We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barksdale House Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$263
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$326/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$225
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jasmine House Inn(Charleston)
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$317/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard Charleston Historic District(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$238
US$217
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (751)
Filter reviews
751 results
Traveller rating
381
225
85
33
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
225
85
33
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking streetfront deskvalet parkingmeeting roomhistoric downtownmeeting streetfree trolleyvalet staffvisitor centerfew blocksbars and restaurantsupper kingwithin walking distancehotel restaurantthe room was nicedefinitely stay here againupon check
Filter
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 751 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2015

I start with a question. "Where were you when the Ravenel Bridge closed down on May 26 from 11AM-7:30PM? My wife and I were stuck in downtown Charleston at 11AM and were not up to a 3-4 hour ride to go home in Mount Pleasant. At around 2PM after we had lunch we decided to look into a trip home. Before we really drove into the downtown of downtown Charleston, we came across the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown. Brand new, clean and neat and modern--it was our sanctuary for several hours and we were treated like guests. We set ourselves up in their Meeting Room bar area and Milana, the bartender/waitress/server/gal friday was as nice as can be. For the next several hours we had cocktails and eventually had a small shared dinner/appetizer--again with wine and beer--it was very good. All in all I felt as if I was a guest and, in a way, I really was--just without a room. If you want a really wonderful hotel stay, close enough to all things downtown Charleston has to offer, but want some of the peace and quiet that downtown downtown Charleston throws at you--this is one fine hotel-a wonderful value with a really friendly staff. My wife and I may not have been overnight guests but we sure felt like it.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank seymour r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2015

Dear rosie1niko,

We are pleased you stopped by our property, although we wish it had been under different circumstances. That was an interesting day for all in Charleston. We thank you for stopping in and enjoying some not so enjoyable time with traffic. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar is a great spot to enjoy breakfast, happy hour, or dinner. Thank you again and we hope you will be back to visit us again.

Best regards,

Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

Milana was amazing, haven't met a nicer person who goes out of her way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the pool is very nice. I am in the service instustry myself and it's hard to impress me, but they know your name, open doors and are very quick to greet you with a smile.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Autumnblake1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2015

Dear Autumnblake1229,

We thank you for choosing to stay and dine with us. We take great pride in the service delivered by our wonderful staff. Milana is one of those great staff members. We appreciate your review and hope you will be back again soon.

Best regards,

Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Our room was very nice and comfortable. The Bell staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the most delicious appetizers prepared by Chef Caleb Horner during happy hour! The breakfast food was very good also.
The bartender was friendly. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2015

Dear Jan V,

We thank you for your recent trip to Charleston when you experienced a Great Stay with us at the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown. We are pleased you enjoyed some appetizers in the Meeting Room Restaurant and Tapas Bar. Our happy hour does have some great specials that we continuously update. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Everything about this updated Holiday Inn was quite good. My only complaint was that the temperatures in the common areas and restaurant were freezing! We found this to be the case all over the South. However, the staff were very accommodating. There was no hassle over putting our motorcycles in their covered parking. A free trolley came to the front door on a frequent schedule. It's about a 1.25 mile walk into town. Perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bkseatridr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2015

Dear Bkseatridr,

We greatly appreciate you choosing our hotel during your trip throughout the south. It pleases us that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be back again in the future.

Best regards,

Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015

This hotel thinks it is more than it is. And pretty much pulls it off. It's a Holiday Inn, but behaves with a certain noblesse oblige. Slightly off the shopping strip, close to the Palace Hotel Bar (for fans of the show, Southern Charm). High ceilings and comfortable, clean rooms. Great little pool, on the second floor. Service is very good, despite an awkward moment with two parking valet attendants both looking for a tip. Sorry, I tip once when receiving my car. In all...very good and I would return.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itsbeenawhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2015

Dear Itsbeenawhile,

We thank you for choosing our property and for your review. We set our goals high and aim to be more than just a hotel. We appreciate your comments and hope you will return to stay with us again.

Best regards,

Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews