We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Nearby Hotels
US$366
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$416/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$379
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Charleston Historic District(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$221
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
US$207
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (939)
Filter reviews
939 results
Traveller rating
565
275
65
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
565
275
65
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskindoor poolchoice hotelsdowntown charlestonsales managercitadel mallthe breakfast areafolly beachshort driveroad noisean easy drivebusiness centersitting areawould stay here againbeds were comfortablehistoric districtnice stay
Filter
Updating list...
707 - 712 of 939 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The room was large with a set of sofas and a table. There was a large writing desk and a flat TV and a coffee maker. There was a free internet, so we could check mails and work even we were on vacation. I liked the room especially because there was a partition between the beds and a living room. I could make coffee and read while my husband was still sleeping. Breakfast was delicious, too. Only downside of this hotel was the location. I knew it when I booked, but I thought I should have paid more and stayed in downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wagyuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed here for two nights in December. Good basic accommodation - absolutely no problems with rooms. Location is a few miles from the old town, which really didn't suit us 100% - but that was our choice as all the better located, and nice, properties were fully booked when we were visiting.
Only small problem was the car park. I noticed another reviewer commented on this also. They must have a problem with insufficient spaces for vehicles when the hotel is full. I had to park kerbside near the entrance as all the allocated spaces were used and may vehicles were having to improvise and find new parking spaces wherever they could.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petereturra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Front desk was not so attentative. Rooms are good and updated. Coffee is not so good!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Everything about this Comfort Suites was wonderful - except the coffee, which was uniformly and inexplicably dreadful. The bold, the regular, the decaf -- all undrinkable even with cream and sugar and moreso if you like it black as I do! So in reality I'd give this one 4-3/4 stars if that were possible.

Now, with that said, we were really, really happy with this Comfort Suites. The location suited us perfectly, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room we had (double with two queen beds) was large, clean and very comfortable. In addition to the beds there was a sofa and armchair, a coffee table, a mini-fridge and a microwave. The bathroom was spacious with the only drawback being that the shower head was so high that I could barely reach it on tiptoe to adjust it.

Charleston was a madhouse (one week before the Republican primary, a marathon, a bicycle race and Restaurant Week) and the place was full, but we never had the first problem with noise - that was very nice indeed. The rates were very reasonable. We spent two nights and were quite pleased with our choice (thanks TA reviewers).

Please note, if you are approaching from the south on Route 17, getting to the front drive can be a bit tricky since one cannot make a left directly into the facility. A left at the light before, then two immediate rights and the entrance is right there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MadArchaeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We booked a park and ride for our Cruise out of Charleston. We had a group of 45 staying at The Comfort Suites West of the Ashley. From the time we first started working with Jing Butler, it was the perfect fit for our group. The information Jing gave us was 100% right. At check in Erica was the perfect welcoming host as she was friendly and funny, warm and caring. All of our rooms were maintained in an excellent manner. With the size of our group there was somthing for everyone, indoor swimming for the kids and workout equipment to help work off the excellent hot breakfast for the adults. Jing coordinated the park and ride for our large group to perfection. This is the only way to go. No worries and all the cars were perfectly safe upon our return. We are talking about cruisin out of Charleston again and a huge factor of that is returning to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley. They made us feel welcome and part of their family

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeIsGood1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews