We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property in a wonderful city!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Ranked #45 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 December 2017

Starting with the outside appearance of the Courtyard Marriott, your expectations are set for a unique experience. Set on the river next to the yacht club with easy Uber rides into the best parts of Charleston.

The lobby level offers all the standard Courtyard amenities by on a larger scale. Magnifying the lobby are the outdoor patio and separate outdoor pool area.

The rooms are updated to recent Marriott standards and are quiet. Makes for a great nights sleep!

Great stay and planning to return!

Room Tip: Request the waterside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Dear Frank D,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. It is great to read you were impressed with our convenient location which was perfect for your needs and that you loved your clean & comfortable room. It was great to have you here, and we look forward to your next stay with us soon.

Mark Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2017

The property blends a unique and wonderful exterior with a neat and recently upgraded interior decor. Convenient to the city with easy and fast Uber service, you are right at the bridge for James Island. The lobby level includes a nice blend of private and communal sitting areas. The property has an impressive outdoor patio and pool area overlooking the river and yacht club. The classic Courtyard Bistro offers breakfast and dinner options.

The best part of the stay was the staff! Deborah at breakfast was outstanding and made wonderful recommendations for us. Guest Service and Housekeeping were always available and quick to say hello. We plan to stay at this property on future visits.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the pool/patio or river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GM_Erlowest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear GM_Erlowest,

Thank you for being our guest at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We are delighted to read you loved every aspect of our beautiful hotel and that you were especially impressed with the excellent service delivered by our associates. I can’t wait to share your compliments with Deborah as well as rest of the team. We appreciate you sharing your nice comments and look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Mark Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

I got this hotel because the prices were decent and it wasn't far from downtown. It's near the pier and the rooms are comfortable. There is no room service but the little bistro downstairs has great food and free coffee in the lobby. They are not open for lunch and they have free onsite parking. They offer a shuttle to downtown for $6 per person round trip, but Uber was excellent too. Great sunset views from this property and close by to many major attractions.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank qdaffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear QD808,

Thank you for your recent stay at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront and for sharing your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and we will be sure to share your compliments with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Mark Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

During check in I was put in an handicap room even though my profile does not reflect it. This happen only in the US. Management excuse is that a handicap room is little larger and provides more room. Cheap excuse.

During check out, the racist manager checked out a guy in front of me and was very professional and thanked the gentleman for his loyalty. When my turn came he was very agitated, rude, and unfriendly. He printed my receipt out, slapped it on the counter, and said "here it is". Keep in mind that I am an Elite for life member that have spent thousands of dollars with Marriott.

I was shocked!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 000hawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear 000hawker,

Thank you for being an Elite member and choosing to stay at our hotel. We're very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. Our guests deserve nothing but the best in professionalism and service. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, so we can prevent this from occurring again.

We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future, so we can provide the great experience you deserve.

Mark Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

My husband and I booked the spa suite 5 months in advance, and upon check-in was told all the suites were under construction. We needed a suite for health issues, otherwise this wouldn't have been a big deal. We were assigned a king corner room, although the front desk guy was resistant to reimbursing us for the price difference. A higher up eventually gave us the credit. The two nights we spent there were okay but the room size issue was a deal breaker for this review. Wish we had known in advance about the construction. On a positive note, the staff in the Bistro, the shuttle driver, and the guy who advised us on parking and shuttle were wonderful.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Melinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Melinda P,
Thank you for evaluating your experience at our hotel. We are pleased to know that our staff in the Bistro and our shuttle driver were hospitable and helpful. However, we offer our most sincere apologies that the room you booked was not available due to our renovation and that you were not notified in advance. It is never our intention to disappoint our guests and we are very sorry if your stay was diminished due to the suite being unavailable.

Thanks again for your candid feedback. We would love to make it up to you and hope you will consider a return visit the next time your travels bring you to Charleston.

Mark Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.6 km away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#31 of 62 in Charleston
1,176 reviews
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.9 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.1 km away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: €141 - €332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing