We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very surprisingly delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Five Loaves Cafe

Five Loaves Cafe
Ranked #15 of 894 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Eclectic cuisine focusing on locally sourced foods, vegetarian friendly and gluten free menu. Healthy menu with anti-biotic free meats and 13 years of success.
Charleston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very surprisingly delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Food is superb. Looks like a hole in the wall but you can't beat the food or the prizzes. A true gem!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ESCFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    190
    47
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Visited because of tripadvisor reviews. Our party of 3 enjoyed the very attentive service, excellent food and street view ambiance. 2 of us had the chefs seafood special of the day, both were excellent. Nice, small, quaint establishment with excellent service and food.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanfam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Always very good service and interesting options, as well as plenty of fun options for the vegetarian (though I am not one). It is certainly one of my regular spots for a fun soup and sandwich lunch.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Still one of my favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We go to this Cafe for a excellent lunch and they never fail us. Excellent sawdwiches and soup. I usually get the 1/2 sandwich and one of the soups of the day. perfect cobo. Wife usually get one of their signuatur Salads.
All done in good tastes and we continue to return each year.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little River, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We found this restaurant online before visiting Charleston, and since my wife is vegetarian and I am not, the menu offered several choices which appealed to both of us. We walked from the Market area and were beginning to get a bit worried since we seemed to be heading of the beaten path and into an area on the outskirts of the downtown business district. The restaurant was small and quaint, and extremely dated. The food was the saving grace for us. Although we were not at all impressed by the atmosphere or service, we would definitely return here to sample more of their awesome menu items.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Loaves Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Five Loaves Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing