We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for Oysters Only”
Review of Pearlz Oyster Bar

Pearlz Oyster Bar
Ranked #33 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: The Original, Eclectic Little Oyster BarPearlz Oyster Bar is committed to serving only the best seafood South Carolina has to offer. Our Seafood Menu features an assorted mix of raw shellfish, local seafood, Lowcountry recipes, and regional favorites. Our raw bar offers a variety of oysters and fresh seasonal shellfish. We're also a part of the Sustainable Seafood Initiative, so eating at Pearlz is good for both the palate and the planet.A full-service bar serving the coldest beers and unique, refreshing cocktails, Pearlz has become a favorite happy hour meeting spot for both locals and visitors alike.Patrons looking for a nightcap and a bite to eat can order from our late night menu, which features several of Pearlz' signature dishes.
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Go for Oysters Only”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The oysters were awesome. Better than I expected. However, we also ordered off the menu. I had the tuna with rice and brussels sprouts. The tuna was frozen, off a food distributing truck, not fresh, it was coated in cumin or some other spice that was strange. The rice tasted like it was out of a package, it was extremely salty. My sprouts were burned. I would go there again, but just for oysters.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandracap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,171
    516
    98
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Accomodating dinner”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We came to town for a long weekend and asked the valet at the hotel for the best location for oysters on the half shell. He said after some thought, theres really only Pearlz. He was right. For those of you who read our reviews you know we travel alot with our son who is in a wheel chair. Pearlz is not accessable by any means of the word. Six inch step going in. However, the owner of the store next door let us park our chair there and we boosted our son into the first table in the restaurant. The manager and staff were excellent, the food was great and for charleston reasonably prices.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fleet68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Drink and Appetizers”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stopped in for a drink and snack at the bar. Enjoyed Pearlz house brews, oysters, and tuna tacos. All were very good. Worth the stop.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Looking for Oysters? This is your place”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Fun place with very affordable oysters. Ranked very high by locals. Dozen oysters for 10 bucks and great shooters.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank havingfunVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Go during Happy Hour, good specials and oysters. Prices were great during happy hour, good service

Helpful?
Thank meghanfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pearlz Oyster Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pearlz Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing