We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,194)
Filter reviews
1,194 results
Traveller rating
319
417
268
112
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
417
268
112
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor round hotel free shuttle ashley river rooftop restaurant shuttle service breakfast buffet is historic district downtown area an older hotel folly beach front desk staff the hotel offers short drive aaron musc citadel
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,194 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2018

The hotel was great for location, for those not looking to spend an arm and a leg staying in the downtown Charleston district, but still wanting to be quite close to all the things to do. Just a short drive over the river and you're in the downtown historical district. Unfortunately, not close enough to walk, so you'll still have to pay those pesky parking garage fees.

The room itself was clean, and nicely renovated. It was equipped with a keurig coffee machine, which was nice, in addition to the large coffee pots they keep in the lobby downstairs in the mornings. (Afternoons, they switched to iced fruit-infused water, which was kind of a bummer for an all day coffee drinker like myself.)

The bed slept nice, and we got a room with a nice view of the river. My biggest complaint is the lack of balcony access. It appears as though all the rooms sliding doors had been bolted shut due to the balconies not being structurally sound, which would have been a nice thing to know beforehand. Direct outdoor access is a big deal to me.

Overall, we had a nice stay and would return.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Larie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, VP of Operations at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Hello Larie,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. Our goal is to provide each guest with a wonderful experience while they are with us. the Charleston Riverview Holiday Inn is a landmark hotel in Charleston and the restaurant offers spectacular views of the river.

Maintaining a fresh atmosphere within our guest rooms and common areas is always a key priority.

We sincerely apologize for falling short of not meeting your expectations. The balconies have been locked for many years due to safety concerns. We are sorry for any inconvenience our safety measures cost you.

We genuinely appreciate your business and we hope to welcome you again whenever your travels bring you back to Charleston.

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

Unfriendly staff at front desk and in dining room. Food average. Only good for breakfast.

Rooms clean.

Inexpensive, but not sure worth it.

Proximity to downtown is great. Convenient for using Uber and saving hassle of driving and parking.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, VP of Operations at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Hello Dave,

Thank you for the review and feedback. Unfortunately, from your review I can see that we fell short of meeting your expectations when you arrived at Charleston Riverview. In order to better uphold our commitment to deliver exceptional service to every guest, from arrival to departure, I have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team.

We are happy you enjoyed the location. The Charleston Riverview Holiday Inn is a landmark hotel in Charleston.

We truly appreciate your business. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

Front desk staff were pleasant and very helpful. Rooms were clean and the Harbor View restaurant atop the hotel had a great breakfast buffet. The hotel had a good location for seeing the local sites as well as a small bus to take us downtown for free. This is the second time staying at this hotel.

Room tip: Higher floors have the best view.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, VP of Operations at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Hello Wayne,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn. We value the time you took to provide feedback about your recent stay with us.

We appreciate that the friendliness of our staff was recognized. To compliment that we’ve worked really hard to offer the best food in the best possible environment, so we are happy to see that reflected on your most recent visit to our hotel. We are equally pleased to know that you enjoyed the location. The Charleston Riverview Holiday Inn is a landmark hotel in Charleston and the restaurant offers spectacular views of the river. This leads to the reason that we provide complimentary shuttle service to our valued guests and the drivers enjoy sharing their acquired knowledge of the area.

As with many hotels, maintaining a fresh atmosphere and cleanliness within our guest rooms and common areas is always a key priority.

We genuinely appreciate your business and we hope to welcome you again whenever your travels bring you back to Charleston.

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

This place was horrible. We checked in after driving almost 18 hours from north jersey down here & checked in. our room was disgusting, there were stains all on the carpet along with a nasty shower. you couldnt go out onto the “patio” and the room was filled with dust and stains. It looks like nothing in the pictures and i was absolutely disgusted, we left after we walked in the room and didnt even stay. i highly advice AGAINST this place.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank jmhansbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, VP of Operations at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Hello,

We recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have provided on the Guest Satisfaction Survey. . On behalf of the entire team at Charleston Riverview we sincerely apologize for falling short of not only meeting your expectations, but ours as well. Rest assured, the feedback provided will be shared with the appropriate hotel team to ensure we consistently deliver upon guest expectations.

Thank you for your business. Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Very helpful front desk staff- especially Darrell and Chastity!
Had a great birthday trip with my sister. The room was very clean and comfortable. The pool was nice.
Had dessert in the rooftop restaurant- Jo is a very good server.
The hotel is older, but well maintained.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Italy441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, VP of Operations at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Hello!

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn and for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. Our goal is to provide each guest with a wonderful experience. Maintaining a fresh atmosphere within our guest rooms and common areas is always a key priority.

As you mention in your review, the hotel needs some updating. To that end, hotel renovations have commenced. Once the renovations are completed I hope you will stay with us again. We are sure you will be pleased with the updates. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit with us again.

Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews