We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$293
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Charleston Historic District(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$196
US$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,733)
Filter reviews
1,733 results
Traveller rating
1,040
435
161
61
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,040
435
161
61
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop breakfastgreat locationcookieswine and cheesewithin walking distancehistoric districtvalet parkingbreakfast is servedrooftop deckfourth floorchurch streetmain buildingstreet noisemorning breakfastboutique hotelyogurtevery afternoon
Filter
Updating list...
1,387 - 1,392 of 1,733 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2012

If I could rate this a 4.5, I would -- it's better than "very good." The staff was wonderful -- extremely helpful and very friendly. We loved breakfast on the 4th floor terrace overlooking the city & bay. We also stayed in the older portion - our room was large, nicely furnished, bright, clean and quiet. As others have written, it may have been a bit quieter across the street in the building with interior access, but we had no problems with noise. The location at the upper end of Church Street was excellent -- a block from the Market, a block from Meeting Street, and a short walk to terrific restaurants and just about everything in the historic district. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraJean49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I read the reviews of this inn and had very high expectations. I had no real issues with the inn itself, but I would not rate it 5 starts. The inn itself is in a fantastic location and is very clean. The room we had was not decorated the way the rooms are on the web site. There was nothing on the walls. I would rate it a standard hotel room. If you are looking for a quiet place to go, this is not it. The staff was very friendly, but we are not high maintenance people so we didn't call on them to do much. There are two parts to the hotel, across the street from each other. The older portion has rooms that you access from the outside. You hear all the noises from other guests coming and going and driving up. The walls are a bit on the thin side. Unfortunately we had some very rude neighbors who decided to argue at 1 am and a group of drunk ladies coming in at 2:30 am. Not the inn's fault. I think the newer portion across the street, which has inside access to rooms, would be quieter.

The breakfast was not what was described on these pages. It was standard continental, with one hot dish: eggs. From the reviews, I was expecting quite a bit more. I didn't mind crossing the street as others did...I did mind sitting outside in February. I think the breakfast should be served inside on the 2nd floor where there is additional indoor seating when it's cold outside. But that's just me.

Parking is $15 which I always find outrageous given you're paying $200+ per night, but that's a personal issue. It's pretty standard.

Room Tip: Go across the street.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHJohnsCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We just got back from a week in Charleston. We found the inn to be in a great location...downtown where we could walk to everything! The only time we took our car out was to go to one of the plantations about 25 minutes out of town. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable enough (just a little firm for my taste). The only noise that bothered us was from the street sweeper that came down the street right outside our window at o'dark thirty...LOUD! Other than that...we slept just fine! The staff in the lobby is super helpful...like having your own built-in concierge service! The breakfast up on the 4th floor was nothing to write home about for sure. They only provided eggs on Thursday and Friday during our stay...not sure what that was about. Two tips I have are to be sure to print out the coupon here on TripAdvisor for free parking...that saved us $15.00 a day. And go to the Charleston Vistor Center website...you can print out a coupon for the Andrew Pinckney Inn for $10.00 off per night! They accepted both of my coupons at check-out, no questions asked! This inn is a great value because of the cleanliness, the location, and the personal service from the lobby staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors will likely keep you from hearing the clip-clop of the horse and carriages going by and the street sweeper!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn for such a special celebration. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the wonderful comments of our fine guest service provided to you. We hope that you will visit again soon for any occasion.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was the perfect location for our trip to Charleston. Staff was extraordinarily accommodating. We asked to change rooms during our 5 night stay from a King bed to two doubles and they did that for us w/o a problem. Also had a problem w/ cable TV not working and the desk clerk was up in 30 seconds to fix it. Wow. Loved the breakfast on the terrace upstairs.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynfo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent 5 day stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We appreciate the comments of the fine guest service provided by our staff and the overall great experience during your stay. As you mentioned the location of the Inn provides for easy access to fine dining, touring and shopping for a special Historic Charleston experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed in late 2011. Moved from one of the internal courtyard rooms because there were no windows and it was a bit depressing. Moved to an external facing room and it was very noisy - old single-glazed windows and creaky rooms. Rooms also v small and without any cupboards for clothes (both rooms just had a rail below a shelf). Still, v central place, a decent price, and very friendly and competent staff.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DW197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Thank you for staying with us at the Andrew Pinckney Inn and taking the time to post your comments. We do have several different room types and sizes available that may be more suitable for your future stay. Please know that we are here to address any guest concerns in order to provide for a most accommodating and pleasing stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews