We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,152)
Filter reviews
1,152 results
Traveller rating
976
111
39
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
976
111
39
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews picnic basket full kitchen breakfast basket king street wine and cheese each morning boutique hotel exposed brick cookies studio suite washer and dryer rooftop restaurant the general manager breakfast delivered separate bedroom hardwood floors great amenities
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 1,152 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Centrally located, newly expanded, tastefully-decorated spacious rooms, friendly staff and a great rooftop bar! It's a winning combination!

We've visited Charleston several times but only recently discovered The Restoration. Love this spot

A block from King Street and just a few blocks from the old French Quarter, this hotel is perfectly located. Our room was on the 6th floor - large, bright and comfortably furnished.

Staff was very friendly. Complimentary continental breakfast baskets are delivered to your room - just pick what you want the night before.

Great rooftop bar with views of the city in all directions.

Only area of improvement-housekeeping didn't clean our room the first day until 5 pm, after we'd returned to rest after a full day out.

We love this spot and will be back next year for what's becoming an annual visit for the house and garden festival.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LarchFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klfriedrichs, Front Office Manager at The Restoration, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a little feedback about your stay. It's nice to know you enjoyed your stay so much. Between the breakfast basket, the restaurant and the rooms, they are all winning combinations!! I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with housekeeping though. It's not normal for rooms to not be serviced unless specified otherwise so I apologize that happened to you. If you wouldn't mind emailing me with your dates of stay and possibly your room number so we can follow up with housekeeping. It won't take back your lack of service but it will hopefully help us improve for future guests.

kfriedrichs@therestorationhotel.com

Thank you in advance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

I'm not a fan of franchise hotels that shuffle you through their routines and the The Restoration certainly is apart from that mess. This was our second time staying at The Restoration and we really enjoyed it. All rooms are unique and very clean. We had a 2 bedroom suite this time and it had a very large living room with nice rooftop deck. The location is perfect as it is it just on the southern edge of the tourist/shopping zone. If you are into that, go north one block and you are on King Street but if you want to get away from that, grab one of their bikes and head south/east toward the battery (little traffic beautiful homes to see).

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dwinsness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klfriedrichs, Front Office Manager at The Restoration, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

First, thank you for being a returning guest! There is no better compliment and we appreciate the loyalty. Second, thank you for taking the time to share your love of The Restoration with fellow travelers. Great tip about the shopping too. It's nice to be close to the shops but far enough so it's not chaotic around the hotel. I'm so happy that you love our property so much and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Outstanding experience in central Charleston located hotel. Room was very spicy with separate sitting room, well equipped kitchenette and luxury bathroom. Great breakfast selection that is delivered in basket in room. Free wifi in hotel. Rooftree with nice views, and good selection of drinks and food/snacks. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klfriedrichs, Front Office Manager at The Restoration, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thank you for the kind words! So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Located in the heart of Charleston.We stayed in one of the suites. Nice open floor plan with a full kitchen and exposed brick added to the decor. Rooms were very clean. They had a happy hour for the guests with a cheese assortment and beverages . The roof top pool and bar area was nice. We had a early flight the next morning so they had us fill out our breakfast order and when we were ready to leave the hotel it was delivered to our room. They also had bikes if you wanted to use to tour the city. Definitely well worth the money just to step back into time.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klfriedrichs, Front Office Manager at The Restoration, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Susan R! I'm so happy to hear that you loved our hotels and amenities so much! The breakfast is really special and creates a pleasant start to a Charleston morning. Then the wine and cheese is a great way to end the night. I'm glad you found value in all of our complimentary amenities. Thank you again for the kind words and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Hotel is central and staff is nice but it suffers from a lack of flow physically. You feel a piece of cheese will be earned after the maze of up and down. Nice wine and cheese in the evening but it is a narrow area where you congregate. But it was a restoration as the name implies.

Our room was an impressive suite and quiet. Very strict on check out time, which was surprising given what we paid for a room. For my money there are better hotels especially given the hoteliers charge New York and Tokyo rates.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank elleg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klfriedrichs, Front Office Manager at The Restoration, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thank you elleg53 for providing feedback about your recent stay. I'm sad to hear that you didn't absolutely love our property but I'm glad that you found the suite quiet and comfortable. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future. Thank you again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews