We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice bordering on fancy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“very nice bordering on fancy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

this hotel is actually a positive surprise. For me, a holiday inn express is reliable and priced right but usually without some of the nicer touches of a more expensive hotel. That is fine by me because I am usually looking for a convenient location at a decent price and clean. I use the room to sleep and shower. So if the bed is comfortable, the shower is hot, the ac/heat unit works and isn't noisy, and the tv is decent and has some channels to choose from, I am happy. Admittedly, that is not a vey ambitious list for a hotel. This hotel has all these things. It also has some nice touches too: like two types of pillows, a really nice breakfast and a clean new feel. Not that the place is unappealling from the outside but nicer than I expected on the inside. The front desk person told me the hotel was just renovated, and you could tell because everything looked new. I also like the internet in the room because it was available both hardwire and wireless. My wireless broke on my computer while I was travelling and plugging in made life a lot easier. Before I checked in, not knowing about the hard wire connection, I looked in on the business center to see if I could use that and it was totally adequate. Two up to date computers and a free printer. My room rate was thinke $79 and I think all that is a good deal for the money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    150
    66
    38
    23
See reviews for
135
129
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

this hotel is located in Middletown ri right outside of Newport and shares land with a chilis restaurant. I think it is a very nice place to stay based on the price which was extremely reasonable and the location which is probably as good as it gets in Middletown. The room that I stayed in had just been renovated and I mean just been renovated. The woman at the fron desk told me that I was the first person to stay in it because the work had just finished the day before. The renovation is stylish and comfortable and the room has all the little things you expect in a nice hotel like a flat screen tv, triple sheeted bed, free wifi ...The hotel also had a pool and excercise room which I did not use but that both looked nice. Finally, the free breakfast is a real full breakfast not just some pretend going through the motions type thing. A very nice feature.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel a couple of times after Newport St. Patrick's Day parades. We only stayed one night each time, but we always had a very good experience. It's a great place if you want to be just outside of all the Newport tourism. There are various chain restaurants in the area, and it's right on a main road so there are grocery stores and other places to shop if you need anything. The hotel was very clean, the rooms were large (we stayed in one of the standard rooms and had more than enough space), and we had no problems with noise. Friendly staff, checked us in very quickly. Plenty of parking if you have your car. The room also came with a continental breakfast. Not gourmet, but definitely a great "free" breakfast (they had a good variety of foods). There is a pool: we never used it, but it looked clean and the pool area was very calm. We had no problems or concerns with this hotel at all - it was a great stay, and we would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed a great room and breakfast.

Room Tip: Look in the New England hotel mag for good discounts in Newport RI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in Sept. in the King. Exec. Suite. Nice bedroom, separate living room with micro and fridge. Nice size bathroom and plenty of closet space. Both rooms had nice flat screen tvs. Decent breakfast. Friendly stay. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amb06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middletown hotels
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
0.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
1.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#6 of 18 in Middletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.3 km away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
0.6 km away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
Address: 855 West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Newport, Beaches, The Newport Mansions and so much more; Holiday Inn Express Middletown is the perfect retreat from a long day of adventures and exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing