We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (828)
Filter reviews
828 results
Traveller rating
279
250
171
77
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
250
171
77
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ashley river front desk charleston downtown breakfast bar river view free breakfast free parking minute drive morning breakfast yogurt the entire staff king street musc trolley freeway pets citadel
Filter
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 828 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2015 via mobile

Excellent hotel within 10 mins of Rainbow Row and Liberty Square all for $99. I was surprised with how spacious the actual room was. We had a very late check in but Sharon at the desk was very friendly and helpful and she was back at work at 7am the next morning. Parking was a chore because they were booked solid that night but there was a small gravel lot right next door. We will stay here again next time we come to visit Charleston.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We hope you will return to Charleston and stay with us again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015 via mobile

Very comfortable stay! The front desk receptionist was very polite and greeting upon checking in (customer friendly).
The bedroom was small yet comfortable.
The bedroom balcony overlooks downtown Charleston (which was a nice morning view).
Morning breakfast was tasty and filling (get off to a good start).
Would recommend!

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank aaron l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We hope you will return to Charleston and stay with us again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015

Well maintained, comfortable rooms, breakfast was good. Check in efficient- staff friendly and helpful. There is a free trolley nearby but we did not make use of it as only had one night stay. Location good. Rooms could use better lighting.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We hope you will return to Charleston and stay with us again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2015

The hotel is in a downtown location that doesn't command a downtown price which makes for reasonable rates. That said the whole place needs a good sprucing up on the inside and the outside. Our room was small and the bathroom tiny. The staff was friendly and the housekeeping excellent. I would not refuse to stay there again but would also look at the other options in the vicinity.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UGADawg83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEDwtnGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2015

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are helpful for our future improvements and we hope you will try us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location to Downtown, but I wouldn't call it downtown. About a ten minute drive to the main part of the city. Nice outdoor pool. Rooms were nice, breakfast was standard HI Express. Eating area was kept very clean. Nice stay.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Familyoffour9039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEDwtnGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2015

Thank you for your feedback. I regret our location was not as you expected, but hope you found value in our pricing when compared to hotels in the historic district. We hope to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews