We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
16 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$738
eDreamsUS$738
FindHotelUS$738
Hotels.comUS$738
PricelineUS$738
Trip.comUS$824
View all 21 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,091)
Filter reviews
4,091 results
Traveller rating
2,887
697
288
142
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,887
697
288
142
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club level palmetto cafe thoroughbred club retractable roof beautiful hotel room service luxury hotel bell staff southern charm junior suite rooftop pool within walking distance turn down service king street fitness center heart of downtown meeting street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 4,091 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I recently stayed at the hotel for my third time, though this was the first with my family. My reservation was booked through Amex’s Fine Hotel & Resorts program, so we utilized the late checkout, breakfast for two, and $100 property credit. We also got a free room “upgrade”...more on that later.

Positives: the staff was extremely polite from the first interaction with valet to housekeeping and room service. The location cannot be beat as it is in the heart of downtown with easy access to everything. Breakfast was the only meal we at at the hotel and it did not disappoint! The property was well kept as one would expect. The kids enjoyed the pool, which was at a great location and easy to access.

Negatives: about that room “upgrade”...I really don’t know what qualified the room we got as such. The mattresses must have been original to the hotel’s opening from 1986. It was easily the most uncomfortable bed I had ever slept on. Both beds sank towards the middle. We’re not big people and neither are my kids, so weight was not an issue. The morning after we checked-in, we went to the Palmetto Cafe to enjoy breakfast on the patio - only to be told the patio was closed due to “staffing”. The hostess did her best to reduce our exposure to others, so hats off to her for that. We got room service the rest of the stay.

We typically stay at the Sanctuary (Kiawah Island) when visiting the Low Country, so this was our first time staying downtown Charleston for a vacation. There are other luxury hotels downtown, so we may need to give those a try. I’ll certainly sleep better.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 961jimmyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui Reis, General Manager at Charleston Place, A Belmond Hotel, Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 961jimmyg,

Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay in downtown Charleston. I'm delighted you enjoyed our central location and especially had wonderful interactions with our team. I have made note of your room upgrade and have discussed this with our Front Desk team. In addition, we will be looking further into your comment regarding the mattress. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Next time your travels bring you back to the Lowcountry, we hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,
Rui Reis
Divisional Managing Director
North and Central America, Caribbean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2021

Hotel property is situated near all historical sites, restaurants and shopping areas with easy walking access. The Charleston Grill located in the hotel is a must dine at restaurant in Charleston and as a result very convenient. Service was excellent throughout the hotel property from arrival, reception and club level personnel.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rusticmeik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2021

Belmond Charleston Place is an absolutely stunning hotel in the heart of Charleston, close to everything. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are done in greys with wood armoires, etc. The real stand out here is Alex, the bartender at the club level. Alex is smart, sophisticated, funny, and just fun to be around. He helped us relax and enjoy our vacation, and he knows Charleston like the back of his hand. If you need any type of recommendation, just ask! The Belmond and Alex are exceptional...we will be back.

Room tip: Stay on the 7th or 8th floor for Club Access
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SueR658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui Reis, General Manager at Charleston Place, A Belmond Hotel, Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2021

Dear SueR658,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience. I'm delighted you enjoyed your tmie with us and that you found our team to be knowledgeable and helpful. On behalf of Alex and the entire team, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Rui Reis
Divisional Managing Director
North and Central America, Caribbean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

We stayed at the Belmond and had an amazing time. If you stay on the top two floors you have access to the open bar and free food. For breakfast they served Smoked Salmon, Waffles, Frittatas, Bacon and potatoes. During the day they serve Hors D'oeuvre a and finger sandwichs and serve a hot meal for dinner then dessert which had fresh berries, cheesecake and pie. The lobby is beautiful with a huge chandelier. They also have a inside pool and Jacuzzi which is gorgeous and you have to schedule a swim time. The hotel is in the city so you can pretty much walk everywhere so if you travel to Charleston, keep the Belmond in mind.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank WhereintheusisMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui Reis, General Manager at Charleston Place, A Belmond Hotel, Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2021

Dear WhereintheusisMikey,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I'm delighted you enjoyed the Club Level and all of its amenities, as well as our central location. On behalf of everyone here, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Rui Reis
Divisional Managing Director
North and Central America, Caribbean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2021 via mobile

Rude Staff and Slow Service. If you have reduced staff due to COVID then you should reduce your room bookings. Clearly, they booked the hotel to max capacity and could not handle the food orders both in restaurants or in room dining. When questioned, the staff was surly and and rude. Really? This is the nicest hotel in town? It should not be a Belmont or above 3 star.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TravelingwthKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rui Reis, General Manager at Charleston Place, A Belmond Hotel, Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2021

Dear TravelingwthKids,

First of all, I want to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. It is always our intention for each and every guest to have an amazing experience. I welcome the opportunity to discuss our stay with you in more detail so that I can find a way to make it right. Please give me a call at 843-722-4074 at your earliest convenience.

Kind regards,
Rui Reis
Divisional Managing Director
North and Central America, Caribbean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews