We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Odd location, good quality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Odd location, good quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

The location of this hotel is a little odd, sitting on basically a little traffic island surrounded by three roads. For our stay, the parking lot was fine, but I can see how it could fill up if the hotel was full, as there clearly aren't as many spaces as there are rooms.

As for the hotel itself, great updated rooms with flat screen TVs, sofas, and good workspace. The exercise room left a bit to be desired (but don't they all?), as the treadmill didn't work and the weight machine was downright scary. We thought about swimming, but the pool was a bit cloudy for our liking.

Breakfast was about what I've come to expect from a Comfort hotel, with waffles, sausage, and eggs. However, there was no fruit or yogurt at this one. Staff was very friendly, and the hotel really isn't that far away from downtown, not more than about 15 minutes, I wouldn't think, and there is a decent mall across the highway. Took us about 20 minutes to get to the beach.

Room Tip: If traveling in the high season, show up early in the afternoon to make sure you get a parking spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sestevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for your review and your nice comments about our rooms and our friendly staff. We are proud of our hotel quality and our employees and we are so glad you approved. I am so sorry about your experience with the fitness room. The treadmill worked but there is a safety key which must be in place for the unit to turn on. While it explains this on the treadmill, your review suggested we needed to make that clearer so we have added an additional instruction on the face of the treadmill. Thank you for helping us to communicate better with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    245
    56
    17
    10
See reviews for
310
311
32
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

The room was large with a set of sofas and a table. There was a large writing desk and a flat TV and a coffee maker. There was a free internet, so we could check mails and work even we were on vacation. I liked the room especially because there was a partition between the beds and a living room. I could make coffee and read while my husband was still sleeping. Breakfast was delicious, too. Only downside of this hotel was the location. I knew it when I booked, but I thought I should have paid more and stayed in downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wagyuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed here for two nights in December. Good basic accommodation - absolutely no problems with rooms. Location is a few miles from the old town, which really didn't suit us 100% - but that was our choice as all the better located, and nice, properties were fully booked when we were visiting.
Only small problem was the car park. I noticed another reviewer commented on this also. They must have a problem with insufficient spaces for vehicles when the hotel is full. I had to park kerbside near the entrance as all the allocated spaces were used and may vehicles were having to improvise and find new parking spaces wherever they could.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petereturra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
301 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Front desk was not so attentative. Rooms are good and updated. Coffee is not so good!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Virginia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Everything about this Comfort Suites was wonderful - except the coffee, which was uniformly and inexplicably dreadful. The bold, the regular, the decaf -- all undrinkable even with cream and sugar and moreso if you like it black as I do! So in reality I'd give this one 4-3/4 stars if that were possible.

Now, with that said, we were really, really happy with this Comfort Suites. The location suited us perfectly, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room we had (double with two queen beds) was large, clean and very comfortable. In addition to the beds there was a sofa and armchair, a coffee table, a mini-fridge and a microwave. The bathroom was spacious with the only drawback being that the shower head was so high that I could barely reach it on tiptoe to adjust it.

Charleston was a madhouse (one week before the Republican primary, a marathon, a bicycle race and Restaurant Week) and the place was full, but we never had the first problem with noise - that was very nice indeed. The rates were very reasonable. We spent two nights and were quite pleased with our choice (thanks TA reviewers).

Please note, if you are approaching from the south on Route 17, getting to the front drive can be a bit tricky since one cannot make a left directly into the facility. A left at the light before, then two immediate rights and the entrance is right there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MadArchaeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#26 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Property: Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-6287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#13 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing