We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hank's is an institution in Charleston for good reason.”

Hank's Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Hank's Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Church
Description: Located one block from the Charleston City Market in the heart of the Historic District, Hank's Seafood Restaurant has been Voted Best Seafood Restaurant in Charleston for 16 consecutive years. Hank's Seafood is housed in a beautifully restored 100-year-old warehouse and serves the best and freshest seafood with an emphasis on local recipes. The lively community table is very popular with solo travelers.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hank's is an institution in Charleston for good reason.”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Located near the market in the historic district, Hank's is always crowded so be prepared for a wait. We had a party of 8 and everyone loved their food. The community table is fun if you don't mind sitting with other folks.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank taterhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for your kind review. The team is pleased to hear that all of you enjoyed everything. We hope you choose us again when you are back in Charleston. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,962
    772
    318
    77
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Truly Stunning Meal”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Just returned from Hanks and an awesome dinner. Not the first time we've eaten here, but this meal was epic and deserves the kindest of words. Our waiter, Casey, made some incredible recommendations for us and the crabcakes he recommended were perhaps the best that I have had. Served on top of a corn puree, the crabcakes were pure heaven on a plate. The banana pudding for dessert was top flight but could have used a few more bananas. Nevertheless, the service was impeccable and the food was some of the best I have ever had -- kudos to Hank's on elevating food and service to a new level of supremacy.
If you are reading this and like seafood, go to Hank's -- you will love it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TheDeacon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Fantastic! Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This restaurant is clearly a popular place to eat in Charleston, but I would not recommend it. I thought the food and service were nothing special, not bad, but not noteworthy. Our fried fish platter was nothing to write home about. I live in New England and have the opportunity to eat fresh fish a lot. Our dinner was all deep fried and everything tasted the same. Not inexpensive and not memorable. There are many other better places to eat in Charleston.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WickfordAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that your fried platter was not memorable. There are many other options on our menu that we encourage you to try. We hope that you come back again to see what else we have to offer. Thank you for dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I don't eat seafood so I enjoyed the chicken, mashed potatoes and collard greens...perfect!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Terrific! You are not the first to rave about the fried chicken. It truly is a great dish! Thank you so much for coming in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Just wasn't Great”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Dinner last night was ok. Nothing really wrong but not worth going back. Sorry but it was overpriced , and not that fantastic . Server was good !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathleenwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback. The team is disappointed to hear that the food did not live up to your expectations. We sincerely hope that you will decide to give us another try. We would love to have you back to try other dishes. Our menu has been updated recently, and we are very excited about Chef McMahon's additions. Please let us know when you decide to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hank's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hank's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing