We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We enjoyed the Andrew Pinckney Inn experience. Perfect location, a few streets down from Market Street, the horse carriage tours and Hank's Seafood Restaurant. Breakfast was included...a different delicious hot main course (along with juices, fruit salad, biscuits and gravy and fresh coffee) every morning prepared by Sandy, the concierge, who is also trained as a professional chef...enjoyed on the covered balcony. Parking was convenient, although an extra expense. The room was decent and the bed was very comfortable. Hotel staff was very helpful. I would definitely go stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilly417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    355
    125
    52
    30
See reviews for
241
776
42
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

If I could rate this a 4.5, I would -- it's better than "very good." The staff was wonderful -- extremely helpful and very friendly. We loved breakfast on the 4th floor terrace overlooking the city & bay. We also stayed in the older portion - our room was large, nicely furnished, bright, clean and quiet. As others have written, it may have been a bit quieter across the street in the building with interior access, but we had no problems with noise. The location at the upper end of Church Street was excellent -- a block from the Market, a block from Meeting Street, and a short walk to terrific restaurants and just about everything in the historic district. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraJean49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Creek GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I read the reviews of this inn and had very high expectations. I had no real issues with the inn itself, but I would not rate it 5 starts. The inn itself is in a fantastic location and is very clean. The room we had was not decorated the way the rooms are on the web site. There was nothing on the walls. I would rate it a standard hotel room. If you are looking for a quiet place to go, this is not it. The staff was very friendly, but we are not high maintenance people so we didn't call on them to do much. There are two parts to the hotel, across the street from each other. The older portion has rooms that you access from the outside. You hear all the noises from other guests coming and going and driving up. The walls are a bit on the thin side. Unfortunately we had some very rude neighbors who decided to argue at 1 am and a group of drunk ladies coming in at 2:30 am. Not the inn's fault. I think the newer portion across the street, which has inside access to rooms, would be quieter.

The breakfast was not what was described on these pages. It was standard continental, with one hot dish: eggs. From the reviews, I was expecting quite a bit more. I didn't mind crossing the street as others did...I did mind sitting outside in February. I think the breakfast should be served inside on the 2nd floor where there is additional indoor seating when it's cold outside. But that's just me.

Parking is $15 which I always find outrageous given you're paying $200+ per night, but that's a personal issue. It's pretty standard.

Room Tip: Go across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DHJohnsCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We just got back from a week in Charleston. We found the inn to be in a great location...downtown where we could walk to everything! The only time we took our car out was to go to one of the plantations about 25 minutes out of town. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable enough (just a little firm for my taste). The only noise that bothered us was from the street sweeper that came down the street right outside our window at o'dark thirty...LOUD! Other than that...we slept just fine! The staff in the lobby is super helpful...like having your own built-in concierge service! The breakfast up on the 4th floor was nothing to write home about for sure. They only provided eggs on Thursday and Friday during our stay...not sure what that was about. Two tips I have are to be sure to print out the coupon here on TripAdvisor for free parking...that saved us $15.00 a day. And go to the Charleston Vistor Center website...you can print out a coupon for the Andrew Pinckney Inn for $10.00 off per night! They accepted both of my coupons at check-out, no questions asked! This inn is a great value because of the cleanliness, the location, and the personal service from the lobby staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors will likely keep you from hearing the clip-clop of the horse and carriages going by an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn for such a special celebration. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the wonderful comments of our fine guest service provided to you. We hope that you will visit again soon for any occasion.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was the perfect location for our trip to Charleston. Staff was extraordinarily accommodating. We asked to change rooms during our 5 night stay from a King bed to two doubles and they did that for us w/o a problem. Also had a problem w/ cable TV not working and the desk clerk was up in 30 seconds to fix it. Wow. Loved the breakfast on the terrace upstairs.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynfo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent 5 day stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We appreciate the comments of the fine guest service provided by our staff and the overall great experience during your stay. As you mentioned the location of the Inn provides for easy access to fine dining, touring and shopping for a special Historic Charleston experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Property: Andrew Pinckney Inn
Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing