We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Healthy and excellent lunch spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bean Company

Black Bean Company
Ranked #199 of 876 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Healthy and excellent lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stop into this resturandt for lunch and were very please with their healthy menue. We had wraps and salads and their special hot sauces. Perfice lunch and would highly recommend.for takeouts for pinics and sit down lunch.See you again soon

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    47
    16
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Absolutely awesome! So good we returned the same day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We ordered vegan wraps each time, so sampled four out of the 8 or 10 on the menu. They were incredibly fresh, very tasty, and really I can't say enough good things. The place is tiny, a bit off the beaten path, but totally worth it. The wraps came with awesome sides - cous cous, pasta salad, and potato salad (not vegan) were excellent. The free water was in a lovely pitcher with strawberry and cucumber slices. It wasn't fancy, but very cute. I wish they had opened closer to where I live!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bonbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic vegetarian options!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

The restaurant is located on James Island on folly road. The decor is an eclectic mix off contemporary furniture and old appliances. the menu offers many healthy vegetarian options. We tried the fajita with tofu and the vegan pad Thai. Although the food doesn't taste authentic it was nevertheless very tasty. We did not try the wraps but we're definitely going to come back here to try them later. They also have an interesting beverage menu. I thought we got a good value for the money. Definitely one of the better vegetarian restaurants in Charleston. I would come here more regularly.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rargula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great option for all family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We went there since we heard a lot of good comments about this place. It actually exceeded our expectations. We went to the one located in James Island. The place is nice, good service and the food was very good. we ordered duck spring rolls, and they were excellent, they actually had real duck meat and a lot! the sauce they came with was delicious. also we ordered vegan pad thai and the international wrap and for our kid we got the mini pad thai. highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Auremil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good vegetarian options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Good vegan and vegetarian options. Sides were rather small. Wraps were delish. Vegan fresh spring rolls were great!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wncrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Bean Company also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Bean Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing