We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you can get a deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Elliott House Inn
Ranked #33 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great if you can get a deal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We ended up staying here on a Friday night because we got a pretty good deal on Priceline. I think it costs around $220 and we got a room for $145 last minute. The Inn is very cute and the location is amazing. It is right next door to Husk, which was ranked the #1 restaurant in America by Food & Wine Mag or some other big name like that. (We didn't actually end up eating there, sadly.) The rooms are very cute, although small, with flat screen TV's and four poster beds. They have remodeled bathrooms with showers although they have a "hot tub" thing in the central courtyard, although it's more like a tiny hot swimming pool. They also have wine and cheese out from 5-6 every night, which was a nice touch. You can drink it in the pretty courtyard. The only big complaint I have is that the bed was really soft and kind of hurt my back.

Overall, great place, if you can get a deal, particularly for the location. The staff was great too. There is no parking onsite, there is a lot across the alley (Queen St) but it's $20 a day. We ended up paying for a meter a few blocks away, which worked out well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regangage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us on your trip to Charleston. We are located in the Historic District of downtown, and are lucky enough to be close to some of Charleston’s finest restaurants. I am happy to hear you did enjoy our newly renovated bathrooms. We do hope that you I keep us in mind on your next trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    211
    116
    50
    21
See reviews for
62
555
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Wonderful experience and beautiful place. We will be back!! thanks to Neal and the staff. love the wine and cheese in the evenings. R & S. Willis

Room Tip: We stayed in room #30 on 2nd floor in corner over looking courtyard. It was perfect. Staff was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooter292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
I am so glad to here that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed in room #15 on the night of 2/12/12 and, overall, it was a good experience, i.e., staff (Neal) was very friendly and helpful and the accommodations were decent and clean. The location at Queen Street (in the middle of the historic district) is excellent and being adjacent to The Bar at Husk is a definite bonus...delicious hand crafted Prohibition cocktails.

The noise transmitting from the second floor room above us, however, was enough to wake us up and keep from getting a restful night's sleep. Maybe if we had stayed on the second or third floor we would have has a much better experience and given a higher rating. We did use a Groupon, which cost $99 so this was not an issue but, given our experience with room #15, we were very glad not to have paid full-price.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room #15...noisy from above and right next to kitchen entrance at Husk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us on your trip to Charleston. I am sorry to hear about the trouble with noise from above you. Next time please let the front desk know so we can take care of it. I hope you will give us another try on your next trip to Charleston. We’d love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We Recently stayed for 4 days/3 nights at this charming Bed and Breakfast hotel. The minute we arrived, Grace at the front desk welcomed us and checked us in, answering all of our questions about the inn. Our room was beautiful and the bathroom was very nice. Sometimes in older buildings, the bathrooms seem to be in disrepair, but the newly renovated place was clean and modern. The shower had both a handheld and an overhead shower head. The toiletries were also very nice. Our room had a nice sized flat screened TV hanging on the wall, which my husband was very happy about. The rest of the room was appointed nicely.

We arrived just in time to experience the Wine and Cheese reception. Iced tea was also served if wine did not appeal. There was a platter of sweet breads served also. After the reception, we headed over to the restaurant next door, 82 Queen. We had a lovely dinner with true lowcountry cooking. It was very conveniently located to the Inn. They also offer in room dining from this restaurant. We did not use this service. There are also 2 other restaurants next door to the Inn, Husk and Poogan's porch. After dinner, my husband and I took a stroll down King Street, window shopping and enjoying the ambience. The hotel is conveniently located in the city. You can walk to everything. We really enjoyed the weather this time of the year.

We have been to the area many times but had never stayed in downtown Charleston before. The next day we enjoyed many sights. There were free bicycles to ride if wanted. We didn't have time to fit this in, but looked like it would be fun. The hotel also offered free wireless internet, a large hottub which was being used every night we were there. I saved my favorite thing for last though. I loved, loved, loved the "breakfast in bed" feature. Every evening, we would fill out a card to select our choices for breakfast and the time we wished to be served. The following morning, we would receive a call to tell us our breakfast was on it's way. The service was incredible as I enjoy this much more than going to a hotel lobby for a meal. It was served on a silver tray with silver coffee service. It consisted of bagels, pastries, muffins, yogurt, juice and coffee or tea. It was just the right amount of food for us.

The Elliott House Inn is a hidden gem that is a perfect getaway to a charming city. We highly recommend it. The direct website offers specials at different times of the year. We used this to find our rate for the stay. We will definitely stay to this place again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DisneyQueen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thanks so much for choosing the Elliott house Inn. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and what our Inn has to offer. We just recently under went an extensive renovation. It’s nice to hear great feedback from our guests. Please keep us in mind as you plan your next getaway to Charleston. We’d Love to have you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We recently enjoyed 4 days and 3 nights at the Elliott House Inn in Charleston. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and it was our first visit to Charleston. The location is perfect for walking around the city. We enjoyed being served breakfast in our room each morning. We received good advice from the staff on sight seeing. The room was small but comfortable. We would definitely stay there again if we were in Charleston again.

Room Tip: We could hear road traffic early in the morning from our room on the third floor with windows to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMAB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to spend such a big milestone with us. I am glad the staff was able to help with sightseeing suggestions. Charleston is a beautiful city to explore. Please keep us in mind on your next trip to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elliott House Inn

Property: The Elliott House Inn
Address: 78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel
Elliott House Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing