We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Restaurant in a Quirky Hotel”
Review of Forklift & Palate

Forklift & Palate
Reserve with OpenTable
Forklift & Palate is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 40 Restaurants in Manheim
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$28
Description: At Forklift & Palate Restaurant in Lancaster, PA, you’ll enjoy a casual dining adventure unlike any other. With our unique recycled architecture, state-of-the-art green practices, and our location alongside the nation’s largest indoor sports complex, you’ll find plenty to discover under our roof.
Restaurant details
Description: At Forklift & Palate Restaurant in Lancaster, PA, you’ll enjoy a casual dining adventure unlike any other. With our unique recycled architecture, state-of-the-art green practices, and our location alongside the nation’s largest indoor sports complex, you’ll find plenty to discover under our roof.
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We ate breakfast here the morning after a wedding. The staff was obviously overwhelmed and struggled to keep things moving. It took 1/2hour to get a bowl of oatmeal, and it came without its advertised toppings. It also took 1/2 hour for orders of pancakes and French toast to come out. The buffet was fine.

One personal gripe. No option for real maple syrup for the pancakes and French toast. I understand that it is expensive, but why not offer it as an option for an up charge. Pancakes, waffles and French toast are not worth the calories unless you can have real maple syrup.

Thank Fletch1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NookSports, Public Relations Manager at Forklift & Palate, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We're sorry that your service was slower than usual. We always strive to give our customers the best possible experience and will be passing this feedback along to our team. We hope you come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2018

Nice bar good menu. Had shrimp tacos and wife had burger. Good food clean place. The only problem is the restaurant is part of a sports complex and hotel that caters to youth sports teams. Fantastic place for them not so good for date night.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TDNotreDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NookSports, Public Relations Manager at Forklift & Palate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We realize that being attached to a youth sports complex does bring a certain energy to our facility, but we believe it's part of what makes us such a unique stop! We hope you come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

We ate here August 18, 2018, the food was delicious, the atmosphere was very nice. We were in the area for a baseball tournament and were looking for a decent place to eat, found this gem! Waiter was very attentive, loved the food. Next time we're in the area we are sure to eat here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joanne428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NookSports, Public Relations Manager at Forklift & Palate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Come back and visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Went for breakfast, the only time the waitress came back voluntarily was to see if we needed the check. The only thing she removed from the table was the bill within a 3-4 min of signing the receipt. Dishes from buffet left on table. Drinks were forgotten and not offered to be refilled. Worst service.

Thank Bumblebee314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NookSports, Public Relations Manager at Forklift & Palate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

We're sorry to hear about your experience. Would you mind sending your contact information to info@nooksports.com so that we can have a manager follow up with you?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

This was our second time trying this restaurant while at a tournament in the adjacent sports facility. The decor is great. Both times we went, we were seated immediately. There was almost no one in the restaurant either time. Food was just OK, but the service was very slow and it should not have been since there were only 4-5 tables of diners in the restaurant at the time. One thing that did stand out in my mind- one of the times we were there, we ordered the buffalo chicken dip. It was very good, but it came with a small amount of chips. We still had about half of the dip left when we ran out of chips. We asked for more chips and were told "You'll be charged for them". Thought this was a bit strange since they were just chips. Strange to put off a customer over chips. Both times, we had to wait 10 minutes or so for drinks and not asked about refills. Again, waited for the check for a long time. It seems they need better training for their employees, especially since service was so poor and we were there when it was practically empty.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beachfunfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NookSports, Public Relations Manager at Forklift & Palate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

We're sorry to hear about your experience. Would you mind sending your contact information to info@nooksports.com so that we can have a manager follow up with you?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forklift & Palate also viewed

Manheim, Lancaster County
Manheim, Lancaster County
 
Manheim, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 

Been to Forklift & Palate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing