We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing fine dining seafood and dessert”
Review of Peninsula Grill

Peninsula Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Peninsula Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,009 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting Street
Description: Located in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, this AAA Four-Diamond restaurant has been recognized by Departures, Conde Nast Traveler, Food & Wine, The New York Times, Southern Living, Travel + Leisure, Wine Spectator, and others for serving the finest and freshest ingredients sourced locally and globally. With velvet-lined walls in shimmering oyster tones, woven seagrass, and indigenous cypress, the Peninsula Grill Dining Room ambiance is supper club sumptuousness. The Peninsula Grill Champagne Bar is an intimate jewel box space that offers several outstanding champagnes by the glass and a delicious bar menu. The lush Peninsula Grill Courtyard is one of the Charleston's true hidden gems and the most romantic al fresco dining setting in the city. Peninsula Grill also offers private dining. Peninsula Grill is a proud member of Relais & Chateaux, an exclusive collection of restaurants and hotels in romantic destinations around the world. Business casual attire.
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Spectacular dining experience, with amazing food: lobster trio, scallops, trout and for dessert the coconut cake (huge). Service was impeccable, being attentive but not obtrusive. For the amount of food and drinks we had, combined with the overall experience, bill was also quite reasonable. Would definitely return.

2  Thank CDNFamilyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula Grill M, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Thank you for sharing your Peninsula Grill experience. For two decades, through constant examination, we have created a dining experience that has earned us the reputation of being the place to dine in Charleston. We consistently strive to better ourselves and our commitment is evident in each of our guest’s experiences. We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 237 of 2,465 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

Made a reservation in advance & were seated promptly: I ordered the oysters & was a bit disappointed. They were salty & on the small size: but everything got better from there. Service was excellent, drinks very good: it was restaurant week & my boyfriend ordered the seafood trio which was amazing. I had a beet salad & loved it. The highlight for me was the famous Coconut Cake. Beyond fantastic, The cheesecake was delicious too but that cake, interior of the restaurant makes you feel you took a step back in time.garden seating was stunning but too hot for me at this time of year, Very romantic place, great atmosphere & wonderful food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula Grill M, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Thank you for your visit and wonderful review. Peninsula Grill has been serving Charleston and her visitors for the last 20 years earning many awards and accolades. Our commitment to cuisine and service has also earned us a prominent place among the hierarchy of Charleston Restaurants. Peninsula Grill is the restaurant in Charleston for a true dining experience. We look forward to serving you again.
Cheers,
Ryan Groeschel
General Manager
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Celebrating our friend's birthday, we found Joel, our waiter to be very informed about the menu and he steered us to the best scallops we've had in a while; the best part was the multi-layered coconut cake - creamy and delicious. Great experience!

2  Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula Grill M, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to visit Peninsula Grill and try the famous Ultimate Coconut Cake. We are very proud of the success of the cake but still believe that it is best enjoyed after a wonderful meal prepared by Chef Tiamanglo and his staff and served by the best service staff in Charleston. I hope that you are able to enjoy the full experience on your next visit to Charleston.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

We were there this week with our California one snob friend and were wonderfully attended to not only by Chris our server but Dennis the head sommelier who is one of the best, if not the best, in Charleston.
As with Charleston Grill this is a restaurant that is part of a very high-end hotel group, in this case Relais & Chateaux, and you should most definitely go there. Weather permitting, there is both indoor and outdoor dining. And the dining room here is more intimate and quieter but without cozy nooks.
The wine menu is incredibly varied and the prices have great range and we are lucky that Dennis knows us well enough that he always find something that is within our range and matches exactly what we choose to eat that night.
This time we took 2 very special bottles with us, neither of which was on their wine list but both of which Dennis was familiar with so that there was no problem matching. When we go we like to dine and order our courses one at a time as we're ready to eat them. They are fine with that. Not everywhere is. The Beef Carpaccio was Exquisite as always. So are the oysters and lobster 3-ways. The special heirloom tomato salad was a perfect start to a warm late summer night. We followed it up with the lamb porterhouse which is a very thick delicious perfectly cooked job with the filet and with the trio of fresh fish. All of which were absolutely excellent not only in their presentation but in their treatment and their accompanying sides.
This is always one of our favorite evenings never ceases to disappoint. The portions are excellent.. the price is as you would expect for a very top-notch, high-end restaurant, and the service impeccable. Make sure you always take the time and enjoy a dinner here when you're in Charleston.

1  Thank VirginiaCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula Grill M, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Thank you for all of your wonderful compliments! Chris and Dennis do make a visit to Peninsula Grill special. It is hospitality and professional service like theirs that has made Peninsula Grill the place to dine in Charleston. We look forward to your many returns.
Cheers,
Ryan Groeschel
General Manager
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Had another delicious meal here in early July. This is the time time either of us had the trout, but we'll order it again. The whole grain mustard beurre blanc made this dish. And, you must have the amazing coconut cake. Unless you are starving, one piece can easily be shared!

1  Thank 851merim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula Grill M, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Thank you for your return visit. There is no greater compliment! Peninsula Grill has been consistently providing a unique dining experience in Charleston for two decades. Our cuisine, service and hospitality have set the benchmark that other restaurants are judged against. We are thrilled that your experience exceeded your expectations and left you with such a wonderful memory. We look forward to serving you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peninsula Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Peninsula Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing