We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (865)
Filter reviews
865 results
Traveller rating
289
308
151
73
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
289
308
151
73
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ashley river historic district lockwood drive fire pit hotel shuttle rocking chairs shuttle service water view pool area nice pool close to downtown corner room free parking front desk staff short drive very nice hotel folly beach
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 865 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2017

The property blends a unique and wonderful exterior with a neat and recently upgraded interior decor. Convenient to the city with easy and fast Uber service, you are right at the bridge for James Island. The lobby level includes a nice blend of private and communal sitting areas. The property has an impressive outdoor patio and pool area overlooking the river and yacht club. The classic Courtyard Bistro offers breakfast and dinner options.

The best part of the stay was the staff! Deborah at breakfast was outstanding and made wonderful recommendations for us. Guest Service and Housekeeping were always available and quick to say hello. We plan to stay at this property on future visits.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the pool/patio or river view.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GM_Erlowest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear GM_Erlowest,

Thank you for being our guest at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We are delighted to read you loved every aspect of our beautiful hotel and that you were especially impressed with the excellent service delivered by our associates. I can’t wait to share your compliments with Deborah as well as rest of the team. We appreciate you sharing your nice comments and look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Mark Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

I got this hotel because the prices were decent and it wasn't far from downtown. It's near the pier and the rooms are comfortable. There is no room service but the little bistro downstairs has great food and free coffee in the lobby. They are not open for lunch and they have free onsite parking. They offer a shuttle to downtown for $6 per person round trip, but Uber was excellent too. Great sunset views from this property and close by to many major attractions.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank daphnenicolette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear QD808,

Thank you for your recent stay at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront and for sharing your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and we will be sure to share your compliments with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Mark Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

During check in I was put in an handicap room even though my profile does not reflect it. This happen only in the US. Management excuse is that a handicap room is little larger and provides more room. Cheap excuse.

During check out, the racist manager checked out a guy in front of me and was very professional and thanked the gentleman for his loyalty. When my turn came he was very agitated, rude, and unfriendly. He printed my receipt out, slapped it on the counter, and said "here it is". Keep in mind that I am an Elite for life member that have spent thousands of dollars with Marriott.

I was shocked!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 000hawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear 000hawker,

Thank you for being an Elite member and choosing to stay at our hotel. We're very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. Our guests deserve nothing but the best in professionalism and service. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, so we can prevent this from occurring again.

We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future, so we can provide the great experience you deserve.

Mark Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

My husband and I booked the spa suite 5 months in advance, and upon check-in was told all the suites were under construction. We needed a suite for health issues, otherwise this wouldn't have been a big deal. We were assigned a king corner room, although the front desk guy was resistant to reimbursing us for the price difference. A higher up eventually gave us the credit. The two nights we spent there were okay but the room size issue was a deal breaker for this review. Wish we had known in advance about the construction. On a positive note, the staff in the Bistro, the shuttle driver, and the guy who advised us on parking and shuttle were wonderful.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Melinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Melinda P,
Thank you for evaluating your experience at our hotel. We are pleased to know that our staff in the Bistro and our shuttle driver were hospitable and helpful. However, we offer our most sincere apologies that the room you booked was not available due to our renovation and that you were not notified in advance. It is never our intention to disappoint our guests and we are very sorry if your stay was diminished due to the suite being unavailable.

Thanks again for your candid feedback. We would love to make it up to you and hope you will consider a return visit the next time your travels bring you to Charleston.

Mark Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel in a larger corner room with a small balcony overlooking the marina. The hotel is clean and modern with an extremely convenient shuttle service to the historic district. Upon arrival Derrick smoothly handled all our luggage. Margo was also very helpful. The concierge, Eddie McBride, was absolutely outstanding in his positive attitude and helpfulness.

Room Tip: Worthwhile to upgrade to a corner room with a small balcony.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank georgeamalec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Dear georgeamalec,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in your spacious suite and that you were able to take advantage of our convenient shuttle to explore the Historic District of Charleston. Thank you for mentioning how well Derrick, Margo, and Eddie took care of you. We will pass your gracious comments along to them to acknowledge a job well done. It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Mark Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews