We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent desserts”
Review of Carmella's

Carmella's
Ranked #6 of 42 Dessert in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
Description: Located in historic downtown Charleston, SC, Carmella's Cafe and Dessert Bar is an Italian-American dessert boutique cafe focused on cakes, pastries and adult dessert cocktails, as well as sandwiches and stromboli. We also feature a full bar and a vast selection of Italian wines, as well as some interesting varietals that are sure to please. Whether you are in the mood for warm and cold desserts or savory sandwiches and stromboli, visit us for an unforgettable experience. Located next to the Custom's House on the corner of East Bay St and Cumberland St.
Restaurant details
Description: Located in historic downtown Charleston, SC, Carmella's Cafe and Dessert Bar is an Italian-American dessert boutique cafe focused on cakes, pastries and adult dessert cocktails, as well as sandwiches and stromboli. We also feature a full bar and a vast selection of Italian wines, as well as some interesting varietals that are sure to please. Whether you are in the mood for warm and cold desserts or savory sandwiches and stromboli, visit us for an unforgettable experience. Located next to the Custom's House on the corner of East Bay St and Cumberland St.
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Big portion desserts that are very flavorful. The staff was helpful and friendly. They remained open as Florence approached (everyone in CHS was very grateful!). The sandwiches were tasty as well.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jpkast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2018

We got the blueberry lemon cake and it was delicious!! There was always a line every time we came and we were always in a rush but finally found some time and the cake was worth the wait! yum!!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank caholland4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Came in late Sunday night with some gal pals for a birthday & sat at the bar. I work on Market Street & so I expect a certain level of care... Service was on point :) Turtle cheesecake was delicious, & the sparkling Rosé was exactly what we were looking for. Jason & Jimmy were entertaining & extremely tolerant of our “party girl” requests.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank LeeAnna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

We visited at the recommendation of our hotel doorman. Great selection of deserts and drinks. The vanilla and caramel cake was super decadent. Have water handy! Super sweet and even better once it softened on day two. I will be dreaming of this place until my return to Charleston.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Rashida W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Darling little spot to get gelato, dessert, drinks, or coffee—or grown-up coffee drinks! (Hello, Affogato!) Stop In here after dinner you won’t regret it.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank VeronicaLucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carmella's also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Carmella's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing