out onto the rooftop itself into tossed chairs and grout. The front lobby is very nice though and the front desk staff were friendly. The room was average. The shower, definitely quite nice with its two, movable heads and plenty of warm water. The location within the city is nice with close proximity to the water. But clearly they were saving the rooms with water views for other guests so I can't really speak to that. Within walking distance are mostly fast food restaurants; although, the restaurant called Saffire is very excellent. I wish I could say there were lots of other positive things that stood out in my mind. But there aren't a lot of bad things either. So, average.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahk13d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We booked our reservation through hotwire. I called the same night to the hotel to let them know I would need a crib for my 19 month old daughter. I spoke with Jessie. He was so polite and courteous. He advised me to call the day I was arriving to request that and I could also request a balcony and king size bed at the time. He answered all my questions and provided excellent customer service. On Friday I called ahead of time and requested the crib, balcony, and king size bed. I was told I could have all three no problem! Check in was fast and friendly. When I went upstairs to my room I was in awe! We were on the 10th floor overlooking the river and had a king size bed. Most hotels provide a pack n play. I was suprised to see an actual crib for my daughter! I could not have asked for a better room or a better place to stay. We were about only about 5 min from downtown. That friday night I had questions on places to eat so I waited for Jessie to arrive after 11pm. He took my calls and answered all my questions. Never seemed to minded that I had called several times. All his choices were excellent! I will definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the 10th floor balcony rooms. Fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I stayed at this property for a work trip and found it "functional". Great views of the water. It's definitely one of the older properties in the area but pretty well maintained. The staff was friendly and the concierge level was exceptional. The downtown area is not within walking distance but just a short drive away. The only real negative is that the internet was horrible - it kept kicking me off and took forever to load a page. I finally gave up after messing with it for over an hour.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pams80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.6 km away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
2.1 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
2.4 km away
Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Marriott

Property: Charleston Marriott
Address: 170 Lockwood Blvd, Charleston, SC 29403-5123
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
#37 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true southern hospitality and innovation at its finest at the Charleston Marriott. Our location overlooking the Ashley River offers easy access to beautiful downtown Charleston, SC. Recently redesigned modern guestrooms welcome you with stylish furnishings and plenty of space to relax, work or enjoy all that our beautiful city has to offer. Luxurious hotel amenities include high-speed wireless internet, shuttle service, state of the art business and fitness centers. Savor delicious favorites at our signature on-site restaurant, Saffire. Unwind enjoying the Ashley River sunset with a cocktail at one of the only roof top bars in Charleston, Aqua Terrace. If you're downtown planning a social event or wedding, take advantage of our hotel's 50,000 square feet of event space. If you're here simply to relax, enjoy your time by our spacious outdoor pool or courtyard area. Our hotel is the one spot where you can work & play, mix & mingle, and connect & relax. That's brilliant. That's the Charleston Marriott! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charleston Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Marriott Hotel Charleston
Marriott Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing