We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (822)
Filter reviews
822 results
Traveller rating
278
249
170
76
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
249
170
76
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ashley river front desk breakfast bar free breakfast free parking minute drive morning breakfast yogurt king street musc freeway citadel proximity housekeeper college
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 822 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Great location to walk to many things. Just a short walk to Charleston Riverdogs game and less than 2 miles to downtown historic district. Very nice rooms with comfortable beds. Beautiful view of the Ashley River.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Dear Jason S,

We are very excited for you choosing our hotel and for your lovely review of our hotel and location. We thank you very much and hope you will be back again soon.

Best regards,

Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

was very happy with this place

staff was very good very nice two of them were very helpful Deidra and Jeremy Would go back there
But wish they would offer a cruie package. Some in area offer long time parking and trarsport for people going on carvinal lines

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shadgoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016

Dear Shadgoff,

We wanted to thank you for your recent stay with us and are pleased to read your review of your good stay and how you were hapy with our property. We are proud of Jeremy and Deidra and their helpfulness during your time with us and do hope you will be back again in the future.

Best regards,

Staff & Managament

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Deirdre at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was better than a lot of places we stayed and there was free parking. But the location is not handy to anything. The only place to walk and eat is either the next door Marriott or a McDonald's. Downtown is pretty far away, especially with all the one-way streets and traffic, and parking downtown is certainly at a premium. Our room was badly in need of updating. When I went to use the dryer the whole unit, dryer holder and all, came off the wall; if you turned off the bedside lamp you had no power in the outlet on the base so no clock; the shower would not turn off all the way; the handle came off one of the faucets on the sink. We reported the first two items to the desk and they fixed the dryer but not the electrical problem. We didn't bother reporting the other problems until we left. In the hotel's behalf, when we checked out they made note of all the problems so they could be fixed and they credited our HI account with extra points. We happened to hit a 4-graduation weekend so the weekend prices at the hotel were almost doubled. We felt like we had paid a lot for not very much.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016

Dear Sylvia Z,

We are thankful you chose our hotel for your stay in Charleston over the busy weekend. We appreciate all of your feedback so that we can make sure to address all the issues you mentioned you encountered during your stay. Again, we apologize and we do hope you will be able to return and stay with us again in the future and see how we have improved in all the areas you mentioned.

Best regards,

Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Pros: the staff of the hotel is very helpful, the hotel provides free parking, breakfast is included (although its not excellent ), area is very calm, rooms area clean, free wifi. We also believe there was a pool but that we did not use.
Cons: The decor is dated needing to be updated, not that near from city centre downtown and overpriced for the all package (although we've noticed that Charleston's Hotels are really overpriced)

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016

Dear Daniel I,

We wanted to thank you for choosing us for your recent stay and hope you will return to stay with us again in the future. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and do hope you will be back to give us another chance in the future.

Best regards,

Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

The hotel is quite away from the historic part of the city. A free city trolley is an advantage, although it takes at least 45 minutes and one change of busses (or another 20 minutes walk) to get to the waterfront. The trolley has no fixed schedule but rides every 15-20 minutes, depending on traffic. The stop is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel has an agreement with local taxi firm for a flat $5 per person for the ride to and from the historic pat of the city - it works even late in night, we checked it. Rooms are ok, service good, breakfast as in other Expresses.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ATY39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016

Dear ATY39,

We want to thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope you will be back again soon.

Best regards,

Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews