We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right room in right place at right price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barksdale House Inn
Ranked #11 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Right room in right place at right price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed three nights in an upper room in the carriage house. The price was good, the bed comfortable, and the breakfast real food, not the snack that pretends to be a breakfast in other lodgings. Only a short block to the restaurants and shops on King Street. A few blocks further to the old market. 24 hr CVS 2 blocks, 24 hr Harris-Teeter grocery about 8 blocks. Great stay!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willsrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to leave a review for our Inn. We strive to have every guest enjoy their stay. I hope you have wonderful memories of Charleston and that we contributed to a few of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    192
    75
    28
    15
See reviews for
56
300
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Barksdale House Inn for two nights before embarking on a cruise out of Charleston. The B&B was arranged by my boyfriend (and was a complete surprise to me!) but I couldn't have been more delighted. What a lovely place, with a very kind staff. We will absolutely stay with them again the next time we visit Charleston!

Location - Proximity to downtown was great. Just a few blocks to get anywhere in the "touristy" part of Charleston, and only a 15 or so minute walk to the cruise departure port. Plenty of good restaurants around (try the sushi place a few blocks away for dinner and the patet place for a quick lunch!). The inn has been built up around so there isn't any view, but I get the impression that's generally the case if you're staying in the downtown area. Parking was very easy, and free.

Room - We stayed in the carriage house behind the inn proper, in the first level corner room. Very cute. Big comfy four poster bed, nice shower/bathroom, and a nice little sitting area. Nothing super duper fancy, but if that's what you're looking for, you probably aren't looking for a B&B in the first place!

Service - This is where the Inn really won us over. They worked with my boyfriend and had a bottle of wine, wine glasses, and fresh flowers waiting for us when we walked in the door. Breakfast can be delivered to your room or eaten in the main house... we chose to eat in the house both days. Sunday had lots of fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, breads/bagels/waffles, and coffee/tea/OJ, and then also had eggs, bacon, and a potato dish. Monday morning had everything minus the hot dishes. As much as you wanted, and it was available till 10, so plenty of time for us to sleep in and still make breakfast! They also had an ice machine in the kitchen we were welcome to use. There were a few other small things, but really, the demeanor of the staff was just lovely the whole time we stayed. Always helpful and extremely accommodating.

Overall - 5 stars! Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlestonTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Your review is absolutely fantastic. I thank you for taking the time to be so detailed. It is clear that you throughly enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Reserved on line the week before Christmas. It's an aging structure with a separate building at the far end of their parking lot (where we stayed) bordering a questionable neighborhood. The room was good size but desparately needing up date. The mattress was lumpy..no fridge, one small 15" analog TV placed high on a wardrobe with missing knobs at the far end of the room, placed upon a stack of old telephone books. Breakfast seating was in the main building with seating at tiny tables in the hallway leading from the main door to the rear of the house. The food, tho meager, was passable. Continual noise from the parking lot from people attending a nearby basketball game using the establishments parking to avoid the pay-parking next door (more noise!) All in all, not up to the southern standardss of B&B's we're used to!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabre460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Where I do I even begin. My husband I wanted a get away for New Years and decided on Charleston a week in a advance so finding a place to stay was a bit challenging. I ended up stumbling upon the Barksdale House Inn for the New Years Eve and let me tell you the moment we pulled in we were impressed. We were greeted by Pam who gave us a tour of the property and showed us to our room, which was room 12. It was comfortable and clean, we enjoyed a wonderful evening of rest there. Breakfast was just perfect, Pam went out of her way to ensure that we had exactly what we wanted. We will definitely be returning to this property and spread the word that this is truly a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
We strive to exceed every guests expectations and it sound like we achieved that goal with you. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review regarding your stay. I hope you had a fantastic NYE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Fiancee and I wanted to get away for a couple of days after Christmas so we decided to head down to Charleston for a couple of days.

Had originally booked a chain hotel until I came across this place - looked nice so I booked it and cancelled at the chain - best decision I ever made!

Reserved room 11 in the Carriage House and arrived a little early on 12/28 Room wasn't ready so we headed up to the Hominy Grill for a late lunch (we highly recommend it!) and a little sightseeing - this wasn't our first time in Charleston so we actually spent the next few hours shopping on King Street.

Returned around 5:30 and Morgan registered us - very easy check in. Morgan was very pleasant and answered all of our questions without hesitation - even got a few PB cookies, lol! The inn was still decorated for the holidays and added to the ambiance

The room was very nice - hardwood floors, four poster bed and plenty of antique furniture. The only downside we noticed were a few dust bunnies and what appeared to be some mold on the shower tile grout. Otherwise the room was beautiful and what we expected in our first stay in a historic inn/B&B. Dinner was at 82 Queen - a 15 minute walk like Morgan said and another highly recommended restaurant. Slept very well - rooms were quieter than we expected and extra pillows found in the armoire.

Had requested breakfast be brought to us and it arrived on a silver platter a couple of minutes before our reqauested time. Then off to Boone Plantation and the Battery. More shopping on King St and then to Pearlz Oyster Bar for dinner.

All in all, it was an extremely pleasant stay. The location could NOT be beat - literally footsteps to King Street! Yes, the views out of the window were of the CoC's fitness center and a parking lot but that was not the Inn's fault and we felt safe in our rooms and walking the streets even late at night. Free access to the kitchen and all its amenities was very nice.

Check out was even easier than the check in and we agreed that we will be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herfnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Wow, what a great review. I am thrilled that you clearly enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will come back to visit in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barksdale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barksdale House Inn

Property: Barksdale House Inn
Address: 27 George St, Charleston, SC 29401-1433
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Barksdale House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barksdale House Inn, built in 1778, is your home away from home while exploring the city of Charleston. Located within the historic district of downtown Charleston, we are within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, tourist attractions and Market Street. This Inn offers 14 rooms with en suite bathrooms, complimentary breakfast, newspaper, wireless access and complimentary parking to get you ready for your day exploring our beautiful city of magnificent homes, gardens, and parks along with Charleston's unique southern hospitality and history.All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barksdale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barksdale House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing