We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$199
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$263
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$308/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 24/07
US$213
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$339/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Courtyard Charleston Historic District(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (652)
Filter reviews
652 results
Traveller rating
357
214
44
28
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
214
44
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastking streetwine and cheesegreat locationfree sherryevening sherryfour poster bedconvenient parkinggas fireplacehistoric hoteltwo room suitewithin walking distanceyogurtmodern amenitieshistoric charlestonhappy hourhigh ceilings
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 652 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2016

While conveniently located, the rooms of this hotel is so tired, they are yawning. It is a "historic" hotel, which means it feels old, especially since the linens and bathroom was quite dated. Happily, it provides off street parking, a nice happy hour, and breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mamabeth60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast, wine and cheese, and location of the Kings Courtyard Inn. We take each TripAdvisor comment very seriously, so I am sorry to read that you were displeased with your room. While our rooms are designed to reflect the ancestry of Charleston, we are constantly updating to maintain modern conveniences. We recently completed renovations throughout the property updating our bathrooms with new tile, new fixtures, and new marble countertops. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

This place is beautiful! We checked in late on a Friday and were there to celebrate my husband's birthday and found out we got upgraded to a Suite which was a nice surprise! The check is process was very easy and smooth. The building was just beautiful and a lot larger than it looks. Very true to the time it was built, and seems to have the original floors, which makes it a little squeaky.

Our room was awesome, pictures below. My only real complaint about this place is the walls are super thin, so you hear everything. I guess that's expected because the building is super old, but just something to be aware of!

We will definitely be staying here again, friendly staff, great wine hour, and the location is AWESOME!

Room Tip: Get a Suite!
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Thank you for your review of the Kings Courtyard Inn. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the historic charm of our centrally located hotel. We are thrilled that you were pleased with your suite as well as our complimentary amenities. Complimentary breakfast, wine and cheese, and 24 hour concierge service are just a few small touches we love to offer our guests. I apologize for the noise issues you experienced. We are sorry we didn't have the opportunity to know about this until after your departure. For future reference, please let any member of our staff know about any issue you experience, as we strive for 100% guest satisfaction. Thank you for your constructive criticism as well as your compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Charleston.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

The Kings Courtyard Inn is conveniently located but the walls are paper thin. You can hear everything. Bring earplugs even if you are a heavy sleeper like me. The wifi is slow as well. Room is on the smaller side. ........................................

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jennifer h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Thank you for sharing feedback about your recent stay. We sincerely apologize that you were displeased with your room. We strive to provide a restful night’s sleep for our guests, so I am sorry to read that other guests disturbed your stay. Our rooms are sound insulated, so I am surprised to read that you encountered unwanted noise during your visit. I appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention and I will personally see that these issues are resolved. We appreciate your feedback as this guides us to 100% guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Nice room, very friendly staff and concierge. Made restaurant reservations after the recommendation. All excellent.
Hotel is unique as the name implies All rooms are located on various floors around a courtyard.
Old hotel with modern amenities. Super location right in the heart of the historic part of the city.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

We were visiting Charleston for the weekend and brought our dog. He is normally allowed in other hotels but we pay a huge fee and the hotel doesn't do anything to make him feel at home. The Kings Courtyard staff was wonderful -- everyone was polite to us and they even had extra bowls, treats, a toy, and a list of dog park and dog-friendly restaurants. There are a couple of outside patio areas for breakfast so he could also join us. The room was beautiful and comfortable; a new bathroom with a walk-in shower, plenty of towels and really pretty smelling soap, conditioner & lotion. We were on the 2d floor so we didn't have any problems with noise; I did wonder if we were loud on the hardwood floors and if so, why there wasn't a rug (or two) to protect our downstairs neighbors from our noise. All in all, a great location, wonderful staff, good breakfast w/longer weekend hours, easy self-parking, and a perfect room! We'll be back!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn. We aim to create a welcoming environment for all of our guests – dogs included, so I am happy to read that you and your dog enjoyed the amenities provided. We are happy that you enjoyed the accommodations and helpful staff; we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews