We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Service!!”
Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2006

We stayed at the Nittany Lion Inn for a sorority weekend. The hotel is very clean, and staff very friendly. The location was great. Beside being across from the bus stop, they had a free shuttle that some parents used. I would definitely stay there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barcelonamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
There are newer reviews for Nittany Lion Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

788 - 792 of 795 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
PA
13
Reviewed 23 April 2006

PSU needs to take a good hard look at who's in charge of this place. Great historic hotel but it needs a good cleaning. Bugs happen, but two roaches in one day is too much. One in the restaurant and one in our room. We'll be staying at one of the local suite hotels in State College for our son's graduation this year.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2006

We had a nice stay at the Nittany Lion Inn. The room was small and sparse, but clean. The location is what makes the Inn special---right in the middle of the Penn State campus, next to the Nittany Lion. The staff was helpful with directions. The grounds are pretty. We would stay there again the next time we visit campus.

7  Thank JTJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2005

We had our Wedding reception here and the staff could not of been more helpful.

They treated the 30 plus guests we had staying at the hotel like royalty. Food is excellent, and so is the staff. There is a formal dining area and a bar in the hotel, so you really don't even need to leave.

The rooms are smaller then what you may expect, but this is an old inn and they are appointed very nicely. There is a lot of charm and history behind this place. But they have all the modern ammenities that you may need on hand as well. They will help you find anything you need in town and answer any questions about the area as well. Also there is a complimentary shuttle to take you to the airport or elsewhere if requested.

There is no pool but they will provide you a shuttle to take you to their sister property down the road. The hotel is a quick walk to the downtown area but you have everything you need here. Also the hotel is located just outside of Penn State Campus so you can check that out as well.

Great service and to think most of it is from College students is refreshing!

  • Stayed: December 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rstm109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zum inneren Garten hin ist die Lage sehr ruhig.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Haushaltungsvorstand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas N, General Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
1.1 km away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,324 reviews
4.4 km away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#8 of 26 in State College
570 reviews
0.8 km away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#11 of 26 in State College
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.9 km away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#13 of 26 in State College
154 reviews
3.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Address: 200 W Park Ave, State College, PA 16803-3598
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: €117 - €314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing