We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Great Views, Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Ranked #43 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good location, Great Views, Good Value”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I don't know why some people have given this place mediocre reviews. You can spend A LOT of money in Charleston but for about $100 you can stay here, close and convenient to town with stunning high rise views. The free hotel shuttle runs often to take you across the bridge into downtown and bring you back as well. Parking is free and available at this hotel while if you stay downtown you'll pay at least $10. The hotel restaurant occupies the top floor; all seats have a 13th story view of the Charleston skyline, Ashley River, and barrier islands. Breakfast is usually a buffet. My priority club membership provided me breakfast for free.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTimMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    375
    233
    98
    64
See reviews for
283
410
44
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
745 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed here because I was in town for an interview the medical center and they had a rate for a really low rate. Clean room and friendly and helpful staff at the hotel. It is about a $30 cab ride to here from the airport.

The hotel also has a free shuttle to downtown charleston as well as the medical center.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RahulMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRJ, VT
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We spent our first night on the 9th floor. The carpet had crumbs on it and there was a small puddle of dirty mop water on the bathroom floor. The mattress was completely shot. Around 8am the next morning I began to smell cigarette smoke coming from somewhere - after reading Tim R's review, I now know that it was coming up from the 8th floor. We went upstairs for the breakfast buffet but all of the food was cold. We upgraded to a suite on the 14th floor for the rest of the week. The mattress was better but housekeeping never came so we had to call downstairs to ask for clean towels and to have the trash can emptied. Several ceiling tiles are askew and they are power cords running under the carpet etc. The bar does have an awesome view and the drinks and service are good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyPWrj_Vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear JudyPWrj_Vt,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience experienced during your stay. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. We’d like to obtain additional details regarding your experience, and have sent you a private message. I trust we can regain your confidence in our hotel. Thank you.

Sincerely,


Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charleston hotels

Columbia,SC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Our tub was filthy-seemed to have sand or something in it. The drain was so slow, the water wouldn't go down. After they came to fix it and clean the room the second day, the grit was still on the tub. They left no shampoo, soap etc and left no bathmat. Everything in the room was dirty. The pillows had so little stuffing, they were not serviceable. When I brought these things to the attention of the staff, they said "sorry about that". That was all.
Also the location is such that you have to drive into downtown Charleston and pay the exorbitant parking fees. They have a shuttle but it only comes every 2 hours and stops at 9>30 PM so if you have evening plans, you are out of luck. I would never stay there again

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms reserved. ALL of us had adjoining rooms but they adjoined to someone else, not us.. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCNancylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We ended a week-long trip down the coast in the city of Charleston and selected this hotel because they had smoking rooms on the the 8th floor with views of the city. I recall when the hotel was being built -- had eaten dinner there twice in the past forty years -- and stayed there once about twenty years ago -- but knew really knew nothing else about it as we've mostly stayed at Charleston Place for the past twenty years. The good reviews on Tripadvisor settled it. We were NOT disappointed. The views of the city from our rooms were spectacular. The staff was every bit as professional, informed and courteous as the staff at Charleston Place. I was working in Charleston one of the days we were there and could get into downtown in five minutes. We had breakfast upstairs both mornings -- had drinks in the bar one night -- entertained a table full of guests in the dining room another evening -- and had room service another evening. Everything was really great. Regarding the food: downtown Charleston is practically buried in four star (well deserved stars) restaurants so the competiton regarding food is extremely keen. Although the food was perfectly fine, one would not go to the dining room atop the Holiday Inn for the food -- you go downtown for that. BUT -- a very important but -- we had some well-travelled locals in for dinner and the wonderful view, excellent service and perfectly acceptable food won them over (they remarked that they certainly plan on bringing out of town guests there at least for drinks in the future just to enjoy the city view and good service) so I think that is a pretty good recommendation. I do want to comment on the architecture: I have a master's degree in historic preservation and a strong concentration in architectural history. I must say that -- far from being a blight on the landscape -- this building is an extremely fine representation of its type from the third quarter of the 20th century and it is absolutely neither banal nor ugly. (If you want to see banal and ugly, consider the boxy "La Quinta" that lies slightly east when viewed from the top of the Holiday Inn). This building will actually become eligible for consideration to be nominated to the National Register of Historic Places in about nine years. I sincerely hope that it is nominated and accepted as it is a beautiful relief from the humdrum hotel posseurs of more recent vintage. Furthermore, its presence is proof that Charleston is not merely mired in the 18th and 19th centuries but is a living city that has some interesting architectural examples (although a small inventory) from across time. Having said that -- yes, certainly we will stay there again and I hope it is very soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
4.2 km away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 62 in Charleston
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 62 in Charleston
1,171 reviews
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
0.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

Property: Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Address: 301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407-7263
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the beauty, romance and adventure of Historic Charleston, South Carolina are located right outside the front doors of the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. On the banks of the Ashley River you are just minutes from Charleston with its many restaurants, shops and historic attractions. If you are looking for a day at the beach, we're only 10 minutes away from Folly Beach, Sullivan's Island, and the Isle of Palms. Join us atop the hotel in our HarborView Restaurant & Lounge for spectacular lowcountry cuisine, and breathtaking views of the Ashley River and the beautiful downtown skyline. The hotel is conveniently situated on Highway 17, with easy access to Charleston's popular destinations, such as: The Citadel, MUSC, the College of Charleston, Riverdogs Stadium, and of course the historic downtown area. Experience a Charleston landmark and true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing