We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
20 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$215
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$171
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/04/21
ZenHotels.com
US$221
US$155
View deal
SAVE US$66
Agoda.comUS$215
Hotels.comUS$207
getaroom.comUS$221
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,758)
Filter reviews
3,758 results
Traveller rating
1,950
1,154
384
165
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,950
1,154
384
165
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swamp fox historic hotel king street an older hotel within walking distance small bathroom corner room downtown charleston perfect location southern charm front desk staff valet parking lobby fm conference college closet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 3,758 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2021 via mobile

We took a two night escape on the Locals package and enjoyed our stay tremendously. Everybody was very attentive to us and appreciative of our business. The Swamp Fox restaurant had delicious food and the pub in there concocted tasty signature cocktails. We suggest that you stop/dine/stay there on your visit to Charleston.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank THOMAS N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Enloe, Marketing at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2021

Hi Thomas! We love hearing this! We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with the hotel & with The Swamp Fox. We hope to see you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2021

Amazing hotel but terrible lobby restaurant. Restaurant is over priced, staff is terrible, food isn’t good. Hotel is clean and hotel staff is very friendly. I would definitely stay here again minus going to the restaurant.

Date of stay: January 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank theresagantt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Enloe, Marketing at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2021

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are truly sorry tp hear about your experience with our restaurant. We want you to know that this is not our standard and will take this feedback to the team. I know this doesn't change your experience but i hope you are assured that we will address this issue. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2021

Just terrific...we were Married and stayed in a suite for a week in December 2020. Gillian handled every aspect of our wedding, champagne toast, and dinner served in our suite. Everything was the best...more than we ever expected. We loved our stay at the Francis Marian.

Date of stay: December 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sherryandremax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Enloe, Marketing at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2021

We feel so loved!! Thank you so much for choosing us for your wedding day. It was very special to us to be a part of such an important time. We hope to have you back again (maybe for your anniversary!) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2021

From top to bottom, this hotel ranks as one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. The 'at your service' bellhops were an exceptional nicety, as was the swift room service from the Swamp Fox Cafe. For those wanting a comprehensive Charlestonian experience, stay at the Francis Marion. You won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: October 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NorthernVisitor32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Enloe, Marketing at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2021

Wow! What a wonderful complement to receive. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us while you visit Charleston. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2021

Excellent trip. Family wedding everything was just wonderful. In this time of covid the hotel did an amazing job keep us safe and sanitized. Would love to go back someday and would recommend to others

Date of stay: January 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jheavey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Enloe, Marketing at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2021

Wonderful! We love hearing this and are so glad we were able to provide a safe experience. We will see you when you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews