We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, pleasant, restaurant a plus”
Review of Stone Bridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Union Dale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone Bridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Union Dale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 December 2008

Stayed here 3 nights with extended family of 6 while skiing at Elk Mountain. Room 8 was great as it had a kitchen and living room besides the 2 bedrooms. Room 14 pleasant though noisy heating (so said my sister-in-law). I concur with other reviews about the complimentary continental breakfast...basic but handy since there are not many restaurants close by. Furnishings a bit worn but satisfactory considering the few inns/hotels in the area. Plus was the location to the Elk Mountain for skiing. The tavern food tasty and its ambiance was warm and accommodating. The children enjoyed the pool and the hot tub was nice (though highly chlorinated) after a day of skiing. I would recommend this inn and will return if in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravelQueen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2008

We spent one night at the Stonebridge Inn for a high school reunion held on the property. The Stonebridge is a pleasant, comfortable inn. It's not luxurious -- e.g. towels were JC Penney and not too thick, bathroom had paper cups and no complimentary shampoo products. But the room was nicely decorated, had easy chairs to sit in, TV (no cable but Union Dale is not the city!), extra blankets and towels. My only real complaint is that there was no hair dryer. I've stopped packing a dryer since it's been years since I have stayed in a hotel without one and had to find a hat to cover my hair for the drive home.

The staff was welcoming but not overly friendly. The restaurant provided an excellent buffer dinner for our party. My favorite was the strawberries for dipping in the chocolate fountain.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We ended an inn-to-inn bike ride at the Stone Bridge. Dinner was excellent - with creatively prepared and presented courses. Watching the sunset over the grounds from the terrace was a perfect finish to the evening. Our room was very comfortable. The pool and hot-tub area was clean and well-maintained. The continental breakfast while of average quality, was served in a comfortable common area. Staff were friendly and willing to help with extras.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bingtontom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

I stayed at the Stone Bridge Inn with a friend, for a 2-day midweek ski/snowboard trip.

Overall we were satisfied. The inn is near Elk Mountain (about 3 miles), and we had no major complaints. It was also a great deal; for two people, we got 1 night and 2 midweek all-day lift tickets for $240 plus tax. (And the taxes weren't bad at all.)

The building itself looks to be a renovated and expanded farmhouse, complete with a pig on the weathervane. Parking was easy and close to the door of our room, which was on the ground level (as I believe all the rooms are). The inn is on a quiet rural road with only a few homes and other inns as distant neighbors.

We had room 11, which comprises a lower bedroom and an upper loft with another bed (and the bathroom of course). The suite was very clean and was decorated with what I would say were antiquey but probably not truly antique furnishings--not that we cared. The TV didn't get a lot of channels, but it got the four networks and a few other channels, all off the airwaves. So if TV is a big thing for you, be advised.

I thought the shower pressure was weak, but I managed to get clean. The bed was very comfortable, the room quiet. The towels could've been a little fluffier, but they sufficed. In a hotel, these things would've greatly annoyed me, but I think the overall charm of this family-run establishment made me overlook these minor flaws.

In a nearby building is the pool and jacuzzi, as well as a room with a pool table and video games. The jacuzzi really hit the spot after a long day skiing and snowboarding.

The bar was a pleasant surprise--very cozy with lots of fireplaces and wood beams everywhere. You couldn't design a more fitting apres-ski tavern. There is also a restaurant in the inn, but we didn't eat there. Although there are no other restaurants in the immediate vicinity, there are some in nearby in Forest City, maybe a 10-minute drive from the inn. (Elegante Pizza has a great "double decker" pizza.)

The free, self-serve continental breakfast in the morning was a nice touch. It was basic, as you'd expect; there was orange juice, coffee, fruit, toast, muffins, and not much else. But it did the trick for us till lunchtime.

If you care about truly luxurious accommodations, you'll be a bit disappointed by Stone Bridge Inn. But if you merely want a clean, comfortable, affordable place to stay near Elk Mountain, and you can live with a few quirks, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WashDCMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2007

This is our second visit to the Stonebridge and we feel very comfortable there. Our daughter goes to sleepaway camp in the area and there is very little choice of decent hotels. Stonebridge is solid.

Food in the restaurant is excellent, pub is fun but slow service. Views are incredible.

Areas for improvement: Rooms while cosy and charming are a bit run down. Need to add a few small touches to make things better. Need cable TV rather than rabbit ears, perhaps real glasses rather than paper cups in the bathroom. Breakfast could be better with more fresh fruit and better pastries.

All in all, good place, worth the money

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DavidHaup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stone Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Bridge Inn

Address: 306 Sugar Hill Rd, Union Dale, PA 18470-7397
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Union Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Union Dale
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Bridge Inn & Restaurant is a unique and charming European-style inn. Here you'll enjoy a relaxing retreat and excellent food in a spectacular country setting. Nestled on a hilltop, surrounded by rolling hills and meadows, it is reminiscent of a small European village - a quaint, alpine hideaway. The Inn offers thirteen unique and comfortable rooms, while the restaurant and tavern feature multi-level post and beam architecture with fireplaces and cozy corners. On nearly 200 acres of forests and pastures, traversed by a small trout stream, Stone Bridge is in the heart of the Endless Mountains and just minutes from Elk Mountain, Pennsylvania's finest ski area. It is located within three hours of New York City and Philadelphia, and one-half hour north of Scranton, PA. Whatever the season, Stone Bridge offers a variety of recreational facilities, including access to an indoor pool and hot tub, horseback riding, cross-country skiing and hiking trails, nearby golf courses, fishing, snowmobiling and bike trails, as well as downhill skiing at Elk Mountain. The Endless Mountains region provides a fine variety of antique shops, scenic vistas, historic sites and additional fishing and hunting areas in nearby State Gamelands.Stone Bridge is perfect for couples and families looking for a getaway and also specializes in unique events such as weddings, receptions, rehearsal dinners, anniversary parties, business retreats and family reunions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stone Bridge Hotel Union Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing