We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed for one evening, and this hotel was exactly what we were looking for. Clean, nice, and centrally located hotel. Charleston is definitely a walking city and this hotel is perfect for walking to all the restaurants, market, everything! Check-in people were super nice and easy, the valet parking once someone came available, was convent and nice even though it was expensive. Rooms were clean with decent views. We enjoyed the hotel immensely!

Room Tip: Be a holiday inn preferred customer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,703
    1,041
    354
    152
    60
See reviews for
793
1,373
88
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We picked the Mills House for the location since this was our first time in Charleston. When we arrived we knew we made the right choice. You are right in the middle of historic district, plenty of restaurants within walking distance, and close to the Market for shopping. The Hotel has plenty of charm and the breakfast was good. The outdoor dining was charming and the bar was nice. The rooms were comfortable, not very big, and the Wi-Fi was included. Our room overlooked Queen Street which had one restaurant after another. We ate diner at 82 Queen and we would Highly recommend. The staff was very friendly but the Valet Parking was slow. If you are in a hurry, plan accordingly. Also, be prepared that it can be noisy in the mornings with the delivery trucks. We would stay there again and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: The Hotel is much Bigger than you think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pingeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danby, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This hotel was so wonderful, quaint and southern. Beautiful decorations, embellishments, and chandeliers; friendly staff and service, and a pool (outdoors) on the second floor. A little on the expensive side, but that's expected with the history, location, and luxury of the Mills House. Many historic sites are within walking distance, even my 9 year old sister didn't complain.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I spent 2 nights here with my family and was a little disappointed by the experience. When you spend more than $250/ night it's fair to expect something special, sadly this was not the case. Room service is provided until 10pm and a call at 9.58pm was met with a surly "closed for the evening"! Unfortunately complimentary parking is not included, and neither is breakfast.
Whilst it is close to most attractions in Charlestons historic district, the hotel itself is average at best in terms of value for money, service and comfort levels. Yes the lobby looks grand, but sadly it ends there!
I found this to be a typical "tourist trap" hotel in that its sole claim to fame is it is one of the oldest buildings in Charleston. Apart from that, it's like any mid level Holiday Inn really.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qualityassured123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
99 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My room was beautifully decorated. Had a lovely view of 2 church spires and the Ravanal Bridge.
The concierge was very helpful and charming. Just stay out of the restaurant!! You could walk to any site in the historice district and I did!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpinyStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,739 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,996 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing