We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Thompson’s”

Whitewater Challengers
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Weatherly
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Whitewater rafting on the Lehigh River is an exciting adventure through the Pocono Mountain Region of PA. Choose from a variety of outdoor adventures from mild to wild. Our most popular trips are our Family Style Whitewater (ages 5+)and Our Premier Whitewater Trip (ages 9+). Great for experienced rafters and first timers. NEW for 2017 is our Premier Plus Whitewater Rafting Trip which offers a smaller, more personal trip option through the class 2-3 rapids of the Lehigh Gorge State Park. Try a more challenging experience with our Whitewater Marathon that takes you through 25 miles of the Lehigh Gorge State Park or our NEW Inflatable Kayaking (Ducky) Trip. No matter your experience level, the Lehigh River offers a trip meant for you! Join us at the Lehigh River Adventure Center to combine your rafting experience with camping, biking, hiking, paintball, and more. Onsite dining services provides three meals a day for a reasonable price. It's the most fun you'll have all year!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

For your money this place is absolutely awesome for every age. I highly recommend the camping and river rafting together. The staff,guides, and safety teams are professional and make your experience absolutely amazing and fun. On the river they are able to adapt to everyone’s skill set whether your experienced or an amateur. You will learn some of the history and enjoy the beautiful scenery from the knowledgeable guides while going down the river.

Thank joeisthepredator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken P, Owner at Whitewater Challengers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thanks! We love sharing our passion for whitewater rafting with our guests. If you want a more involved and personal tour of the Lehigh River I would suggest checking out our Premier PLUS or Inflatable Kayaking trips. Hope to see you again soon for another adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rafting trip"
in 21 reviews
"dam release"
in 29 reviews
"lehigh river"
in 23 reviews
"white water"
in 9 reviews
"throwing buckets of water"
in 4 reviews
"ham"
in 5 reviews
"exciting rapids"
in 3 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 8 reviews
"the check in process"
in 3 reviews
"other companies"
in 4 reviews
"bus ride"
in 4 reviews
"wear sunscreen"
in 2 reviews
"wet suits"
in 3 reviews
"great family day"
in 2 reviews
"change of clothes"
in 2 reviews
"mile trip"
in 6 reviews
"highly recommend this trip"
in 2 reviews
Filter

36 - 40 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Mother’s Day 2018 was a blast with guide Carly Koll leading the way! We were the only raft on the entire river and we couldn’t have asked for a better day. Carly was quite the impressive guide from her water skills, her general knowledge, to her fantastic sense of humor. She made the virgin rafters feel comfortable while still challenging the other rafters. Post our rafting adventure we had a delicious BBQ lunch. I would highly recommend for anyone wanting to have both a safe and great time on the Black River

Thank abraithw21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken P, Owner at Whitewater Challengers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thanks for letting us know about your amazing first time rafting experience. We hope you join us again at the Black River or one of our other whitewater rafting locations in NY and PA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

We went white water rafting for the first time today. Everyone was amazing, especially our guide Carly! You rock Carly! Had a blast! We will be back for sure!

Thank Amber G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken P, Owner at Whitewater Challengers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

So happy to be part of your first rafting experience! We look forward to being part of your next adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

Our troop Visits every other year or so
Always a great experience and loads of fun !
Can’t wait to come back!

Thank dannysden2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken P, Owner at Whitewater Challengers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thanks for joining us for a Scout Rafting Adventure. We look forward to seeing you on the river again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017

The was the sixth time I went whitewater rafting. We went as a large group, and since I had gone multiple times, I was designated as the captain who was in charge of steering the raft. We were doing well and having a fun time. We were about half-way down the river, and our raft became slightly stuck. It was no big deal; we bounced our way out, and continued on. The river guide, who is a Whitewater Challenger employee, started barking directives at me on how I was not steering up to her standard. She paddled over and jumped in our raft! She was acting like a drill sergeant. It was completely ridiculous. She kept yelling at me to, "Dig deeper!" It ruined the entire mood in our raft. No one was feeling comfortable with her in our raft. She said, "I am not leaving until you are steering like a professional." For the record, we are all 40+ year old adults. This has never happened before. In the past, the river guides were always helpful but not overbearing and rude. This particular river guide single-handedly ruined our experience. I am sure she was on a power trip. I will never go again.

3  Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken P, Manager at Whitewater Challengers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

We want all of our guests to have a positive experience on their trip with us. Please reach out to us directly with more details about the trip and the specific guide you are referring to. This way we can take the appropriate measure to make sure this never happens again. Thank you again for your loyalty over the years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitewater Challengers also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Tannersville, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Lansford, Pocono Mountains Region
Lehighton, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Whitewater Challengers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing