We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Such Gracious Hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airy Hill Farm B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manheim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Airy Hill Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 14 Manheim B&B and Inns
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Such Gracious Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Our Cancer and Infusion Team really needed a getaway to just have fun together and forget the stresses and sadness of our work. Hazel and Mark were so helpful from the very beginning. They allowed us to rent their entire B&B (there were 12 of us) and went above and beyond to make sure we had a wonderful time, from providing suggestions of places to go in the area, booking us a dinner at an Amish home, providing us with wine glasses, cheese and fruit and even games for an evening of fun to a wonderful tour of their farm where we were permitted to walk their Alpaca's and Tiny horses. They even sent each of us home with a dozen of freshly laid eggs. We were very noisy and up until 4 am but the next morning Hazel and Mark were all smiles and cooked us an amazing breakfast with an amazing view. I know I would have been a bit grumpy after all the noise but they were so sweet. They provided an enviroment that was just perfect for us all to relax and have fun together and we greatly appreciate it. Hazel was even so sweet after I confessed that a glass of red wine was accidentally spilled on her carpet. I would highly recommend their beautiful B&B. They gave us a wonderful experience from beginning to end and their communication is right on! Thanks to the both of them from Northwest Hospital Cancer and Infusion Team.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
96
24
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We loved our stay at Airy Hill Farm B&B for our 5th anniversary! Mark and Hazel were the perfect hosts, the room was great and the breakfast was absolutely delicious! We loved the farm experience, gathering eggs and helping out with the animals was SO much fun! We will definately return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Harvest room which was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Themcbfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

There are tons to do in Lancaster and this is a wonderful place to serve as a base camp for local activities. The farm stay is good for those new to them, particularly interesting for children. Unlike some of the other farm stays on the working farms, there isn't the scent of manure in the air that might offend some. One big treat, also - the breakfasts are plentiful and delicious. You will not want to miss them.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank accidentaltourist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We went here for one night with our 2 1/2 yr old daughter. We read about this B&B in Budget Travel Magazine, and always wanted to take our toddler to a farm. She loved it---she collected eggs from the chickens, walked miniature horses, fed the cows, and played with the alpacas.
The host and hostess were amazingly friendly. They try to do their best to make your stay comfortable. For example---our daughter wouldn't eat the set breakfast spread, so they made eggs especially for her.
A tip: the town of Litith is just about 5 miles away. It's a worthwhile stop, especially the park for the kids, and the Chocolate Cafe for eclectic delicious lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbutala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

My daughter, I, my friend and her 2 children staid here on our trip to Hershey. It's approx 30 min away from Hershey attractions. Staying at this B&B was the highlight of our trip! I loved the pastoral setting: the farm and open countryside as far as the eye can see. I loved the amazing breakfasts. Each morning it was different. When I left I took all the recipes with me. I loved coming back in late afternoon to some baked goodies like zucchini bread and coffee cake and herbal tea. The children loved feeding the animals, collecting the eggs, walking the alpacas and miniature horses and catching craw fish in the pond.

The place is immaculate. So clean you can probably eat off the floor. There are always goodies to eat, coffee, tea, ice tea, and ice water to drink. Tons of games to play inside or outside. I would be happy just relaxing on the porch in the gliding chair with a book.
The house is recently built (although Mark's family has lived on this land for 5 generations), open layout, high ceilings in the common area. You never feel crowded. The proprietors, Hazel and Mark are very helpful, sweet and accommodating. They retire to their downstairs quarters around 9pm leaving the residents to do what they want.

The way the house is laid out, the 4 rooms where guests stay do not have anyone over their room so it's very quiet. I opened my window at night and was lolled to sleep by the gentle breeze and the cacophony of the night insects. In the morning I was woken up not by any noises but by delicious smells of breakfast.

While at B&B we visited the nearby attractions - the Amish country. I highly recommend it! We rode in the buggy with an Amish guide who told us a lot about their way of life, showed us the Amish farms and schools. We also visited an Amish house museum and saw how they live. There are truly so many things to do in the surrounding area, you can spend a week doing it. Before we set out exploring Hazel gave us a map and highlighted where to go based on our interest.

Although only 30 min from Hershey, it feels like a world away. Hershey is crowded and noisy (like being at Disney and Six Flags). We did Hershey to get it out of the way and put a 'check mark' next to it - did it, saw it. Staying at the Airy Hill Farm and visiting the Amish countryside was the highlight and a real trip for me.

This is way better then any hotel! Thank you Hazel and Mark!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manheim hotels
12.8 km away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Manheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
9.1 km away
Lancaster Inn & Suites
Lancaster Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Manheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
5.6 km away
Hampton Inn Manheim
Hampton Inn Manheim
#3 of 7 in Manheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 7 in Manheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
13.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
5.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Manheim - Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airy Hill Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airy Hill Farm B&B

Property: Airy Hill Farm B&B
Address: 1741 Airy Hill Rd, Manheim, PA 17545-8531
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Manheim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Manheim
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airy Hill Farm Bed and Breakfast is a strikingly beautiful retreat. Sheep pastures wrap the hillside house and gardens, which overlook woodland and a stream in one direction and mountains and farm fields in the other. The clean-lined house takes full advantage of the site. A vaulted ceiling and bank of windows in the main living area bring the outdoors in, while decks and porches invite guests back outside. Soft, earth-toned wall colors change with the progression of light. Family antiques and art pieces combine with a fresh modern layout. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing