We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
79
49
17
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
49
17
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aveda products gold elite faux wood executive lounge hotel was recently renovated great location front desk self parking rooftop pool wall paper platinum member rooms are a bit small worked perfectly comfortable hotel wedding weekend unique hotel thin walls
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

This is a very average hotel, in the center of a wonderful city. Charleston is fraught with hotels that pride themselves on luxury amenities and world class service. This hotel was priced in the same range as some of the finest hotels in Charleston and my Marriott loyalty led me to booking a room for my family on a recent short stay. There was nothing significantly wrong with this hotel, but in comparison to hotels at a similar price point, the service didn't match up. Our room was appointed more like a Residence inn or Courtyard Marriott property than a Renaissance. The restaurant in the lobby had me wait 15 minutes for a table when there were many empty tables inside. Once seated, the food was good, not great. The wonderful part of this hotel is its location. It is incredibly walkable to shopping and dining. Unless there was a promotion with a heavily discounted rate, I am unlikely to return to this hotel. There are simply too many other great options in Charleston.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Cory P,

Thank you for being our guest at the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel! We are glad you found our great location just moments away from King Street and other attractions to be perfect for your plans. However, we are sorry for not meeting some of your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and invite you for your return visit to provide you with a more favorable stay.

Brian Wander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Stayed 4 nights in quiet room with a king-sized bed. Never heard street noise, but did hear the guy in the next room sneezing one night. The a/c worked well, and the bathroom was nicely outfitted. Small fridge was great, but didn't use the coffee maker. Would definitely recommend this place.
The staff at the reception desk were very hospitable on check-in, and helped me with validating my parking: parking garage across the street. Receptionist on check-out wasn't having a good day, but thankfully I just wanted a printed receipt.
The bar looked nice, and I wasn't able to check out the pool. Maybe next time.
I also liked the varied "art" pieces around the hotel, and the framed pictures in my room. Not sure about the bunny wallpaper in the bathroom, though. Ha, ha!

Room Tip: Rooms on the long hallways might be slightly quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear John2728,

Thank you for your fantastic review and for all the wonderful things that you had to say about the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel. We love that you could experience one of America's most unique cities and enjoy our Southern hospitality. Thanks again for being our guest, and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Brian Wander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

I was right next to the gym for a few nights. Between what sounded like people dropping barbells on the gym floor from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m., and the constant closing of ultra-heavy room doors, which sounded dropped barbells, sleep was hard. Also not helping was that the pillows are thin, king-sized, and down - and therefore hard to stack on top of your heard to block out unwanted sound.

Still, the location is excellent, the toiletries are high quality, and the hotel has other fine features. Just bring ear plugs and walk for miles before bed in order to ensure a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank osgal0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Dear osgal0,

Thank you for being our guest at the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel and for sharing your review. It is nice to know you had a good stay with us and liked our convenient location and well-appointed accommodations. We are sorry you were disturbed by noise from other guests of the hotel. We wish we had the opportunity to address the issue while you were here as we would have done our best to ensure you were comfortable. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will come back to see us soon.

Brian Wander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

Not only is this a wonderful,clean property, the bar and bartender is excellent. Paige is really friendly and makes great cocktails. Very accommodating. I will be back in November and will be sure to spend some time at the bar. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hallerpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Dear hallerpup,

Thank you for your fantastic review of the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel. We are glad you thoroughly enjoyed our property and especially appreciated our beautiful bar. Also, we will share your compliments with Paige for a job well done. Thanks for being our guest, and we look forward to your next stay.

Brian Wander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Nicely appointed rooms in a great location. Linens are soft. Pillows comfy. Staff are so professional and accommodating. Bonus: endless supply of Dum-Dums (lollipops) by the elevators and complimentary ice cream in the afternoon.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear Heather P,

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel. We love knowing our guests enjoyed our newly refreshed rooms and suites that boast a blend of contemporary and vintage furnishings, accented with Charleston's famous haint blue ceilings. We are also delighted to learn that you were thoroughly spoiled by our associates. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable stay.

Brian Wander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews