We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$229
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$340
US$292
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$557
US$514
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$489
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sleep Inn Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$312
US$272
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard Charleston Historic District(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$320
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ansonborough Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,172)
Filter reviews
1,172 results
Traveller rating
315
414
261
108
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
414
261
108
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorfree shuttleashley riverrooftop restaurantshuttle servicebreakfast buffet ishistoric districtdowntown areaan older hotelfolly beachfront desk staffthe hotel offersshort drivebalconiesaaronmuscmarsh
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,172 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

I thought I had reviewed last September... but don’t see it on here... lol so excited I guess. But as we are looking at coming back to Charleston this year, this is the first place that came to mind!
We had a wonderful day stay here in September 2017 before heading off to our cruise. The guest service was awesome and very friendly. The housekeeping staff was also very positive and friendly. Then of course the roof top restaurant was great! But to say above all was the shuttle service to and from downtown Charleston... Awesome Amazing and Wonderful!!! The driver was friendly and very informative of the city and where we should go to try out things.
This was literally a day trip and they made such a positive impact that we can’t wait to get booked and get back here.
Thanks so much to everyone of the staff! Here is a couple of pictures from rooftop and where we got to visit last September

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Owner at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Christy S,
Thank you for choosing Charleston Riverview and for taking the time to provide feedback about your repeated stays with us. The Charleston Riverview Holiday Inn is a landmark hotel in Charleston and the roof top restaurant offers spectacular views of the river. Our goal is to provide each guest with a wonderful experience while they are with us so it's gratifying to hear that you find the guest services "awesome and friendly." It is our pleasure to provide complimentary shuttle service to our valued guests and the drivers enjoy sharing their acquired knowledge of the area. I'm happy to hear we will be seeing you again! Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

As a frequent visitor (patient at MUSC) we find the location is excellent. Rooms musty and need more plugs for electronics. The dinner service and food was awful. We left our plates 3/4 unfinished, wasted $40. We are grateful to management for offering services (special reservations, shuttle) for MUSC patients.


Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank LadyGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Owner at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear LadyGardner,
Thank you for choosing Charleston Riverview and for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Charleston Riverview Holiday Inn is a landmark hotel in Charleston and the restaurant offers spectacular views of the river and is very convenient to MUSC. Our goal is to provide each guest with a wonderful experience while they are with us. We will begin renovations this year so any room or common area mustiness will be resolved. It is our pleasure to provide complimentary shuttle service to our valued guests. I'm sorry your experience in the restaurant was not positive. I will pass on your comments to the team for review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Two positiv things to say: The shape of the building and the location of the restaurant on 14th floor. The hotel is located outside of the city, but with a nice view, even if it's located between two highways. The dinner was good, but the service not that good.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bente A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Owner at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Bente A,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on the Guest Satisfaction Survey. I’m sorry we fell short of your expectations. Thank you for bringing your concern regarding service to my attention and know that we are working diligently to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

I've postponed my review of this hotel until I received a refund from Amoma.com who had not made the booking that I paid for - another story which I will expand upon in a separate post. Anyway, the Riverview is a, generally, good hotel with decent rooms and facilities - our room overlooked the river and the city of Charleston, beyond. The Riverview represents good value compared to the, frankly, inflated prices of hotels downtown. The shuttle service that the hotel provides for guests visiting the city is an excellent facility: Charleston centre is fairly congested at the best of times. The hotel itself is located in the central reservation (median) of the highway and means that access is from the outside lane - a possible challenge when crossing three lanes of the Savannah Highway during rush hour. Having said that, the local drivers seemed to be aware and amenable when we arrived. The staff at the hotel were excellent, especially considering that they didn't have any record of our reservation through Amoma.com. That plaudit applies to all the staff that we encountered from front desk to restaurant. Despite the fact that the Amoma booking was bogus, Assistant Manager, Amanda Carter, matched Amoma's professed discount price and upgraded the room for us. Good customer service.

Room Tip: River view
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie Hurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Owner at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn and for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. .Our goal is to provide each guest with a wonderful experience while they are with us and it sounds like by in large we met your expectation…that makes the entire team very happy. The Charleston Riverview Holiday Inn is a landmark hotel in Charleston. I will share your feedback with Amanda Carter. She will be pleased to hear your visit was not tarnished by the problems you experienced during your registration. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Somewhat at the last minute we came to Charleston to meet friends coming from another part of the country. This property is a circular tower across the river from the main part of Charleston. It is very convenient to the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) and associated hospitals. There is an hourly shuttle to some stops in Charleston. While there is a restaurant, we did not use it as the posted menu is limited. There is parking. The rooms facing the river and Charleston are a bit more costly. The staff is friendly and helpful. Prices seem to vary depending on the day of the week and the activities in Charleston. When we entered our room it seem to have a bit of a chemical odor. The rooms are average with a balcony.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for a room on the river side.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank UpstateExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy M, Owner at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear UpstateExplorer,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn and for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. The Charleston Riverview Holiday Inn is a landmark hotel in Charleston and the restaurant offers spectacular views of the river. Our goal is to provide each guest with a wonderful experience while they are with us. We began renovations earlier this year so I hope you will visit with us again to review the improvements.

It is our pleasure to provide complimentary shuttle service to our valued guests and the drivers enjoy sharing their acquired knowledge of the area. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews