We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxe Hotel in the Heart of Downtown Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Market Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Luxe Hotel in the Heart of Downtown Charleston”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Market Pavilion Hotel was adorable - plus it had amazing smelling Hermes products in all the rooms. Dinner was fantastic, a welcome change from the yummy-yet-super rich Southern food abundant in the city, as were the drinks. It didn't hurt that I had a $50 food & drink credit! The hotel was super accommodating, my original room looked out on a parking lot and the staff had me in a new room with a great view within 10 minutes. I didn't get much pool time, as the weather wasn't perfect but I was able to enjoy a few hours in the afternoon getting some sun. Great drinks by the pool and a very relaxing atmosphere. I was there for work, and am very glad that I will be back in Charleston in a month for work again, and you can bet I'll be staying at the Market Pavilion.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the market - great people watching!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srjenkins19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketPavilionGM, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you so very much for your kind remarks. I am so glad you enjoyed the total experience; Hotel, Grill 225 and the Paviolion Bar. We appreciate you chosing the Market Pavilion Hotel and look forward to serving you again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,047
    196
    59
    32
    26
See reviews for
228
715
31
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The staff and environment at the Market Pavilion Hotel was great but they use a really crummy cab service. They put us in this company named Ross Transportation...the worst experience ever!!! The Arab driver did not speak English. The vehicle smelled like cigarettes and was still smokey! The driver, who said he owns the company with his brother, was in an old green Dodge van and did not know where to go. He handed us his GPS to punch in an address. Then he had the nerves to charge us $135 to go to Kiawah. We got in town for only $95. What a rip! If you are staying at the Market Pavilion, watch out! They are parked there all the time. Request for a good transportation service where the driver speaks English and car doesn't stink of CIGARETTES!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketPavilionGM, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for your candor. I am very glad you enjoyed the experience here at the hotel. I am sorry to hear of your encounter with that particular Limo service. Feedback like yours is so important to help us determine which vendors will be used here at the hotel. I can assure you the staff will be told not to use that company again. However, I do want to thank you for chosing the Market Pavilion Hotel and do hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2012

A great hotel. Well worth the expense. The service and ambiance make this worth the price. The Grill 225 Restaurant was wonderful.
The hotel has a great location and the rooms are quite lovely. We stayed on the Concierge level which was another bonus.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketPavilionGM, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for your kind assessment. I am very pleased you enjoyed both the hotel and Grill 225. We appreciate you chosing the Market Pavilion Hotel and hope we will have the chance to serve you again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The Market Pavilion is a lovely property in a great location in Charleston. The rooftop restaurant is fabulous with wonderful food an views. The rooms are large and well appointed. We loved the coffee and croissants on each floor for breakfast. People go down the hall in their bathrobes to grab coffee and a little bite. We missed having a place for brunch on Saturday but there are many options in the neighborhood. BUT...we we had an unfortunate experience in the lobby bar where a group of customers were very drunk and nearly ended up in a fist fight - certainly not what you would expect in this caliber of property. The staff were slow to intervene and it was a very uncomfortable situation. Everything else was lovely and I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank incognitodiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketPavilionGM, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you for your candor. I am very glad you enjoyed your visit. Sounds as if you were able to take advantage of all of our amenities. I am sorry for the unfortunate situation you mentioned in our lobby bar. I will discuss this with the staff to review our actions inorder to ensure this type of situation is dealt wit swiftly and without incident. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We had a great view of the Custom House steps from our room and excellent concierge service from Susanne Cohen. Great bar on the roof and walkable to just about everything.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketPavilionGM, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for chosing the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed you visit. I know Susanne will be pleased to know of her recognition. She is one of the city's finest Parlor Concierge. We hope your travels will bring you back very soon and that we will have the chance to serve you again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,801 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,099 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
416 reviews
The Restoration
#6 of 61 in Charleston
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Property: Market Pavilion Hotel
Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's most luxurious hotel. A proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing