We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Southern charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Governor's House Inn
Ranked #3 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Elegant Southern charm”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We will definitely return to the Governor's House which is within walking distance of every fabulous Charleston restaurant, shop,not to mention historic neighborhood, church, and the Battery! We stayed in the Jefferson Suite---gorgeous, comfortable, private. Afternoon tea was delicious, generous, and elegant. Breakfast was a gourmet delight. The staff was helpful, attentive, but never intrusive. If you want to enjoy downtown Charleston, the Governor's House is a perfect choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retiredandlovingit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    61
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
36
316
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed here one night during our honeymoon and we enjoyed it so much we will definitely go back! The inn is gorgeous and clean, the location is perfect, and the staff was great!

Room Tip: The Middleton Suite is worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ttroy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and I cannot say one bad thing about this place. We stayed in the Magnolia room. It was a bit of a hike up to the 3rd floor (we knew that when we booked the room) but the room was much larger then we thought it would be and the bathroom was very big also. Every single one of the staff members that we encountered were friendly and always wanted to know if there was something they could help us with. The breakfast was very tasty and it was presented so nicely when it was brought up to our room (3 flights of stairs!). After a long day of sight seeing our room was always spotless when we returned. The atmosphere was great there and this a place I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My husband and I loved our stay at the Governor's House Inn. I think the staff wrote the book on hospitality. They helped us with our every need. It was restaurant week and very difficult to get reservations anywhere. They found a great place for us to have dinner! We enjoyed having afternoon tea on the veranda. The weather was comfortable, even in January. The Inn is beautiful and the amenities are fantastic! I hope to be able to visit again soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachfan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

After negotiating a wonderful 4 night packlage with Mary, the manager, we were more than pleased with the property, the room, the location and best of all the comradery of the guests and staff. My wife loved discussing the restaurants and landmarks. The breakfasts and other snacks were of the finest quality and service. Just a luxurious stay.

Room Tip: Talk to mary about your preferences, there are 11 different choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,825 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 62 in Charleston
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 62 in Charleston
2,017 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,141 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Governor's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governor's House Inn

Property: The Governor's House Inn
Address: 117 Broad St, Charleston, SC 29401-2435
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Governor's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's House Inn offers the rare pleasures, aristocratic comforts and romantic grandeur of a pre-revolutionary National Landmark. We are the only inn in America where you can sleep where a signer of the Declaration of Independence once lived. With magnificent drawing rooms, boudoir staterooms, and expansive veranda porches, it is no wonder that the former Governor's mansion was proclaimed the most glamorous of Charleston inns by Travel Holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Governor's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s House Hotel Charleston
Governors Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing