We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston's NotSo Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Charleston's NotSo Hostel
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

What a great hostel, good location and great having Kitchens attached to the dorms.

The people and the atmosphere make this place so so good, Nicole who runs it is soo sweet and helpful. Meeting people is always a great part of Hostels and people like Lance, Wade and Nicole will stay in my memories. Also 2 minutes walk to the Hominy grill where I enjoyed the best shrimp and grits ever!!!
Prepare yourself for rubber mattresses and strange chack in times but mostly for a great stay in a cracking Hostel, USA needs to follow this example.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkshire_Mark_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    144
    46
    51
    27
See reviews for
16
102
184
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Great to find a hostel like this in the States. Very relaxed, front door is only open for check in from 5p to 10p, you'll get access codes for the back doors. Home style kitchens and bathrooms (not cramped institutional washrooms), lots of chairs for lounging around the porches and balconies, southern style. Building is old, plank floors and walls that let in all the sounds, but I didn't find it a problem. Quiet hours are enforced after 10pm. Hole-in-the-wall beer bar a couple doors down was enjoyed by all.

Room Tip: Internet works best in the main building. I was in the back building and it was ok for checking emai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenkism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

To those of you that travel to Charleston, be it a native or a foreigner I would highly recommend checking in at on of the two NotSo Hostels. I spent time in both and the set up was meant to mimic that of a family/ group of friends home. And this is exactly what my psyche fell into by the end of my three nights there. The people taking care of the hostels scatter small but effective details within the walls of the hostels - such as a info on all the relevant happenings during the week like gigs, the weather, places to eat etc. The two staff members there (they will know) looked out for me. I'll be back someday. Cats and Unicorns. Andrew

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HEWSONAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

the hostel is a great option for those not wanting to spend oodles on lodging within walking distance of Marian Square or outside of the central area. I organized a college student trip to study public urban open space and this location allowed all to walk, bike or take a trolley throughout the peninsula. The place is spread across three traditional Charleston houses, offers kitchen facilities, and a bagel breakfast. The walls are thin so you may have to ask other guests (or remind yourself) of the nightly quiet time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

First and foremost, these bad reviews are just ridiculous. I stayed at the Annex location and Nicole, the employee there, was really sweet, beyond attentive and she made great travel/sight-seeing recommendations. Her little dog, Saatchi, is adorable and lights up the room. She's very well-behaved!

I stayed in the Monet Room, and it was very clean and comfortable. The bathrooms and common area (living room/kitchen) are also kept very clean. It has a very home-y feel to it.

I would recommend NotSo Hostel to anyone visiting the Charleston area... especially for the price!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are a little noisier, but hey, I didn't mind!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#26 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston's NotSo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston's NotSo Hostel

Property: Charleston's NotSo Hostel
Address: 156 Spring St, Charleston, SC 29403-5220
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in lovely and historic downtown Charleston, the Notso Hostel provides safe, clean and simple accommodations. We offer camping, dorms, privates and more. Guests have access to kitchens, porches and common rooms with Internet and WIFI. Breakfast is included as are linens and parking. Come and have breakfast with travelers from all over the world and explore this beautiful Earth. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Charleston`s Notso Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing