We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd location, good quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Ranked #32 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The location of this hotel is a little odd, sitting on basically a little traffic island surrounded by three roads. For our stay, the parking lot was fine, but I can see how it could fill up if the hotel was full, as there clearly aren't as many spaces as there are rooms.

As for the hotel itself, great updated rooms with flat screen TVs, sofas, and good workspace. The exercise room left a bit to be desired (but don't they all?), as the treadmill didn't work and the weight machine was downright scary. We thought about swimming, but the pool was a bit cloudy for our liking.

Breakfast was about what I've come to expect from a Comfort hotel, with waffles, sausage, and eggs. However, there was no fruit or yogurt at this one. Staff was very friendly, and the hotel really isn't that far away from downtown, not more than about 15 minutes, I wouldn't think, and there is a decent mall across the highway. Took us about 20 minutes to get to the beach.

Room Tip: If traveling in the high season, show up early in the afternoon to make sure you get a parking spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sestevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you for your review and your nice comments about our rooms and our friendly staff. We are proud of our hotel quality and our employees and we are so glad you approved. I am so sorry about your experience with the fitness room. The treadmill worked but there is a safety key which must be in place for the unit to turn on. While it explains this on the treadmill, your review suggested we needed to make that clearer so we have added an additional instruction on the face of the treadmill. Thank you for helping us to communicate better with our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

676 - 680 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2012

The room was large with a set of sofas and a table. There was a large writing desk and a flat TV and a coffee maker. There was a free internet, so we could check mails and work even we were on vacation. I liked the room especially because there was a partition between the beds and a living room. I could make coffee and read while my husband was still sleeping. Breakfast was delicious, too. Only downside of this hotel was the location. I knew it when I booked, but I thought I should have paid more and stayed in downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wagyuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed here for two nights in December. Good basic accommodation - absolutely no problems with rooms. Location is a few miles from the old town, which really didn't suit us 100% - but that was our choice as all the better located, and nice, properties were fully booked when we were visiting.
Only small problem was the car park. I noticed another reviewer commented on this also. They must have a problem with insufficient spaces for vehicles when the hotel is full. I had to park kerbside near the entrance as all the allocated spaces were used and may vehicles were having to improvise and find new parking spaces wherever they could.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petereturra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Front desk was not so attentative. Rooms are good and updated. Coffee is not so good!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Everything about this Comfort Suites was wonderful - except the coffee, which was uniformly and inexplicably dreadful. The bold, the regular, the decaf -- all undrinkable even with cream and sugar and moreso if you like it black as I do! So in reality I'd give this one 4-3/4 stars if that were possible.

Now, with that said, we were really, really happy with this Comfort Suites. The location suited us perfectly, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room we had (double with two queen beds) was large, clean and very comfortable. In addition to the beds there was a sofa and armchair, a coffee table, a mini-fridge and a microwave. The bathroom was spacious with the only drawback being that the shower head was so high that I could barely reach it on tiptoe to adjust it.

Charleston was a madhouse (one week before the Republican primary, a marathon, a bicycle race and Restaurant Week) and the place was full, but we never had the first problem with noise - that was very nice indeed. The rates were very reasonable. We spent two nights and were quite pleased with our choice (thanks TA reviewers).

Please note, if you are approaching from the south on Route 17, getting to the front drive can be a bit tricky since one cannot make a left directly into the facility. A left at the light before, then two immediate rights and the entrance is right there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MadArchaeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
2.2 km away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,273 reviews
2.3 km away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 61 in Charleston
260 reviews
0.5 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
6.5 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-6287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#13 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: €78 - €166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing