We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay for graduation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn State College

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn State College
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Stay for graduation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We had a terrific stay at the Residence Inn! We were there for Pen State's Graduation and had a one BR which was wonderful. Hotel must have been recently updated because it now looks much different than the posted pics. Rooms were modern and spacious great flat screen TVs that swiveled for viewing from the Bedroom or living/kitchen area, great furnishings, granite counters. We had family staying at another area hotel but we discovered there was still one 2BR unit available due to a cancellation, and our family liked the residence inn so much they booked the room! The 2 BR is great for a larger group. There are 2 separated BRs and a pullout. We didn't wake up in time for breakfast, but the area where it is served is lovely. We will be back hopefully for a football weekend next fall! Highly recommend! Very convenient to all campus venues.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALittleTripC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    43
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
57
19
2
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
East Coast of the U.S.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

clean and modern. Breakfast was decent. Would stay here again..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurers67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed in a room that had a separate bedroom suite with a sleeper sofa in the living room. Room was clean and comfortable. I wished the bathroom had access from the living room, but you have to walk into the bedroom. Also, the bathroom sink area is open to the bedroom so it makes it a bit inconvenient if you have someone needing to use it when you want to sleep. Full kitchen if needed. Free breakfast and free evening appetizers (and beer tap). Very convenient to restaurants which you can walk to. About 2-3 miles away from PSU.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn State College, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Hi marydonato,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel! It was our pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. I’m so glad you had the opportunity to take advantage of our deluxe breakfast buffet and our Evening Social Reception. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back the next time your travels have you back in Happy Valley!

Take Care,

Shane Niman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Very outdated and dirty hotel. Mirrors had hand prints, bedside tables were sticky, and bathroom floor was sticky. Refrigerator was very laud, and made knocking sounds.
Bathroom had bugs; toilet leaked onto floor, and ran all night. Room smelled musty, pictures missing from walls, as well as decoration missing.

Pet friendly - means there is a dog barking down the hall while owners are away. Carpet is very dark to hide the pet stains as well. Water was cut off two days earlier, sink water ran milky white for awhile. Didn't try the ice.

Staff had 5 (five) employees taking up all breakfast items exactly at 9:00 AM as guests tried to eat, rushing everyone. Worst Marriott property I've ever stayed! Not even close.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne53449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn State College, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thanks Wayne53449 for your review. We appreciate hearing from you and taking the time to share your comments. All feedback is valuable to us so that we can perfect our guests’ experiences. Thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention. I will be looking into this further. Your business is important to us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Shane Niman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Cleanliness is the most important reason for us to stay at the Residence Inn. The hotel is the only one we found that has an outside cleaning/sanitation service for rooms that have had a pet guest. (Other hotels use their regular housekeeping staff.) We want to be in a room that has eliminated all possible signs of a previous pet. As well, we want the next guests to stay in the room we occupied with our dog to be clean.
Many hotels designate certain rooms specifically for guests with pets. We found that these hotel rooms have signs that pets have been there.
The Residence Inn has a slightly higher pet fee than other hotels but we will pay to be in a room as clean as those without pet guests.
This cleanliness is an asset to the high quality of this hotel. - Wonderful, efficient employees. Spacious, nicely designed and decorated rooms. Great breakfast buffet.
We have stayed here twice this past year and will do so on our next visit to State College.
MBL, KL & HL

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
2.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
3.0 km away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
4.0 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 km away
Courtyard State College
Courtyard State College
#20 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn State College

Property: Residence Inn State College
Address: 1555 University Drive, State College, PA 16801
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn State College 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated! Residence Inn State College all-suite hotel combines all the comforts of home with the conveniences of a hotel. Our State College hotel near Penn State University (PSU) and Downtown State College (1.5 Miles) will keep you close to all of the action, your own students and to the exciting Penn State University sports teams. Residence Inn State College hotel is in the heart of Happy Valley and close to many area businesses making your commute to work an easy one. As the only extended stay all-suite hotel in State College, what we have to offer is second to none! All of our spacious suites offer fully equipped kitchens, separate living area and FREE High Speed Internet. Start your day every morning with our complimentary deluxe breakfast buffet. Socialize with us Tues - Thurs at our free dinner buffet. Unwind in our Billiards Lounge, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Sport Court or Fitness Center. Among State College hotels, Residence Inn surpasses the rest, whether you're staying one night or thirty! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State College Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing