We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top shelf dining in an historic venue”
Review of General Sutter Inn

General Sutter Inn
Ranked #9 of 82 Restaurants in Lititz
Cuisines: American, British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Excellent food, well presented but extremely noisy. A raucous party made it almost impossible to carry on a conversation and the flies were persistent.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul p, General Manager at General Sutter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear Glenn K,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant here on Trip Advisor.

Secondly, we are so glad that you enjoyed your food and service.

Thirdly, we do apologize for the noise of the nearby party. On occasion we host groups that are here to celebrate and can be a little raucous. We also do our best to keep a very clean establishment but sometimes a fly can sneak in the front door. My apologies for this inconvenience.

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Erin Stroyan-Peduzzi
Assistant General Manager
General Sutter Inn & Bulls Head Public House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2018

It’s a wonderful place to go for a special date, just a brunch or even the holidays, my family and I have made it our place for Easter, also very quaint for a special gathering, right in the heart of Lititz

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Keki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul p, General Manager at General Sutter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hi Keki1,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor! We are so glad you enjoy our establishment. We look forward to continuing to serve you and your family.

Hope to see you soon!

Erin Stroyan-Peduzzi
Assistant General Manager
General Sutter Inn and Bulls Head Public House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Great food in newly renovated dining room/bar. Very nice patio as well. Recommended for lunch or dinner!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank darcytdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul p, General Manager at General Sutter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hello Darcytdog!

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you are please with our establishment!
We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you!
Erin Stroyan-Peduzzi
Assistant General Manager
General Sutter Inn and Bulls Head Public House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We had a wonderful dinner on the patio of the General Sutter with an amazing server named Mattie who made our whole experience exceptional. The food was incredible and the service very attentive. The weather was also great for patio evening with music on a Thursday evening.
We look forward to our next visit!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kipandpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul p, General Manager at General Sutter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hi Kipandpaula!

Thank you for your review! We are very glad you enjoyed your experience on our patio. We also appreciate you mentioning your server by name so we may recognize her exceptional service. You compliments to her and our chef will be shared. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you!
Erin Stroyan-Peduzzi
Assistant General Manager
General Sutter Inn & Bulls Head Public House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

My wife and I with our Westie(dog) decided to have coffee outside at the General Sutter Inn. After waiting 5-7 minutes my wife decided to use the bathroom, it is then we were asked what we wanted to order. It appears the waitresses were out of sight "doing nothing" as there were only two other couples dining. It wasn't until after we ordered coffee that we decided to have lunch. After the coffee was brought to our table an we told her we wanted lunch, the waitress told us we were not allowed to have a dog in the outside dining area while eating, but we could sit outside the area around the corner. We told her if you can't accept our dog then we are not interested in patronizing the establishment. We went around the corner and had coffee and later lunch at two other nice pet friendly establishments. Additionally, the prices were better although the selection was less, at least we felt welcome with our dog.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Service
1  Thank Jd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul p, General Manager at General Sutter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear JD H,
Thank you for sharing your feelings with us. I can tell you we are as pet friendly as Pennsylvania law will allow us to be. We have pet friendly rooms in our hotel and if it were up to us we would allow dogs in our outdoor seating areas. The department of agriculture unfortunately sets out the rules for where pets are permitted in food establishments and we must abide by those laws. We are sorry you were unable to dine with us and hope to see you back on another evening.
Sincerely,
Brant Dunlap

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed General Sutter Inn also viewed

Lititz, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 
Lititz, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to General Sutter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing