We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Overall”
Review of Cove Haven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cove Haven Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lakeville
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed in at the Cove Haven Resort in the Champagne Room. This the best room in my opinion besides the Cove Fantasy. When I first arrived for an early check-in room my room was ready. I made in it just before breakfast close and I will say I felt the food was not good as far as a inclusive resort. I will say the staff made every accommodation because one night my food was not good. I will go back again but I try either Poconos Palace or Paradise Stream just because it's close to a lot of stores, restaurants etc.; so atleast I will have other options. As far as night entertainment enjoyed the Karoake and newly wed game. The shuttle bus came within 5 minutes of my call every time. I went with another couple and they had the garden of Eden room, I was not impressed with it but I think because I like to have atleast one window. Spooners have good food so if don't like what's for dinner you go there. Some areas need updates. Overall me and fiancé enjoyed ourselves.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank catotown40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you and your fiance enjoyed yourselves and we're happy you will come back to try our other resorts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 410 of 2,652 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2016

We’ve been going to Cove Haven since 2012 when we got married there, and every year since for our anniversary, but the resort seemed to get worse as each year passed. After 4 times, we decided it was not wise to go back. For the high price we paid for a three day/2 night stay, the rundown resort seemed less and less appealing.
The ice skating rink was always bumpy and the person working there kept saying they just cleaned it.
We never got a chance to snow tube, even though they could have made snow. We continually monitored the temperature weeks before arriving, thinking finally we can do outdoor activities, but it never happened. That’s why we got married in the winter in the first place.
The comedy and bands also seemed to get worse with each year, as well as taking away the little things.
They stopped Honest Phil with the deer feeding. That was awesome! They stopped the Saturday champagne. It was only a small amount, but it was something! Now you must purchase if you want it.
We always ended up going during football season and we were sitting in the bar located next to where they serve dinner and the tv wasn’t even loud, but the server had to turn off the volume per order of management. They do call that a Bar! We left and sat in our room to watch the rest. If we wanted to sit in a room and watch football, we could have done that at home for no fee. So each year, we spent more time sitting in our room and not spending time using the facilities we were paying for.
However, bingo and XXX rated newlywed games with Honest Phil were always fun. He’s the reason why we kept going back each year, but Honest Phil isn’t enough anymore.
We liked the champagne tower the best, but the last time we were there, there was some stuff floating around the bottom of the pool – don’t know what it was and didn’t want to know. Someone did stop by to clean it, but I was hesitant to go in afterwards because it gets you thinking…
Not going back for 2016

Room Tip: Always get the champagne tower rooms on the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

We are very sorry to read you feel as though things have changed for the worst since you've come back. We want to make it clear that we have not stopped Honest Phil with the deer feeding- that is still an ongoing weekly activity. Unfortunately, the weather the last month has not been consistently cold- it's been too warm to try and make snow they will actually stay, so we could not make it any earlier. We apologize for any additional inconveniences you dealt with and will pass on your feedback to the manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

This past weekend my husband surprised me with a 3 day stay at Cove Haven to celebrate my upcoming 30th birthday. I honestly didn't have an opinion on the resort either way upon arrival, but started reading some reviews while my husband was checking in. After some of what I saw, I wasn't sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised.

Check in was quick and easy, under 10 minutes, and the staff was very friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the Champagne Tower suite which was basically the furthest away from most amenities except the sports complex. We were totally ok with this as it was. Ice to be more secluded.

The room was dated however, very clean and to me that's more important than fancy upgrades. There was no odd odor or dust the pool area smelled clean and e mirrors and glass were not streaky. The pool was a great temperature and the sauna worked very well.

We did use the fireplace one night. It was good for ambiance but don't expect heat from it.

The hot tub/bathroom area was all very clean. Could've used more towels but that was a quick call to the desk. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were also spotless.

Aside from the room the rest of the property was very clean but could also use some updating. The food was very good both in the dining room and from Bar-cafe Spooners. The waiters were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Dennis and Chris were our favorites! The bartenders were also very good and the drinks were all made the same no matter what bar you got them from. Mark was our favorite bartender!

The entertainment was a lot of fun. There was a band and a comedian each night and plenty of activities during the day

Overall we had a fantastic weekend and would definitely do it again

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

What a wonderful surprise! Kudos to your husband on planning a great surprise for your 30th birthday. We're happy you had a fantastic weekend and would do it again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

This place needs shut down and rebuilt from the ground up! Dirty, moldy, run down and horrible food! We asked to check out after the first night and they refused refund. Pork chop bloody, pork 3/4 fat, lettuce brown and wilted, cool whip, dirty silver wear, food stuck to cups and plates. Ceilings all stained and some falling in, rust all over, smelly rooms from mold and must. I was given excuse after excuse about being sold and then just resold but no refund or discount offered

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

We're terribly sorry to read about your experience. We're surprised to read this about the food- typically, our guests love the food. We'll follow up with the resort manager and the executive chef and give them your feedback so we can address the items you mentioned to make sure these issues do not persist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

We've been coming to the resorts since 1981 and have noticed a big change over the years. Especially in the past several years. This year we stayed at both Paradise Stream & Cove Haven for the New Years Weekend.

Here's a review encompassing both.

Check in at the Stream was nice. The staff at the front desk was professional, cordial and nice.

Accommodations - we suggest more than a quick wipe down of tiled areas in the bathroom and shower areas, fresh paint interior and exterior where needed, repair or replace worn carpeting, fix starlight lights in rooms. In fact a supervisor should inspect all rooms prior to placing patrons in them! As reading some of the reviews indicate that isn't being done along with our first hand experience as a basis for this observation.
Just a simple walk thru of the public areas also is indicative that General upkeep is done on a "going thru the motions " type of approach!

Dining for example: breakfast buffet in both resorts is adequate as it is really hard to screw that up but dinner is another matter.
Food in the dining room (both) has hit rock bottom, my wife got sick each night and I who have a cast iron belly even felt queasy afterwards. Food quality is terrible and the nerve of charging extra for a steak or a shrimp cocktail certainly struck a nerve! Whatever happened to steak night? Food quality was always a selling point but no more.
Our breakfast at the Stream was interesting. Our waitress Theresa had an expression on her face that made her look like she is always pissed off! It took her several attempts to get our juice order right! Really?
Elimination of multiple guest tables at the Stream we feel is a mistake as guests should be afforded a choice. Incidentally on line the resorts advertised a Champagne Toast at dinner and when we inquired with our waiter., he had no knowledge of it! This feature was a staple in the past so why eliminate it!

We stayed at Paradise Stream for New Year's Eve to change it up this year mainly for the band Digital Getdown as we haven't seen them before, problem was they were good but didn't play the right type of music for the audience present, older baby boomer age. They played a lot of hip hop and rap so go figure. Dance floor was empty most of the night.

On a positive note though Billy O did a good job of keeping the crowd entertained.

The band at Cove Haven was Something Else who we saw zillion times since we've been a long time patron. In fact they played at the Cove not only New Years Eve but Saturday as well! Glad we split our stay!

At the Cove, check in was professional but when we got to our room it was more of the same. No star lights above the bed, worn out carpeting (torn) and a noticeable quick wipe down of tiled and mirrored areas! Heater vent in hallway was rusted and in need of replacement/paint, door jamb had heavy water damage so I see where the musty smell can derive from.
When my wife called the front desk to get the star lights fixed she spoke with a very rude person (Kathy) who offered to change our room but the problem was we already unpacked! I got on the phone and asked for maintenance to be sent down as it seemed like a simple fix- bad switch. They were too busy and she said it was more involved than that! Interesting as if they already knew of the defect and still rented the room displays poor customer service. Apparently management was perfectly willing to piss off the next guest had we moved!
Incidentally this was the second year in the row this happened!

It is sad to say that the current management seems to be under orders to cut expenses to the bone at our expense. "Less for more" seems to be the game plan!

The owners we determined are simply riding out the situation until the inevitable occurs, closing up shop!

We are not just guests who have only stayed here once or twice but have stayed many many times and can easily attest to the decline in each area we have discussed. Many of the couples who we have befriended over the years and see often when we come up say the same exact thing as we are saying. It is truly a shame! It seems when the baby boomers die off that's it! Lol
I guess management sees that as well!

It's a shame as employees such as great dining staff, Chris & Dennis will suffer.

You would think that for upwards of $400+ per night you would get decent food and accommodations.
At one time I described these resorts as a "cruise on land" but no more.
A Norwegian cruise last June cost us approx $1400 for seven days of great food, great entertainment, great accommodations and a picture perfect itinerary! Staying at a poconos resort would cost you over twice that without the same amenities and much more discomfort than being seasick!
Sun thru Thurs at the poconos you get bored out of your shorts unless of course you are a sex maniac and stay in your room for those days!
Honest Phil as always was great but we'd love to know what he's thinking of what's going on!

Bye poconos as we will be getting more value for our vacation dollar and holiday time in other ways!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
5  Thank steveX3553XC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanceManager, Manager at Cove Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2016

We are very, very sorry to read about a stay that was less than stellar on multiple levels. We are certainly committed to making changes around the resorts to improve various facets, whether it be suite maintenance (wallpaper, ceiling lights, or otherwise) or the way in which some team members are interacting with guests. We have always prided ourselves on providing incredible guest service and finding ways to make sure your stay is perfect- you should never feel as though you're inconveniencing us when you need something to be addressed. We're going to follow up with management about your feedback, as we would really hate to disappoint people who have been longtime guests of ours. You've seen what we can do performing at our best and we want you to have that experience every time you visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeville
37.3 km away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,496 reviews
12.5 km away
Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region
7.1 km away
Greshams Lake View Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 km away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,553 reviews
22.1 km away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,231 reviews
15.7 km away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Haven Resort

Address: 194 Lakeview Drive, Lakeville, PA 18438-4011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Lakeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lakeville
Price Range: €141 - €291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cove Haven Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cove Haven Resort is a romantic Poconos all-suite hotel. Many of our guest rooms feature whirlpools, saunas, fireplaces, and/or round king-size beds. Tennis, racquetball, and watersports are available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cove Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Haven Hotel Lakeville
Caesars Poconos
Caesars Cove Haven Poconos Lakeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing