We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront-nice for the Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side
Ranked #53 of 73 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed 20 July 2017

As with others you get what you pay for in a bigger city. For the price this was a very nice hotel. Quick check in, nice quiet room, big TV, clean bathrooms with newer towels. Housekeeper supplied us with extra shampoo on request. Free USA newspaper, tons of restaurants near by. Breakfast was great and included lots of options. Coffee on all day long, and computers (2) free of charge with printer. Nice staff made me a copy of Kennywood Park and slipped it under my door which I am thankful for. We had no issues or problems at all. If in the area we would stay again at this hotel. Recommend

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kathie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience here with us on TripAdvisor! I am pleased that you appreciated the value and efficiency of all amenities offered, as well as our front office staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017

We showed up to the hotel at 6:30pm after a long day of traveling...I found Pittsburgh tough to drive through, and my boyfriend has a broken foot so I'm doing all the driving, and he can't walk very well. . The receptionist's first words to me "I was just about to call you"

The room wasn't available...got sent to another hotel.

I am unhappy because had I gotten this message earlier, I would have gone straight to the other hotel rather than drive across the bridge in BAD traffic, only to be turned around.

Poor customer service. Very disappointed. As a "valued member" of IHG, I would have appreciated a phonecall.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience here with us on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry to hear that your short experience was a negative one. We value your status as an IHG Rewards Club Member. Please contact us directly at 412-488-1130. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

When getting to our room, we opened the door to find cleaning equipment in our room. There was a funny odor. We tried to call for extra towels to find the phone didn't work. During the night the bathroom sink backed up - woke up to nasty residue in sink. Our room was across from housekeeping base so was difficult getting in/out of our room due to staff and supplies.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank E2957DTdianem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to place your experience here with us- on TripAdvisor. We greatly value your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you experienced so many issues with your overnight accommodations. Please contact us directly at 412-488-1130. We would love, more than anything, to make this right for you.

Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

I agree with the other reviews, the location was good,price ok. But...
Upon check in, I was told the shuttle was not working the days of my stay. That's one of the reasons I booked this hotel. A corporate sales person gave us a ride to the incline, which was the best thing that happened to me during my stay. I requested linens for a pull out, and was forgotten, then they asked me to go get them because it was shift change. Really? Housekeeping gave me new towels, and yes, I put them in the tub. The towels were found on the dresser, right beside a bag of my trash. I guess that's my job too. Back to the shuttle, I asked them to pick us up, they refused. I asked if they were going to reimburse my cab fare, which prompted them to apparently send the shuttle. We left after waiting 20mins past their 20mins pick up time. Then I stood for a front desk person, no show for 15mins. Even tried calling the lobby from the lobby, and nothing.
Spend the extra few bucks and pick a better hotel. I regret this booking.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank tripper17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Hi tripper17,

Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. I was concerned to see that you were not impressed with our property particularly with the shuttle service, housekeeping services, and Front Desk staff availability. We always aim to provide an exceptional stay for all of our guests that is why I regret to see that you did not have a great experience. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you during your stay. Rest assured, your comments will be shared with our management team to properly address your concerns.

Again, thank you for the review and for staying with us. I hope that you would still consider staying with us again in the future.

Regards,

Mike F.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

We stayed here for a one-night stop on a recent family vacation. The shuttle service alone was worth staying here, as we were able to park our car while staying at the hotel and take a quick shuttle ride to many of the attractions and locations in the area that we were interested in visiting. The staff was friendly and helpful. The fitness center was large and had a variety of options. Our room was clean - the only thing I would have changed was that we didn't have a way to block the sun from coming in our room in the morning, but that wasn't a huge problem.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladys B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Wow, 5 stars! Thank you for taking the time to place your experience here with us on TripAdvisor! I am elated to hear that our secure parking and courtesy shuttle was convenient for you! I am also pleased that our staff and amenities were able to suit your needs. Please keep us in mind during future travels through the beautiful city of Pittsburgh!

Sincerely,
Gladys B.
Front Office Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites
#20 of 73 in Pittsburgh
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side

Address: 20 S 10th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-1116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: €89 - €197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Pittsburgh is conveniently located in Pittsburgh's historic South Side, well known for its famous Carson Street Nightlife. We are just a few blocks' walk to such great eateries as Mallorca, Pramanti Brothers, Carson City Saloon & the Cheesecake Factory. Shopping is also just a short walk away with something for everyone at South Side Works or Station Square and many others. During your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel take in a game at Heinz Field, home of the Steelers, PNC Park, home of the Pirates or Concol Energy Center, home of the Penguins. For our corporate guests we are located just a shuttle ride away from such companies as US Steel, Finmeccanica Spa, PPG Place, the FBI building, Dynavox and General Dynamics. We also offer an on site restaurant & lounge open until 10pm, Bridge Ten Brassiere. Visit Pittsburgh & Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh-South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh South Side Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing