We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value”
Review of A1Economy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A1Economy Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Somerset
Certificate of Excellence
eastern US
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“very good value”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed at the A1 Economy Inn for a couple of nights in January 2012 while visiting the ski resorts of Seven Springs and Heavenly Valley.

This place is definitely different from the homogeneous hotel chains. Look at the photos and you will get an idea of what I mean. It appears to have been an old motel that has been maintained over the years. As one example: you will get an actual metal key to your room, not a credit card that you swipe. This isn't a bad thing -- just different.

It was definitely neat and clean. The service was excellent. The person I called to make my reservation was also at the front desk, and was very helpful. It is right off the turnpike, which is convenient. There are a few local restaurants close by, including a Starbucks and a Ruby Tuesday. Free internet and parking. There is a free breakfast, which was better than nothing, but nothing special.

For the price, the A1 Inn can't be beat. It is about half the price of the local chains in Somerset.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank va_trailrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    35
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
32
28
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

I came through the turnpike and upon a recommendation from the coffee shop near by, I went to A1 Economy Inn and was pleasantly surprise by its ultra clean rooms, great host, and quiet environment! I will be back!

Room Tip: Try out the jacuzzi room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Mick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

After you get past the Vegas-Style front desk area, the rest is a good night. Clean. Small place to stay...good for 2 people. The price of the room is only $59 for a reason, not a bad reason, but is definitely worth the value. Also...passed my bed bug test! Solid water pressure in the shower.

I'd stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jasonkap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Florence, Pa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

.I am with the Cambria, Somerset County Fire Police and stayed at the Economy Inn on September 9, 10, 11, 2011 on official business. The room was very clean. I was impressed with the ammenities. The service was outstanding. I very highly recommend this motel and I will be back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed 3 nights on business, and felt the room was very clean, comfortable and reasonable. Excellent amenities were available that included free WiFi, fax, daily paper and TV with DVD player. We enjoyed the breakfast, and the dining area was kept very neat and clean. The staff was accomodating, and always happy to answer any questions. I plan to return again, and would definitely recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lilreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset hotels
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 12 in Somerset
612 reviews
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Somerset
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Super 8 Somerset
Super 8 Somerset
#11 of 12 in Somerset
461 reviews
0.6 km away
Quality Inn & Conference Center
0.5 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 12 in Somerset
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A1Economy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A1Economy Inn

Property: A1Economy Inn
Address: 1138 N Center Ave, Somerset, PA 15501-1626
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Somerset
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A1Economy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA approved. Two diamond rating. Rooms are squeaky clean. Most rooms are non-smoking. Jacuzzi rooms are available. Family rooms are available with two king size beds and they are non-smoking. All rooms have refrigerators and microwaves. Expanded continental breakfast. Guest washer and dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your A1Economy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing