We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #10 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We received a lot of great service here, attending to a WiFi problem, helping me find an antacid at 6am, carrying bags etc. We love this place and although we were only there for one night we will definitely return for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clipper108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Please do!! Our staff goes above and beyod in order to make sure each of our guests' needs are attended to. We look forward to your return, and hope next time you can make it a longer stay.

Planters Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,269
    213
    87
    29
    10
See reviews for
218
1,038
37
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor Heights, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in late January--at the time of the primary--for a business meeting I had to attend, and then we stayed over for an extra day in Charleston just for the two of us. This is a really lovely hotel, with very nice rooms, comfortable bed, great atmosphere and charm, and perfect location. More important, the people running the hotel and working there were very nice, very warm and accommodating as well as efficient. Kara and Chad at the front desk stood out for us, and also the servers in the excellent restaurant (Peninsula Grill) located in the hotel. It was a great place to stay, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again when we return to Charleston.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel. Kara and Chad were excited to recieve the recognition they so deserve. They are just of a few of the amazing staff we have here andeach of them take the same pride in a job well done. Hope your next stay you will be soon.

Planters Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel restaurant was definitely a highlight at the Planters Inn. Perhaps I skimped on the room..a small corner with two doubles for the three of us...would recommend going for a suite if possible. Somewhat dated feel but lacking the old time amenities...a more private lounge and perhaps an honor bar would improve the relatively uninteresting lobby area immensely. Overall pleasant, great location, and not enough time for all the restaurants. Only bad reaction was to a breakfeast of shrimp and grits had elsewhere. Always loved Charlestown but was suprised after long hiatus to find a more college bar atmosphere on weekends. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 177Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to share your thoughts on Planters Inn. Peninsula Grill has been voted Charleston's best for 11 years running. We have many room types..each room a little different then the next. Please come back again and try one of are larger rooms.

Carolyn Stout
Corporate Director of Revenue
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We chose this hotel because we had a very favorable experience at the same named hotel in Savannah, GA. We found out that the hotels are not affiliated despite the same name and the same logo. After reading the reviews we had very high expectations and we were not disappointed. From the moment we pulled up in our car the service was top notch. We were greeted and taken to our room in no time. The room was very comfortable and traditionally southern adding to our experience. The only minor drawback was the way the bath tub and shower was designed. There was a wall dividing the sink from the tub that covered half the tub from the bathroom, everytime we wanted to turn on the shower we would have to reach pretty far and get out of the way quickly so that we wouldn't get wet before the water was at the temperature of our liking (this was an issue in room 108, not sure if it's the same in other rooms, being that we had a corner room). The other draw back was that there was no gym on site, but we were told we could use the Double Tree Hotel's gym at no additional cost. Another pleasant advantage of staying at Planters Inn was the presence of the Peninsula Grill: the four star four diamond dining establishment. The ambiance was very romantic, the food was amazing and the service was exceptional. The servers all helped each other out (great team work) which made the experience that much nicer. Everything we ordered was outstanding but both our favorites were the mushroom soup and the coconut cake and we can't go without adding that their bread was also delicious and right out of the oven fresh. When we checked out of the Inn we were able to have them keep our luggage in the car until we were finished site seeing for the day. We definitely plan on returning to Chatleston and when we do we wont hesitate to stay at the Planters Inn. A big thank you to everyone at the Planters Inn and the Peninsula Grill restaurant. We can't wait to come back and see you again:)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepstermia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
And we will be waiting! Our loyal customers, such as yourself, are why we do what we do. Our goal is to make every guest want to make Planters Inn their home away from . Also just to let you know every room in the historic 1844 buliding is unique. We look forward to your return and thanks for your comments. I shared them with our Peninsula Grill staff as well!

Planters Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
125 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel was very nice, great location, and the rooms were excellent, but i did not feel it had the quaintness or charm people spoke of and that I was looking for, nor did I feel it was worth the price. That said, the location cannot be beat. You are in the middle of the old town near lots of restaurants and shops. But the charm people speak of is forced. The building is not an old building but one that was built to look like what you would expect in the south. Some of the hotels a little farther down the street looked far more charming and far less in price (although I did not see the rooms so I cannot speak of their quality)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with others on Trip Advisor. Our Historic Inn was built in 1844 and is true to Charleston Charm. We do however have a building that was added in 1996 that I believe you may have stayed in, and while it has all the same furnishings, it does not have the historic relevance as the main inn. I hope, should you return to Charleston, we make sure your stay in is the Historic 1844 building.

Planters Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,727 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
1,960 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
1,312 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 60 in Charleston
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Property: Planters Inn
Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing