We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the Poconos”
Review of Skytop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skytop Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skytop
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A gem in the Poconos”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

A wonderful place to unwind and relax and enjoy the beautiful mountainside lake and comfortable lodge. The meals were great during recent visit, and so were the activities. There were so many friendly staff as well. Saturday night is the best with the orchestra and dancing. I cannot wait to go back again. Michael S.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meschu2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Michael,

Thank you for your kind comments in relation to your stay at Skytop. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to our staff. We are fortunate to have such a caring group of people at Skytop that are truly concerned with our guests’ well being. They will be delighted to learn that their service did not go unnoticed. Our Grand March on Saturday nights is truly a fun event that must be experienced at least once in a lifetime. I am glad that you had the opportunity to participate and we cannot wait to have you back again.

I hope you have a great summer!

Sincerely,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    345
    105
    96
    69
See reviews for
491
406
2
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed in the inn...rooms are larger than the lodge. Everyone was extremely nice, friendly, helpful. Meals were overpriced, and you have to drive 20 or 30 minutes to find more moderate priced restaurants. Facility is very clean, beautifully decorated. I cannot afford to go there very often, but I loved it!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riter2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Riter2b,

Thank you for your comments. I sincerely appreciate you taking time to comment on your Skytop experience. We are so fortunate to have such a wonderful staff. I will be sure to extend your kind comments to them. They are always so appreciative of our guests’ observations. I am sorry that you found our meals to be overpriced. I do believe we have an excellent variety of restaurant opportunities. Perhaps on a future stay you can enjoy the Tap Room or the Tea Room rather than our main dining facility.

Thank you for staying at Skytop. Hope you have a great year and see you soon!

Sincerely,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bellmore, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My family of four really enjoyed our two night stay at SkyTop Lodge. It's like stepping back in time where people dress for dinner. The activities for our children were awesome and my 7 year old tried skiing for the first time. The pool is great. Everyone in our family loved the food. There is a children's menu offered but they could also choose from the adult's menu. The breakfast buffet was a bit disappointing. We thought it was better to order breakfast. DO NOT bother with the spa. This was by far the worst part of the trip. I was late due to a sick child and I was chewed out by the manicurist. She rushed the manicure and it was the worst one I've ever received. They added the tip on even though I didn't think she deserved one. I called the manager several times to reverse that charge and he didn't.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flashmom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Flashmom10,

Thank you for providing comments about your recent stay. I am delighted that your family had a lovely experience at Skytop. For over 84 years we have tried to maintain a level of casual elegance that provides our guests with a great experience. We have such a variety of activities. I am glad that you got to experience the best of Skytop.

If you would please give me a call I will be happy to discuss your experience with our Spa. I will surely make them aware of this incident. The Spa is an important part of Skytop and I am sure that we will be able to learn from the inappropriate behavior that you experienced.

Again, thank you for providing me with your comments. I hope you have a great spring and summer and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Looking forward to returning ever since my first visit, this classic mountain lodge is perfect for a getaway without traveling far from NYC or Philadelphia. The spring bulbs were beginning to bloom and the woods just beginning to green due to the lack of snow this year. Accomplished my goals to sit and read, take a dip in the indoor pool, and hike the grounds. Our guide on the lake trail was interesting and experienced. The room was immaculate and coffee was available in the lobby in the morning. Pleased with how clean the property is kept for an eighty year old grand dame lodge. Dining room staff was helpful and attentive at every meal - compliments to the maitre d'. The service in the Tap Room downstairs is another story - the first night the server was great. The second night the staff could have cared less and huddled in the corner room talking among themselves - no management oversight. A relaxing stay which I will look forward to again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njdaveus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear njdaveus,

Thank you for your comments in relation to your recent stay. Skytop truly is a step back in time and a refreshing getaway from the pressures of “the big city.” It is hard to believe that we had our gardens in bloom so early this year. It is a challenging time for our gardeners but they are making every effort to make our gardens as fresh and creative as possible. I am delighted that you found our meals to be great. I have talked to our Tap Room staff and they do extend an apology to you for their lack of caring service. I will make sure that we stay on top of this.

I hope you have a wonderful year and that we will be able to welcome you back to Skytop soon.

Sincerely,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seven valleys, pa
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Let me start by saying that I took my pre-teen son to Skytop for a weekend. We really enjoy spending time outdoors and were looking forward to participating in all the activities they market at the property. Unfortunately, Mother Nature was not on our side and March is considered the "off season." That means no bob sled run, no skiing, no snowshoes, etc. The hotel property and grounds are fabulous. Sure, the rooms could use some updating, but they are roomy and comfortable. Everyone who worked there (except the front desk staff) were extremely cheerful and helpful.

We tried skeet shooting lessons, enjoyed the indoor ice arena a lot, and thoroughly enjoyed hiking around the property. The pool is nice and clean -- but they don't allow minors in the jacuzzi. (Where else but in PA can you shoot guns at the age of 12, but not get into the hot tub?!?)

Food (included in the price of the room) was plentiful and very good. Wait staff was excellent. I was a little disappointed that we were told several times before check in that everyone was expected to dress well (jacket, no jeans, etc.) for the dining room... only to arrive to find that the dress code was "relaxed" for the country-themed weekend. Would have been nice to know to pack differently.

Negatives: we must have been put on the "family" floor (even though my son is close to 13). Parents with unruly children ran rampant and were VERY rude. The hotel is not very sound-proof, so we awoke to potty-training praise every morning at 5 AM. Really! Also, it was not uncommon to see unattended children running unsupervised (even throwing food into the pool!) while their parents sat around drinking together. Other families allowed their kids to bring iPads and video games into the formal dining room for dinner.

I guess if you are a group of parents who think that kind of thing is fun, then by all means, this is the place for you... however those of us who were expecting a more meaningful family experience, it was rather disappointing. We were also dismayed to find that another family used our name and room number to make several charges that showed up on our bill upon checkout. Fortunately, the hotel was able to research and remove the incorrect charges.

Before we left for the weekend, we visited the Adventure Center. That was truly the highlight of the trip. The challenge course takes about two hours to complete and is a lot of fun.

I would love to go back to Skytop again in the summer -- however, I think I'll inquire about other options than the main lodge as they might be quieter.

Room Tip: If you don't have children, ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMayotte, General Manager at Skytop Lodge, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear andi88,

Thank you so much for providing your comments in relation to your recent stay at Skytop. Please allow me to apologize that we did not indicate to you that the weekend of your stay was our country weekend. This is a dress down weekend for our guests. We normally send out an itinerary of activities to our guests so that they can fully enjoy the various activities that we have. Normally during this time of year you can expect to find plenty of snow still left on the ground. This year, as I understand the warmest March ever, precluded many of our wintertime activities. However, I am delighted that you did have a chance to use our swimming pool however, I must tell you that some of the rules and regulations that are imposed on us by the state many times leave me to scratch my head. I am delighted that you found our food service to be excellent. We do have a great dining room and culinary team. On your next stay at Skytop, I would recommend that a cottage room or the Inn might be more appropriate for you and your family. Although these rooms are detached from the main building, they are more quiet while still giving you access to all of the things to do at Skytop. I am sorry for the charging errors that occurred and am glad that they were able to correct them expeditiously. Our new Adventure Center has been a big success with our families this year. I expect this summer that it will be a hit, particularly with rock climbing and paintball as added attractions.

I hope you will give us a call for a return visit. See you soon.

Sincerely,

Ed Mayotte
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skytop
17.5 km away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,427 reviews
12.6 km away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,506 reviews
14.6 km away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.8 km away
The Lodge at Woodloch
23.0 km away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
2,020 reviews
22.1 km away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skytop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skytop Lodge

Property: Skytop Lodge
Address: One Skytop, Skytop, PA 18357-1099
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Skytop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skytop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skytop Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naturally InspiredExperience the ultimate retreat by visiting one of the most esteemed lodges in the country—Skytop. This grand historic estate features the very best in accommodations, fine dining and limitless recreation including the new Adventure Center at Skytop.You and your family can explore 5,500 pristine acres of inspiring natural beauty while enjoying a range of seasonal activities. Choose from the adventurous—like clay shooting and downhill skiing—to the serene—like nature hikes and full spa services. No matter your age, personality or desire, Skytop Lodge can make your next trip an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Skytop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skytop Hotel Skytop
Skytop Resort All Inclusive
Resort Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge Skytop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing