We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenic setting, relaxing time with closeups of many species.”
Review of Lehigh Valley Zoo

Lehigh Valley Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lehigh Valley Zoo is home to approximately 300 animal ambassadors representing 104 species, 36 of which are classified as endangered, threatened, or species of concern.
Clark, SD
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Scenic setting, relaxing time with closeups of many species.”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The venue is somewhat hard to find now because of road construction and rather inadequate signage. Would be good to stop at a local place and confirm route. Rolling hills, curvy roads in lovely tree area en route make for a scenic trip, but may require car sickness meds for the queasy. Zoo has wide paths, good signage, birds, (including penguins), larger animals, and feeding pond for goldfish, ducks, & swans. IN summer, several programs and snack areas. Bison and elk viewing available on exit route. Friendly staff help make for a relaxing experience.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GustafClark_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    95
    29
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesport, PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Nice Little Zoo.”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The zoo was generally nice. It is small and only has a handful of exhibits, but they are nice and provide a good time. Staff was friendly and prices were reasonable. Took about 2 hours to do with a family with 5 kids. Had a great time, would be good for younger kids.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank aflassandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Small, cheap, clean and upclose with animals”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This zoo located in the middle of nowhere (Schnecksville, Pa) is a perfect short day trip for children. $10 adults, $7 kids Not very big, walking was easy, map was good. Camels and Ostrich up close. Penquins very close. This was a small zoo just perfect for a one time trip with small children. You wont see elephants, giraffes, rhinos, hippos, tigers, lions, polar bears, black bears, leopards, panthers at this zoo but the selection is quite nice and enjoyable. My 4 1/2 year old loved it. Restaurant, snack bar, gift shops, free parking. Map claims you will see Bison and Elk on the drive out but we saw nothing. In fact the road out was quite confusing. If you want a real zoo head to the Philadelphia Zoo and definately avoid Claws 'n Paws where the animals pace back and forth and look uncared for.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ra600guitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Nice zoo but directions awful”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The zoo was a nice size for small children, exhibits were close to each other and the variety of animals nice. There could be a bigger petting area though. But getting to the zoo was awful. I know this was a detour but there still could be signs on the road through the preserve like yes you are still on the right road to the zoo. Zoo ahead, keep going or something along these lines.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank ken695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Much less lame than I was expecting.”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

My girlfriend wanted to do a day trip in the Lehigh Valley so she did some searching around. I was skeptical when she came back to me with the Lehigh Valley Zoo.

The drive out to the zoo was pretty. We passed a couple of scenic overlooks along the way that were pure Pennsylvania. The zoo itself was $9.75 for adults. We walked around the entire grounds in just over an hour. We saw penguins, otters, zebras, emu, ostrich, wolves, birds, lynx, and camels. The staff was helpful and the grounds were well kept. I had a good time overall. But this still was a local zoo. A great trip for a day trip, but not too much more.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Speechyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lehigh Valley Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Lehigh Valley Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing