We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent outing”

Charleston Bicycle Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Private and group 1, 3, & 6 day bicycle tours of Charleston,Beaufort,Savannah and their environs.Includes luxury accommodations,excellent meals,licensed guide,van support,and fun/small groups. Come cycle past historic homes on quiet streets through quaint towns and surrounding islands and experience the charm of the Low country shown by an 11th generation South Carolinian.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Charleston Bicycle Tours provided our group of five not only with a wonderful day of cycling but a treasure trove of information about the area we were exploring. They hosted a lovely picnic lunch at the end of our ride with very good food and charming company. We were only sorry that time would not permit us to more days cycling and exploring. Highly recommend.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank yolanda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charleston on Bicycles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I had not been to Charleston and thought what better way to see it than from a bicycle. We picked the month of October mainly for weather reasons and also because we needed the rest before the holidays were quickly upon us. Through our research we found Charleston Bicycle Tours and were impressed with their website and all that they had to offer. Our accommodations were beautiful and perfectly located and the hotel staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. Alex and Karen provided us detailed plans for the bicycle riding during the day as well as each meal for each day. Breakfast was delicious, lunch was fun and dinner was spectacular. Alex and Karen provided a wonderful selection at several different restaurants and we even enjoyed a "homemade meal" by Alex at the one and only tea plantation in the United States. Alex's knowledge of the city and the history behind it is phenomenal. Alex and Karen's hospitality, organization and planning were exceptional. We had a great time with them as our guides and new found friends and we would definitely do this again

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience--thoroughly enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We were on a 3 day trip with Charleston Bicycle Tours on October 3, 2011. Our experience as first time visitors to the area could not have been better. Alex and Karen were great hosts and guides both in Charleston and in the surrounding islands and coastal area near Charleston. Great food, great feeling among our group and all details were taken care of for us.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank Herb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An amazing experience far exceeding a typical bike tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

From start to finish, everything about this wonderful privately guided bike tour was perfect. Alec & his wife, Karen, crafted a one-of-a-kind privately guided bike tour that included snipets of rich Charleston history infused with beautiful scenery. To totally customize our cycling trip, Alec contacted me to find out about food preferences & things we wanted to see while touring. During our day of cycling, at exactly the right "junctures", the sagwagon appeared to direct us toward our next turn or location, thereby eliminating our need for map reading or "wondering" where to turn or go next, totally freeing us up to enjoy the scenery & our day of riding. Upon exiting a wonderful tour of the only tea plantation in America, we were greeted by a gorgeous & lush picnic table topped with red gingham cloth, white china & a gorgeous bouquet of fresh field-like flowers. The meal was specially prepared by Alec using all organically grown fruits & vegies, many of which he had purchased from a local Charleston organic farm that morning. My friends & I were "ringing in" our 50th birthdays, & doing it with Alec & Karen, in the way that they "provided for us", created a life-long memory & a wonderful entry into what is the beginning of the next best chapter in my life. If you want a one-of-a-kind "experience" that encompasses stories & details of rich local history, being made to feel special & "cared about", beautiful scenery, & a wonderful cycling activity, Alec & Karen are your go-to persons!

Monica.....

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinsdale, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip that exceeded our expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We had a wonderful time with Alex and Karen Graham and thoroughly enjoyed Charleston. From the moment we stepped off the plane, they took great care to ensure every detail was taken care of so we would have a great time. Alex gave us personal attention and tailored the tour to meet our needs; providing a wonderful balance of biking, a tour of Charleston and an education about it's history and culture. Alex's knowledge of Charleston's history is amazing and we enjoyed all of his amusing stories. The food and accommodations were first class. Our favorite was the gourmet lunch Alex and Karen personally prepared which we enjoyed while picnicking at the Charleston Tea Plantation. We were treated like family and plan to make a return trip in the future with our sons. We highly recommend Charleston Bicycle Tours. Thank you Alex and Karen for a fabulous trip. Larry & Julie

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charleston Bicycle Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Bicycle Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing