We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Seafood, Staff and Scene”
Review of Coast Bar & Grill

Coast Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Coast Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 993 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Established in 2002, and housed in what was originally an indigo warehouse, this Charleston fish house redefines "fresh" from the menu to the decor. COAST features 40-ft ceilings, rustic tin roofs, and paintings from around the world, creating an atmosphere reminiscent of an eclectic beach bar. Enjoy a Peach Blanco Sangria outside on the patio, or a delicious bottle of wine in the spacious bar lined with preserved palm trees. COAST's chefs meet daily with local farmers and fishermen to procure the freshest seafood and produce in the Lowcountry. At the heart of the restaurant is the hickory and oak custom made wood burning grill, a feature you will only find at COAST. The menu incorporates Charleston Classics with our chefs' unique creations. Local favorites include the selection of wood-grilled fresh fish, Seared Rare Tuna, Fish Tacos and the full raw bar. Additional original plates are offered nightly to take full advantage of our city's bountiful local ingredients. A great deal of time and attention goes into compiling a wine selection to match the flavor of our wines to the dynamics of COAST's dishes. The wine list features organic and biodynamic producers. COAST makes every effort to support up-and-coming global wine makers, while simultaneously finding only the highest quality products!
Reviewed 9 July 2017

In our quest for an outstanding seafood dinning experience in Charleston during a recent family vacation, a number of sources pointed to Coast for fresh local fish served in a comfortable but impressive atmosphere. With this in mind we headed to Coast on a Monday without reservations and were promptly shutout as we would have had over an hour wait…so beware…this place is popular making reservations necessary. Later in the same week we arrived bit early for our reservation and we were fortunately able to participate in the happy hour at the bar, which extends to 7. This provided an amazing start with the delicious and very reasonably priced raw oysters and outstanding Prosecco and Mojitos enjoyed by all. After our appetizer and drinks we were promptly seated in the main dinning area that had, if possible, an elegant fish warehouse vibe. Our dinners were similarly impressive; my grilled grouper was moist and flavorful; the adobo shrimp and shrimp and grits entrées were wonderful; and the grilled Monterrey chicken dish for the non-fish eater among us was also very pleasing. The Pomegranate BBQ sauce was a favorite enhancement for several in our party. The sides, which included various grilled vegetables and hearty mashed potatoes, made for outstanding accompaniments to our dinner. Of particular note, our server was extremely accommodating allowing my wife to build a dish that had for a base the Coast Vegetable Plate which was expanded to include grilled shrimp for a modest charge. In addition, we were welcome to make a number of side substitutions that this reasonably priced venue allowed without any upcharge.

For a seafood or fish dinner in Charleston you must visit Coast and don’t forget to make reservations.

Thank GoodToGoinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinsey R, Public Relations Manager at Coast Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hi,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable dining experience with us recently at Coast Bar & Grill and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best,
The Marketing Team
holycityhospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 234 of 1,785 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Waitstaff was very knowledgeable about menu items and attentive to our needs. The Blackened Seafood Chowder was awesome! Shrimp Cocktail was to die for; very fresh! Atmosphere was great...would definitely eat here again!

Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinsey R, Public Relations Manager at Coast Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hi,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable dining experience with us recently at Coast Bar & Grill and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best,
The Marketing Team
holycityhospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

We spent our last night in Charleston at this restaurant and it was amazing. The food was some of the best we had the whole time on vacation. I recommend the "bacon wrapped shrimp" and the "Shrimp & Crab Pasta". The bar also has great drinks. Worth the wait!

Thank Amib1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinsey R, Public Relations Manager at Coast Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hi,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable dining experience with us recently at Coast Bar & Grill and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best,
The Marketing Team
holycityhospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Our 2nd visit in 5 years and still the best Fried Green tomatoes ever. Have sauce on side. Also have good salads an desserts.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinsey R, Public Relations Manager at Coast Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Hi,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable dining experience with us recently at Coast Bar & Grill and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best,
The Marketing Team
holycityhospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

First off, walking up to the restaurant is really cool, very pretty. When you walk in, it's even better. This is a great example of turning the old district into beautiful places that everyone can enjoy.

The wait staff was good as well. They were attentive, but not overbearing. Never had an empty glass, and she even spotted something on a knife as she set it down and got a new one.

I saw a review saying that the workers were "incompetent and rude." My experience was exactly the opposite. Just a heads-up, that usually only happens when the patron is a jerk. It shouldn't happen ever, we all know that. But we are in the South, and we use manners down here. If you're rude to others, expect the same in return.

Now for the food. I love the wood-fire grilled food here. I ordered the plate that came with a small sirloin, salmon, and bacon wrapped shrimp with mashed potatoes and fresh veggies. The portion size was fantastic! I even had left-overs. Everything was prepared exactly as I ordered. I don't know what they do to the bacon-wrapped shrimp, but i could make a meal just out of those! Delicious!

Having just moved here a couple years ago, we are trying different restaurants all the time. This is certainly among the top contenders so far. If you're a local and you haven't been here, you're missing out. If you're a visitor, you will NOT be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinsey R, Public Relations Manager at Coast Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Hi,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable dining experience with us recently at Coast Bar & Grill and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best,
The Marketing Team
holycityhospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coast Bar & Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Coast Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing