We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Charleston's NotSo Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$512/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Courtyard Charleston Historic District(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$232
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wentworth Mansion(Charleston)
US$485
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveller rating
215
150
50
53
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
150
50
53
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscannon streetspring streetdorm roomshared kitchenking streetother guestshominy grillceiling fandowntown charlestoncommon areasfree trolleyfew blocksannexvikkibunkporchgoodman
Filter
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 497 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Great to find a hostel like this in the States. Very relaxed, front door is only open for check in from 5p to 10p, you'll get access codes for the back doors. Home style kitchens and bathrooms (not cramped institutional washrooms), lots of chairs for lounging around the porches and balconies, southern style. Building is old, plank floors and walls that let in all the sounds, but I didn't find it a problem. Quiet hours are enforced after 10pm. Hole-in-the-wall beer bar a couple doors down was enjoyed by all.

Room Tip: Internet works best in the main building. I was in the back building and it was ok for checking email but not much else, signal was spotty. Registration person said the internet at the Annex is slower than it should be.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tenkism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

To those of you that travel to Charleston, be it a native or a foreigner I would highly recommend checking in at on of the two NotSo Hostels. I spent time in both and the set up was meant to mimic that of a family/ group of friends home. And this is exactly what my psyche fell into by the end of my three nights there. The people taking care of the hostels scatter small but effective details within the walls of the hostels - such as a info on all the relevant happenings during the week like gigs, the weather, places to eat etc. The two staff members there (they will know) looked out for me. I'll be back someday. Cats and Unicorns. Andrew

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HEWSONAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

the hostel is a great option for those not wanting to spend oodles on lodging within walking distance of Marian Square or outside of the central area. I organized a college student trip to study public urban open space and this location allowed all to walk, bike or take a trolley throughout the peninsula. The place is spread across three traditional Charleston houses, offers kitchen facilities, and a bagel breakfast. The walls are thin so you may have to ask other guests (or remind yourself) of the nightly quiet time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

First and foremost, these bad reviews are just ridiculous. I stayed at the Annex location and Nicole, the employee there, was really sweet, beyond attentive and she made great travel/sight-seeing recommendations. Her little dog, Saatchi, is adorable and lights up the room. She's very well-behaved!

I stayed in the Monet Room, and it was very clean and comfortable. The bathrooms and common area (living room/kitchen) are also kept very clean. It has a very home-y feel to it.

I would recommend NotSo Hostel to anyone visiting the Charleston area... especially for the price!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are a little noisier, but hey, I didn't mind!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Most disappointed with our time here!!! the area was not great, & gave the impression that it was not a safe place to be, made worse when leaving our taxi driver seen his mother on Spring street and phoned her to question why she was on the street and told her to take care and be careful..... made worse by the fact that this was 8am!!!!!!

the beds were the worst we slept in throughout our 8week trip, they had rubber mattress's so every move created noise!! And the rooms had no temperature control, our first night it was far too warm, & the following 2 were far too cold with only a light blanket and sheet for cover.

The owner was also not the most friendly person, tried to ask questions about the area etc but she was not interested, and most unhelpful with our enquiries!! made it hard to enjoy the trip & stay!! Also during our time here while sitting in the office/common area the owner discussed personal issues and some of those staying, not necessarily in a bad way but was very unprofessional & rude!!!

Also as there is nobody staying on the property at night those coming in from bars/pubs could be very loud!!!

Finally if you are not animal friendly this place is definitely not for you. the owners dog has full run of the hostel including the bedrooms and kitchen!!!!! it was a nice dog but i would rather have known it was going to be there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kate28152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for your review. The employee that you spoke of in the review is not the owner or manager. There is someone staying at the main location and at the annex every night for safety and protection. We are happy to adjust the temperature when guests request it. I apologize for the employee and that you did not enjoy your stay. I hope you'll come and visit us in the future- our staff is revolving and most guests greatly enjoy their company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews